hosted by sorceress – July 2013

Return to Announcement Post

Back to Browse Entries

War Shape

by Lashiz121 - 7dRTS / Mini LD 44 Entry

Eliminate all the spawners to win the game.

Controls:
Move Camera - WASD
Turn Camera - Middle Click and drag or Shift+Mouse
Select Units - Left Click and drag
Order Units - Right Click
Back To Hero - Backspace
Back To Menu - Escape

Unit Costs 50 points
Enemies Give 10 Points Each
Spawner Gives 100 Points

Every Spawner Has 20 Enemies

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#17Humor2.67
#22Audio2.84
#51Overall2.54
#51Mood2.24
#53Theme2.96
#54Fun2.18
#55Graphics2.25
#58Innovation2.04

Comments

Makio says ...
Jul 31, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Impossible to play on laptop because of the middle click to control camera, can you change it to crtl+click ?

AVataRR says ...
Jul 31, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Makio! :D Just get a cheap 3 button mouse for like $20. :) They're not so bad.

Mmmm.. I think this game is unnecessarily harsh. You only have one unit to begin with. And as far as I've gone into the game - you only eve have one unit. How are you supposed to fight the bunch of enemies protecting the spawn points? I only ever managed to kill one spawn point before being mobbed.. and I don't think I even got one enemy. :S

Nice music though. Terrain texturing is also soothing.

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 12:46am

I thought moving around and music were really soothing until I got to the first spawn point and was hopelessly outnumbered and killed :)

I had a couple thoughts as I was playing:
1) The camera was a little frustrating. If you locked the camera's movement on the Z axis when you move around with WASD it would make it more useful. I was trying to get a birds eye view of my guy, but the camera controls made it impossible.
2) Some sort of feedback who is attacking would be nice. Maybe just different colors for my damage and the bad guys?
3) The balance is off. After being hopelessly mobbed the first time I lured two guys away from the pack. I managed to kill one but the second one would have killed me. So I ran away until I had enough health to kill him. It took a couple minutes all told. Then I looked at the 20 left at the first spawn point and the 40 spawn points to go and gave up...

I enjoyed the graphics and mood and think it has a lot of potential. Am I just missing a way to get multiple units or something?

chasepettit says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 1:44am

Is there a way to get more units? It might be possible to bait out enemies one at a time, but that seems overly tough.

Zeredek says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 2:30am

Is it a bad thing that I spent more time messing around with the camera than playing the game? I had fun playing an Australian RTS though.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 8:11am

Me wants moar units. Does my one unit even fight back?

Lashiz121 says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 11:10am

Ok updated it now it's a little bit easier and updated the controls.

srd says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I was a bit sceptical at first, when I was kiting away the enemies one by one and losing units as fast as I could replace them, but after one or two spawn points I was able to build a big enough posse to take on several units at once. Destroying 40 spawn points seemed impractical, but a hit-and-run strategy let me get through the game quite quickly with money to spare.

The controls (camera and attack orders especially) were rather awkward, but I liked the way the units bounced around when spawning and attacking. Slapstick humour :)

Andrew says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 6:01pm

The first set of enemies (which completely destroyed me)seems a bit too far away, so it takes too long to get back into the action after you're killed.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 2, 2013 @ 3:00am

Music was soothing!Was quite difficult.

vincepascoe says ...
Aug 2, 2013 @ 8:46am

"you win!" do I get a prize? got to level 9 by the time I beat it... nice music but clicking on guys became a chore... needed an attack move or at least have your guys fight back.. interesting swarm that was kindof funny.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 2, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Your units definitely need to auto-attack near enemy units, because else it becomes just frustrating trying to click exactly on the enemies while everything is bouncing around. The difficulty curve is at first too steep and then it's non existent as you have a large enough army to wipe everything, although you don't really need that because you can simply run through all camps while destroying the spawns. And being able to look at the battlefield from different angles was cool, but the camera was still too awkward to control.
And the world seemed unnecessarily large which lengthens the walking duration a lot.

jonbro says ...
Aug 2, 2013 @ 2:51pm

super difficult! I couldn't figure out a strategy to get past the first spawner here, did I just need to hit and run, and avoid the enemies?

Orava says ...
Aug 4, 2013 @ 3:44am

Very awkward controls and repetitive gameplay. It's almost impossible to control your allies when there are multiple enemies around, got to frantically click to hit that one tiny cylinder so they don't just stand still and die.

Visually it's very stock unity, could've at least slapped a texture on the "hero".

You must sign in to comment.

7dRTS Banner


[cache: storing page]