Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Almost Home

by KairosXIII - Jam Entry

ETA to Earth: 5 Minutes.

Low on fuel, food, oxygen, but that's OK... you're almost home.
Conserve your ammo and stay alive... just 5 more minutes.

Controls: Mouse Click

This is our 2nd Ludum Dare entry. We couldn't meet up this weekend so everyone was done via phone calls. It was a crazy ride but here it is. Hope you enjoy!

Credits:
Art - @tjerzee
Code - @kairosxiii

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Theme(Jam)4.33
#110Innovation(Jam)3.81
#235Overall(Jam)3.63
#238Fun(Jam)3.50
#368Mood(Jam)3.40
#498Graphics(Jam)3.38
#1133Coolness39%

Comments

SoulBound says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:31am

Interesting game. I liked the sound effects and art. One problem I noticed is that the game pauses when you click anywhere outside of the room. I found it hard not to click outside the room a few times every game.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:32am

Simple and yet complex. I really like the single control system. My only complaint is my mouse not being bound to the screen. Other than that, I really enjoyed it. Keep up the good work!

ghostfact says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:09am

Great presentation and art! Mechanics were novel; just what I like to see from a game jam game.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:30am

Nice little entry, and challenging! :) Very well put together, but I'm not sure about some of the sound effects. Good entry overall.

conradte3 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:52am

Fun game, I really liked the resource management aspect of needing to save some ammo to get you to the next refill. One problem I had is that the enemies can spawn right on top of me or right as I move, which could be fixed with some sort of delay and visual effect when they spawn. Other than that very fun and challenging, good art and audio.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:17am

Nice concept here. I like the recoil to move idea but I found the room was so small that I was constantly against the wall then getting killed by spawning enemies. Kinda got frustrating. If the room was a bit bigger it might make it easier.

I also liked the limited ammo, made it more strategic but again with the small room it was hard to plan where to move to. Or maybe i'm just rubbish as I usually am with shooters like this! Good effort, it definitely has potential.

Albert Viader says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:39am

Nice concept of One room, is simple and works very well.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:16pm

I like the move/shoot combo. Only frustration is when you get instakilled because you're next to a wall.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Nice concept. Its a hard challenge to player :)
Sometime enemy spawn on you. Need signal about spawn near player.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Using the players recoil was a novel way of doing movements, I did find the clicking outside of the canvas proved to be a bit of a hindrance. I don't know if there is a way to take ownership of the mouse while playing the game in a unity web game?

Ryusui says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:32am

Really clever. Also really unforgiving. I think the game could benefit greatly from a health bar, or perhaps the small mercy of enemies not spawning on walls you're standing near (or a bit more advance warning before they do!)

CMLSC says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 3:35am

This is a very good idea! I could see this being a very gould mobile game if it had better art and more content. :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]