December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get 1s

by treip - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Only Get 1s is a simple math game played in a web browser with pure JavaScript (no plugins).

The goal for each problem is to make the equation equal. To accomplish this, you change one of the numbers to a 1.


I really wish I had more time out of these two days that I was able to work. It was such a fun project and the current state isn't nearly as polished as I had hoped I could make it, but it's perfectly playable as a proof-of-concept.

Confirmed browser support:
Chrome
Firefox
IE9+
Probably works in Opera, Safari, Konqueror, etc, but untested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Theme3.75
#384Innovation3.06
#657Overall2.81
#811Fun2.38
#1516Coolness26%

Comments

Baknik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

Math Rules! It's simple, but it got me thinking.

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19am

This is more like a simple math exercise than a game, and when it's subtracting numbers I never got a negative difference, so the number on the right was always 1.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25am

Nice and simple, perhaps you could expand the idea with more math operations, like multiplication, division, and powers. Good job!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34am

Simple and effective nice work.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54am

Great idea for a game, I can see how it could be expanded and made a lot of fun. I like the flipping number mechanic.
Good job!

Blooperly says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Good job! I like the idea. The hard ones really got me thinking.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:26pm

o.............k...........

Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Math is awesome, excellent work on this game! i love games that train my brain! n_n

plancien says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:50pm

good idea !
Math education could benefit this type of ideas and games.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]