MiniLD #40, hosted by Milo

Theme: The Real World

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of Blush

by dasrkrain - Mini LD 40 Entry

This was my first time making something for a Ludum Dare (mini or regular). I also used this opportunity to fulfill my onegameamonth quota! :)

This is your basic dungeon crawler, but very short. Only 9 rooms.

The basic idea is that color has been stolen from the world and you must restore it by collecting the Red, Green, Yellow, and blue emeralds.

Walkthrough video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvxFJW1Uc6I

The game can be tough to beat, so I've made a quick walkthrough video if you need some help.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio3.80
Coolness99%
#4Fun3.17
#6Humor3.33
#6Mood3.17
#10Graphics3.17
#11Overall3.00
#16Innovation2.83
#20Theme2.67

Comments

Hayawi says ...
Feb 27, 2013 @ 9:48pm

I like the idea, but the game play kind of got bland after a while

dasrkrain says ...
Feb 28, 2013 @ 12:47am

@Hayawi thanks for the input! The game is only meant to be played for a short amount of time so I can see where you would get tired of it. A good example to use is the walkthrough video you see me beat the game in about 4 min. :)

Mar 1, 2013 @ 6:18pm

So actually, it's a series of bossfights, not a bad idea.
Also liked the concept of restoring the colors and how they came back to the screen when you grabbed a gem. It's really OK for the given time and might be developed into something bigger.
PS : Did you do the music yourself ?

dasrkrain says ...
Mar 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

@Martin_Monosys Thanks for the review. The sounds were made on the spot with sfxr, and the three songs you heard were done by Andrew Riley.

dasrkrain says ...
Mar 1, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Also my source is here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/udh5ohm7a9f1e3v/9rOJ_HTte2

Took me a little bit to figure out how to do that with GM:S.

Jorjon says ...
Mar 2, 2013 @ 2:07am

Having only one projectile at a time felt really frustrating. You should consider storing an array next time :P

dasrkrain says ...
Mar 2, 2013 @ 2:33am

@Jorjon thank you for the feedback! That's a really cool idea! If I do progress this game any further I will definitely add this feature!

Spelchan says ...
Mar 6, 2013 @ 3:22am

Found the game a bit too difficult but well done.

dasrkrain says ...
Mar 7, 2013 @ 3:24am

@Spelchan Thanks for the reply. You can check out the walkthrough video if you haven't already. The link is in the description above.

You must sign in to comment.

(picture)


[cache: storing page]