hosted by sorceress – July 2013

Return to Announcement Post

Back to Browse Entries

Jumpstarter

by GarrickWinter - 7dRTS / Mini LD 44 Entry

Jumpstarter is a space RTS in which you play as the blue Rebels, starting with a single planet and a few ships, and must topple the red Empire by capturing all its planets.

Beware, though - while it may be tempting to attack civilian traders to take their cash, doing so will cost you dearly in public approval, which will prevent your crowdfunding campaign from bringing in the money you need to resist.

Build your fleet, liberate the solar system, and win the day!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Theme4.14
#12Fun3.43
#22Overall3.36
#29Graphics3.21
#30Audio2.42
#37Innovation2.85
#38Coolness35%
#43Mood2.64

Comments

Orava says ...
Jul 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Super unstable but fun nevertheless. Would like to play way more but it crashes in minutes.

Resizing the window causes selection coordinates to break.

GarrickWinter says ...
Jul 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Oh snap. I played it several times before uploading it, but it's definitely possible I missed something. I will investigate. Thanks for the feedback!

PaidGEEK says ...
Jul 30, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Waypoint based strategy games are always fun. Good selection of ships and nice cash flow system. Only thing I don't like are those static stars in the background, but cool nevertheless.

terrorcell says ...
Jul 31, 2013 @ 9:00am

Definitely, the background was a bit of an eyesore. Not a bad job nevertheless.

GarrickWinter says ...
Jul 31, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Yeah, the stars were way too evenly distributed. I wanted to try something with Simplex noise to make it more nebulous, but that's outside of what I'm familiar with. Good to know it was distracting, I'll pay more attention to that sort of thing in the future. Thanks! :)

Lashiz121 says ...
Jul 31, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Buggy but good

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 2:31am

I enjoyed playing this. I would have liked an instructions screen or something telling me what each ship did.

I also had a fleet attack my home base and sent my ships to attack them. Well, they ran away and my fleet followed them all around the universe ineffectively shooting at them. I stopped playing and just watched them chance the guys around for a couple minutes. Great fun!

phi says ...
Aug 2, 2013 @ 9:44am

Fun game! I love the concept and the graphics style. There are lots of bugs and it sometimes crashes, but it's a great start for an awesome game! I hope you can get it to a more playable state. :)

jonbro says ...
Aug 2, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I was unclear on how to build the fleet up, once I lost my ships was I sunk?

jonbro says ...
Aug 2, 2013 @ 12:38pm

oh got it, you need to click on planets! wow, ok, this is pretty amazing. I think including instructions on the title screen could help it immensely (advice that I need to take myself.)

srd says ...
Aug 2, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I figured out how to build ships and raise money, but it's not clear how to capture planets from the Empire. I killed all the enemy ships/space stations near the planet, and sat my ships on top of it, but it seems totally random whether the planet joins me or not.

GarrickWinter says ...
Aug 3, 2013 @ 2:25am

Good to hear your feedback about how confusing it was, it helps to remind me how important a good tutorial or instruction screen is. Not having one is probably a sacrifice I shouldn't have made. Something to keep in mind for next time!

Regarding planet capture, only one ship type can actually capture planets (the smallest controllable ship type that retails for 175 credits); if ordered to an enemy planet, they should orbit it and capture it after a while. If not, sadly, that's probably a bug, though I haven't had it happen to me in test yet.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 3, 2013 @ 11:11am

It crashed very often. But the one time it did not crash immediately I played through the whole game :D
It feels more like a sandbox than a game, but I still like that. Because you can capture planets faster using more ships, you just need 5 of those ships and you can instant capture any planet even when they have a turret. It would have been nice if the camera movement would have been faster or if the minimap could be expanded, or if you even would see your current location on the minimap.
Everything said it's a lot of fun^^

Orava says ...
Aug 4, 2013 @ 2:53am

I liked the premise and would've loved to play more but it's extremely unstable.

You must sign in to comment.

7dRTS Banner


[cache: storing page]