hosted by sorceress – July 2013

Return to Announcement Post

Back to Browse Entries

o08

by w23 - 7dRTS / Mini LD 44 Entry

Experimental cellular automata-based RTS.

Network only, no single player mode, so you will need some friends.

How to start playing:
Linux:
1) run ./o08 7075 (or any other port) on one machine
2) run ./o08 $first_machine_ip_address 7075 (the same as in 2) on another
Windows:
0) go to command line (cmd.exe)
1) run o08.exe 7075 (or any other port) on one machine
2) run o08.exe $first_machine_ip_address 7075 (the same as in 2) on another
3) "enjoy"!
Mac OS X:
1) There's a "nice" gui to choose ports and hosts.
2) Input is not validated, though :D.

How to play:
Left mouse button -- place a glider
Q, E -- rotate glider

How to win:
You can not win. But you still can lose by abandoning the game because of boredom!

CHANGELOG:
- 2013-08-07 - win32 bugfix: fixed speed and wrong placement positions
- 2013-08-03 - osx added. 32bit linux added, win32 dll issues fixed (hopefully).
- 2013-07-29 - first public build on a deadline

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#26Innovation3.20
#29Theme3.60
#46Fun2.50
#48Overall2.67
#57Graphics2.00

Comments

srd says ...
Jul 31, 2013 @ 11:56am

Crashes on Windows after printing "Listening on port *". Nothing in the server log.

Lashiz121 says ...
Aug 3, 2013 @ 11:57am

Runs for like a minute and then crashes. From what I played I didn't get anything what was going on.

w23 says ...
Aug 3, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Oh well, windows build is still very broken and glitchy, it seems. I hadn't tested it properly as I'm actually cross-compiling it from Linux using MinGW. Sorry for this mess, I will try to allocate time and fix this somehow.

w23 says ...
Aug 6, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Ok, I've updated windows binary. It should be somewhat more stable and playable.
Please comment if anything else is broken. Thanks!

srd says ...
Aug 8, 2013 @ 6:27am

This is really cool. I start controlling a small corner and try to expand my territory to cover the map by running over them with GoL cells.

The problem is that both sides send gliders in the same direction - the red side towards the green corner, and the green side just throws them against the wall and wastes them. If their gliders moved in opposite directions the game would be very balanced and fun.

It would also be nice to have some feedback when clicking - sometimes I click a space that looks like it should have enough space for a glider, but nothing happens. A failure sound would do a lot for the play experience.

w23 says ...
Aug 8, 2013 @ 4:52pm

@srd Thanks!

Yes, I should've rotated gliders by default, but I didn't (see below). In the meantime you can use <q> and <e> keys to rotate gliders placement.

As for placement feedback, yes, there definitely should be one. Just about next feature on my queue before the deadline was a placement preview. Sound and music were also planned, but eventually ended up being just too far away :(.

Honestly, I had only up to three hours per day to work on this, so there basically wasn't enough time for many of things I had in mind (even rendering is a "test preview" one from the very first day when I had evolution basics done; I planned doing something more 3D-ish and spectacular).
I'm going to implement them eventually, but I strongly feel that working on them now while voting is still in progress is not fair to other games devs who had more dedication and focus in pre-deadline days :D.

Makio says ...
Aug 13, 2013 @ 10:52am

I didn t success to launch it on mac even with the nice GUI, I only get black screen =/

w23 says ...
Aug 14, 2013 @ 3:31pm

@Makio Sorry to hear that. Did you run 2 copies and connected them to each other? Could you try running client or server on another machine to check whether game mechanics is running?

Halleflux says ...
Aug 14, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Doesn't work on Windows for some reason. Opens the command prompt window and then closes it just as fast, and that's it.

You must sign in to comment.

7dRTS Banner


[cache: storing page]