Find games to give feedback on!
Theme: Colonization! – hosted by kaype – July 2016

<– Return to Announcement Post

Back to Browse Entries

Colonization

by Darenn - Mini LD 69 Entry

Hi !

This is my first Mini LD alone. It's been a while I wanted to do a SHMUP, so I choose to do one for this event. But I'm fan of RPG too, so I added choices and "spells".
Colonization (original name isn'it ?) took place in the future, in space and talk about the liberation of planets colonized by an empire. So you don't do the colonization, but the "independance war". (Like US or Algeria)
I made the game this week with Unity Engine. I took all graphics, particle effects and sound effects on the internet. I created the musics with Linux Multimedia Studio (LMMS).
Please don't hesitate to give me feedback and advice about the game and the music.
Commands :

Arrows to move the ship.

Space to fire.

Z, E and R to use upgrades.
When you die you can quit with ESCAPE or retry with C !

How to install :

The Web version is heavy so it will take a few minutes to load it.

For standalone versions, download the zip, extract it in a folder, and launch the executable. ;)

Downloads and Links


Comments

opyate says ...
Aug 2, 2016 @ 10:17am

Nice one. I like the stories, and unfortunately I got wiped out before I could try "heavy fire" on the boss.

Darenn says ...
Aug 2, 2016 @ 11:19am

Did you see that you can try again by pressing C key ? It's written on the top-right when you are dead. Maybe I should have made it greater... Thanks for the comment ! :)

RttStudio says ...
Aug 2, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Nice game, The models are cool, easy to understand, and it's nice to see a LD game with a story to it. Good job!

Aredhele says ...
Aug 3, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Nice polished game ! Music reminds me retro spatial shooter games and the story also. The upgrade system is also a good way to

Aredhele says ...
Aug 3, 2016 @ 1:31pm

keep the interest of the player in the game.
I like the epic win music anyway :)
good job

Aug 3, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Well done, polished game in my opinion :)
The music was repetetive but fitting for the game... Only made it to the second boss and did not beat him, but I'm also not very good at these kind of games :D
I also like the victory music :D :D :D

firz says ...
Aug 3, 2016 @ 8:58pm

I enjoyed the game very much! I loved the models and the music and the particle effects, a very pretty game with an interesting story.

My only issues with the game was that the game window size is very small (I played on web) and the story text needs some proofreading. There are some grammar mistakes and some sentences that are a little difficult to understand.

But I had a lot of fun playing and the game is beautiful. Nice entry!

Stuntddude says ...
Aug 3, 2016 @ 9:24pm

It bugs me fore some reason that the Earth is spinning the wrong way in the title screen :P that has no bearing on the quality of the game though.

The first screen of text was a bit fast for me to read (I'm kind of a slow reader). It would be nice to choose when to move on to the next screen instead of it happening automatically. I did really like the lore overall, though.

Dodging bullets is fun, although the small amount of momentum your ship has can be frustrating sometimes if it causes you to overshoot or undershoot where you want to be. I particularly like the enemies that shoot from the tips of their wings, since they create an interesting dynamic where as long as you're careful to stay directly below them, you can avoid getting hit.

The upgrades are cool, although I question if there's much of a trade-off for some of them. Isn't the EnergeticWall objectively better than the Cloak, since it both lasts longer and returns enemy fire instead of just avoiding it?

Also, the parallax stars in the background were a nice touch.

Stuntddude says ...
Aug 3, 2016 @ 9:39pm

I should add, this game is very intuitive. I didn't have any trouble figuring out how the controls or mechanics worked (like the behavior of the various enemies). Really good job on that.

Steven Miller says ...
Aug 4, 2016 @ 8:00am

Great game, the upgrades were really cool and I liked the story.

KJB of IBwWG says ...
Aug 9, 2016 @ 9:35am

Very polished look and feel. I'd also make the text on the screen not move on without you--I happened to have to look away just then and missed it. I wasn't sure what to do at first with the boxes in the lowerright corner, clicking them seemed to just make the ship shoot.

KJB of IBwWG says ...
Aug 9, 2016 @ 9:45am

Yeah also on the initial text, when you've already read it it'd be nice to be able to skip.

One other thing, on Dvorak keyboards the upgrade controls are very awkwardly spaced, so you have to switch to QWERTY. If you have the option to use hardware rather than OS-supplied keymaps that might be better (or make configurable controls.)

Quite addictive--I like the variety of ships, and the choices you get at each level. Those windy little ones can be very tricky to nick.

NinjaNic says ...
Aug 9, 2016 @ 2:43pm

This game has good graphics, an interesting story, fun gameplay, and good battle mechanics. Good work on this game!

Sep 4, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Very well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of all of the MiniLD 69 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/nRFzaIcVxgM

You must sign in to comment.

MiniLD69 Image


[cache: storing page]