MiniLD #59

Theme: “SWAP” (Swap-Shop) – hosted by voxel – May 2015

← Return to Announcement Post

Back to Browse Entries

Dimension Drifter

by ndebruyn - Mini LD 59 Entry

Dimension Drifter is a 2D platform adventure game where you the player must navigate your way through a multi dimensional universe.

Complete a level and enter the portal which takes you to the next dimension.
No level will ever look the same.

Controls are:
- Left = Left arrow/A
- Right= Right arrow/D
- Jump = Up arrow/W
- Double jump = Up arrow x2 / W x2
- Shoot= Spacebar

Here is a preview video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y1-uTqIz9t8

The latest release has build in Joystick support.
Enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Comments

May 31, 2015 @ 7:27am

Wow. Just wow. The level of polish here is amazing!! The UI is very nice and you even included a level editor. It crashed with a null pointer a couple of times, when i won and going to the menu after making a level, but they weren't game breaking. My only (very minor) complaint is there were too many clicks to restart after death, and you needed to leave the controls to use the mouse. Later i realized you could do that with Enter, maybe put that in the description?

Mantlair says ...
May 31, 2015 @ 9:26am

Nice game. Good menu style and such. Looks like you spent some time on it. I was playing so nicely. And a wild null pointer exception appeared. It says LWJGL Renderer Thread,5,main. whatever that means. Anyway, cool game, keep up good work.

ndebruyn says ...
May 31, 2015 @ 10:22am

Thanks you guys. I will try my best to keep this game alive.

pvtroswold says ...
Jun 2, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Nice job! As has already been said, the UI was smooth and I liked the music too. Pretty fun concept with the timer. The only thing that bothered me was that double-jumping was hit-or-miss, which got me killed a lot. Maybe I'm doing something wrong but it seems that double-tapping UP doesn't double-jump every time. Good job though!

dcRfj15 says ...
Jun 4, 2015 @ 1:56am

Very fun. I agree that the music is awesome, and the game itself looks, and feels polished. This was a amazing idea, and it was executed in a polished manner with clean UI, and the game had an amazing mood.

I got the same error as @Mantlair, and after getting the error, I wasn't able to play the game again without re-downloading it.

Amazing work overall :D

ndebruyn says ...
Jun 4, 2015 @ 5:38am

Thanks guys. The android version of the game is in the making and a ton of extra levels.

Linus123xbb says ...
Jun 7, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Fun game, the sprite sheets worked well with your game and the music was really good! I found some levels very frustrating but overall good job!

Jun 25, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Really awesome game. Enjoyed all of it. I included it in part 3 of my MiniLD #59 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/R2lfMhXlRuQ

Jun 25, 2015 @ 7:44pm

After playing this game for half an hour - I got a weird error about threads...

Jun 25, 2015 @ 7:46pm

"Uncaught Exception thrown in Thread[LWJGL Renderer Thread,5,man] NullointerException

Jul 2, 2015 @ 4:14pm

This game was one of my favorites, so I wrote about it for AlphaBetaGamer and awarded a trophy to your LD profile page! http://www.alphabetagamer.com/dimension-drifter-gamejam-build-download/

ndebruyn says ...
Jul 10, 2015 @ 10:58am

Thank you @Jupiter_Hadley. Would you like to see this one go further and maybe developed for android?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]