Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

sit down

by spb_Rusty - Compo Entry

One room is a class. Now the beginning of the lesson. You have to put the students in their places.
Use only mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#146Humor3.12
#253Innovation3.31
#309Fun3.17
#340Theme3.52
#462Mood2.70
#470Overall2.97
#557Graphics2.28

Comments

jusw85 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:47pm

I had a bug where one of the students flew out of the screen and I couldn't complete the level =( Otherwise it's a pretty fun game! I liked that students could knock others out of place even if they were already seated.

Kazik_210 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Interesting game but i had the same bug as jusw85

Yamzho says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ! I can hear them in my head, screaming and shouting !!! Nightmares !!! But cool game though ! Although, I encountered a bug where kids disappear from the room, making the level impossible to finish. Although, good work !

spb_Rusty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Thank you. I think this is due to the high speed bullet behavior. I will try to fix it.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ! I can hear them in my head, screaming and shouting !!! Nightmares !!! But cool game though ! Although, I encountered a bug where kids disappear from the room, making the level impossible to finish. Although, good work !

Hovester says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:59pm

As a teacher i can say that this is the best way to organize the students and the same bug that jusw85 comented happened 2 time with me.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Pretty solid game. Challenging and engaging, one moment everything is fine and you have only one walking student and two seconds later it's pure chaos.

BTW is level with 9 desks the last one? I can't get past it, even with all students sitting.

spb_Rusty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:50pm

No, the last four with fifteen tables.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Pretty brilliant. I've always thought herding was a fruitful domain for games, and yours proves it. It's fun! Gets awfully hard even with just 6 students, but it's a great design.

spb_Rusty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Thank you so much.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Fun game, though it got a bit frustrating when I got to level 4. One single loose kid can mess up everything.

It was pretty nice :-)

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:53am

That's pretty fun! Something silly about it.

DillonEA says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:55am

I must say, I like what you did with the theme, and the game itself was a fair bit challenging, despite the simple idea.

However, it could be improved with cues as to when a student will get up from their chair, like if you had a very small timer on top of their heads so you know where to focus your attention.

Also, I have no idea what happened, but on the very first level one of the children completely disappeared, and yet I was still able to finish the level somehow. Don't know if it just wasn't rendering, or if the game just decided they no longer existed, but either way was definitely confusing.

hugofock says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:55am

Overall quite fun for the game.Just that, there is no strategy needed to control the mouse cursor, i just have to ensure my mouse cursor move faster and ensure my mouse cursor has ran through the whole screen then you would complete the game.

erikiene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:55am

God this was infuriating! In a good way! Good work

caranha says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:01am

Lol, the game is rough, but that is a cool idea. You should definitely work more on this, get some timings, maybe make the student's walks more interesting, etc.

On another note, this teacher should probably be arrested for child violence :-P

mipo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Fun concept but super frustrating. The game seems like it requires more luck than skill. I think that the only way to unseat a student was to hit a student into the seat the game would be much more manageable. Right now it’s impossible to keep students seated because every time you hit a student they all get unseated. The mechanics are there for a fun game.

spb_Rusty says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:15pm

It is not that too easy?

pagi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Buggy, but really fun!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Fun game)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Cute! The students bounces are sometimes a bit unpredictable, but I guess that's the challenge of the game.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Great concept! Maybe tone the speed down a bit, it is a bit hard to react to students and make precise deflections at this pace.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Nice game i liked the mechanics!

OneManArmy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:50pm

love it

kiv says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Oh wow, really funny yet simple mechanics!

Doomdad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Suprisingly fun! But oh dear these students can be annoying!

Few times had students going offscreen otherwise *thumbs up*

Tkachov says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Well, that's kinda fun to play some kind of pinball/breakout with students, yet difficult as they keep leaving their places.

Btw, I think you should do something about your English. No offense.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Good idea. Please add improved graphics. BTW game isn't loading from entry but loading only from URL.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:10pm

I think this captures the frantic classroom setting pretty well! Went from terribly difficult to trivially easy when I just decided to swing my mouse all around the screen like crazy.

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Oh man! This is a little gem :) haha Ive never been so frustrated as when I have all desks full but one little kid running around who knocks out another then in seconds they are all out again!

Very clever idea, I really like what you did- Ive never seen a game use this mechanic quite the same way before. Excellent work.

spb_Rusty says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Thank you all for your feedback and comments. And sorry for my english.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:16pm

I would say the best way of describing it is simple but effective :) Good job!

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:26pm

Simply 3 words) buggy, silly but hellof a fun.

nwestninja says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Buggy and needs a bit more instructions, otherwise, cool

mmason says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:18pm

The chain reactions that happen are nice, when you only have one student left and they bump one, and they bump one and... This is a good case where I'm almost happy that there isn't sound effects, especially for students bumping into things.

I feel like the overall gameplay could be tweaked and tightened up a little more. I feel like I can just wiggle the teacher around and that I don't have much control over the game. Also I think some work might need to be done on what layer each object is on, as of right now the teacher goes under the desks.

Nice game overall and it captures how frantic children are pretty well.

dude_the_hero says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:43am

This is like real life...

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:38am

Man, the frustration to get those kids back to their chair. Now I know what it likes to be a teacher.

Fun game!

2Bit says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:20am

Audio and some feedback effects would have helped make it feel a bit more satisfying.

Zawdit says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Its nice to see some original ideas being used, sweet concept based on the theme of the jam.

Megalink says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:42pm

this is pretty cool! the art needs some work but the concept is the most original I have seen yet! good job!

hunttis says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Really frustrating, but funny idea :D

The students moved perhaps a bit fast to be controllable, though it made me laugh when I had only one student to sit down and a small chain reaction later, everyone was running around :D

TubbyS says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Nice concept, could use some sound for better effect. Had a bug where some students dissapeared which made it so I could not finish.

wwwhizz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Neat idea, fits the theme, graphics could be better. Little buggy here and there.

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:12pm

I enjoyed it! I like the concept, never played anything like this before. On the level 3 there was a bug with kids disappearing, so I could not finish the level. Good job!

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Weird idea, but really fun!
Students knocking the other students out of their seats was kind of frustrating, though, it added to the difficulty :P

Dagegen says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Does anything happen once you beat the game? I'm not sure if I won or got stuck.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:08pm

I was a teacher for some minutes until the game broke but it was cool enough to make feel good. I know how to sit children now.

FinGamer says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:45pm

I wouldn't like it if I were that techer. Cool and simple game! I had the bug that many users have commented about, too though.

freyby says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Easy concept, funny, relaxing but on the same time a bit challenging to play, well done!

Multitudes22 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:57pm

This shall forever live in my nightmares. Great game, it was really hard! I couldn't get past the third level.

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:39pm

This is crazy. More than those air-bubble puzzles from the 80's
As others said, it's possible to lose a kid, or to bounce two kids into one table.

Prospero says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:01pm

I'll never be a teacher! ;) Cool game! Improve it and I think this could be really neat.

Garris says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:42pm

I didn't want to stop playing this game, even though it was super hard! The fact that the kids can bounce each other out of their seats is hilarious, and challenging! I really wish there had been some kind of zaney music to go along with this, but it was fun even without it!

panurge says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Haha, this is hilariously good fun! Such a simple mechanic but so joyously frustrating to play! I'm a teacher myself and I have to say that this is a pretty accurate simulation... :)

Great work!

sapoi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Really funny game, but I was so bad at it.

Dyn says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Серега-читер! Лови пятюни!

awesomerex says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:27am

I had fun bouncing the students around, but ran into the bug where someone flew off screen and I couldn't continue.

TitoMakaniJr says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:49am

That gets so hard SO fast! I think this game is pretty alright, I just wish I had more exact control over where the students will go, but maybe the lack of that control is by design. Overall I think this a nice goofy/fun game. Good job with the entry!

homeworld says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:26am

Pretty neat game, I think some of the students either occupied the same spot or disappeared at times.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:33am

Really fun. I like the way it scales up, crazy by the last level. How do i reach these kidsss?

KJB of IBwWG says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Firefox for Windows 7x64 gives this error trying to play on this page:

Blocked by Content Security Policy

This page has a content security policy that prevents it from being loaded in this way.

Firefox prevented this page from loading in this way because the page has a content security policy that disallows it.

Kingblork says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Fun ! :)
The game stop after 15 sit...

KadaDev says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Blurring the line between game and actual dealing with small children simulator. Cute game! :D

mooncalf says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:28am

Very addictive! Just when you almost get the last couple, the first ones are running around again. I love the idea, and it is quite compelling for something so simple. Nice entry!

Aster0id2000 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:34am

Good game! Teacher runs like crazy...

seano says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Bit dark really, was fun to play though.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Hey, I liked your game it was actually fun.
You can improve the audio and the graphics at some point but overall not bad!
And please go and try out my game!

harark says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Nice concept! I got the feeling that two students sometimes could sit at the same table, but not sure.

makhovykh says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Really nice and fun game!

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:39am

Nice simple game, had fun.

Palarus says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Interesting idea, but at some point I feel like all I was doing is just passing randomly through the room. Maybe some kind of power-up or changing the mechanic a little bit would make it better. Good work!

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:34am

lloooooooooooool, srsly how did you think about it ??
oh and you might want to fix the web frame in this page cuz it doesn't work atm (had to click the web link) :x

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 1:39am

Think I ran into some bugs where some of the students flew out of bounds preventing me from completing a level but it's a pretty interesting take on a herding game plus I find it amusing how you can whack the students about like a hockey puck.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 1:17am

HAAAAAA ! SIT DOWN YOU PUNKS ! (Love it <3)

Skoggy says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Preetty damn hard! But cool idea!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:34am

Surprisingly fun but a bit too random for my taste. And the bigger the room (the more tables and students), the more random it gets :D
But you got a cool idea, and I'm sure adding gameplay variations you could get a really addicting game!
Nice work :D

PolygonTeam says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:38pm

haha. nice)!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]