hosted by sorceress – July 2013

Return to Announcement Post

Back to Browse Entries

Tower Defense

by Gyncoca - 7dRTS / Mini LD 44 Entry

Here is my first game, wich is a classical tower defense.

You can fight against 5 types of enemies and you can build 3 type of towers.

Upgrades like tower description upgrade, a proper menu... Are coming.

This game require XNA (mono on Linux).

Have fun !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Humor2.20
#40Coolness33%
#44Fun2.54
#49Mood2.25
#51Overall2.54
#56Theme2.54
#57Graphics2.00
#62Innovation1.31

Comments

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 1:38am

I randomly built the spread fire things in the best spots for them completely by accident and beat the first 5 waves without another unit. It was fun :)

One problem is that there is no way to tell what each tower does or, more importantly, how much it costs. Basically I just had to keep trying to build something over and over again until it appeared.

Overall this is a great first attempt! Those quick purple slime things are nasty!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 8:21am

For your first game, this is actually good. The next things that you should take care of (just my opinion) is:

Add more feedback. Right now there is no way to tell if you have enough money, which tower you have selected, if you have a tower selected at all, if the towers do different amounts of damage etc etc. You started doing this in some parts, like the enemies changing color according to their remaining life (or hits taken). That's really crucial in my opinion. I know you write that you want to add a menu and so on, but I'd really recommend to think once again about where you could make the game communicate better with the player in the smaller but essential details before thinking about tower upgrades :)

phi says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Please don't use installers :(.

Besides that it's a nice little game. Could use some better balancing, but it's a good start.

Andrew says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Can you provide a version without an installer please?

PifyZ says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I found this game good but I find it miss information on the screen about towers and monsters characteristics.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 8:35pm

This was even more fun than expected. The fire rate on the slowing towers seems to be bugged, as the pink speedy slimes just fly by one by one, without the tower shooting even once...
Does the game have to close itself after you lose? At first I thought it crashed. How about a restart button instead? :)

Gyncoca says ...
Aug 1, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Thanks for you comments.
I know we need more information about turrets (price, dammage...).
For a restart button, it's my fault i can restart the game when you die, but i'm dumb and i quit. I change this for new version.
And the pink slimes, he run really fast and he can dodge bullets but sometimes they dodge all bullets and i don't know why :/

Magdev says ...
Aug 2, 2013 @ 12:25am

Yeah, protip, don't use an installer. My friend for some reason thought that's what you had to do with our first LD Jam. Just make a release build and pack the release folder into a .rar, then distribute. Pretty nice game though. It was understandable and simple. Good job.

Gyncoca says ...
Aug 2, 2013 @ 1:09am

I have add No installer version. He must works if you have XNA

AVataRR says ...
Aug 3, 2013 @ 12:59am

Hey, this is really quite good for a first game. I have a problem with it though. 1) you don't know the cost of the towers until you actually try to build them - and even then you have to work out how much gold you've lost and remember that amount. just a simple number next to the tower icon would solve this.

Fairly faithful implementation of the tower of defense genre. :} But nothing too new for me unfortunately :{

Halleflux says ...
Aug 9, 2013 @ 11:41pm

..Doesn't fit the RTS theme, has no help, no info on anything, doesn't tell you how much things cost, and honestly doesn't look too good either.

You must sign in to comment.

7dRTS Banner


[cache: storing page]