Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Claim Your Color

by tybantarnusa - Compo Entry

Claim Your Color is a game where you have to paint the room with your color in order to claim the room as yours. << made up story, it actually has no story

Controls:
Up/Down/Left/Right - Movement
Space - Use Power

All assets are made by myself.
Technologies used:
- Unity (Engine)
- InkScape (Art)
- Paint.NET (Art)
- Beepbox (Music)
- LabChirp (SFX)

NB. I used to use libGDX, now I use Unity. I can't deny it made my works a lot faster. I love the flexibility by using libGDX, though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Fun3.91
#72Audio3.65
#90Overall3.79
#152Mood3.49
#306Theme3.60
#308Graphics3.15
#326Innovation3.11

Comments

BoltKey says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 9:20pm

There is a really old (>12 years) game just like this one right? The nostalgia just hit me hard, I remember playing it all the time as as kid. Do you know the name by any chance? Each player had a brush, but other than that it was just like this.

Anyway, I really liked it. The music was good. The AI could be a bit better, but in a game jam this short, there obviously was not enough time for that.

tybantarnusa says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:33am

@BoltKey: It was Battle Painters, isn't it? That game was so good. Last time I tried that game, I don't know why but the color was weird. And yes, I wanted to try to recreate that game. So, it's not that innovative. They are still not the same, though. ;)

Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:21pm

It's simple and well executed. ALso, very fun! As you say, it's not so innovative, but you give the game your style and there are good features (i like the part when the scoring panel disapears). Good work.

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Yay, I won. XD
Don't really know what to say about this, except that I feel like I've played it before.

Quaternius says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:55pm

I like it! like a 2d Splatoon. I don't think the trails really fit the boxes too much tough, maybe some pixelated trails? Loved the music

cyfixus says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Super fun. I spent the first minute trying to claim corners... until I realized the other colors were splurging all over me and I decided to hit space bar. Then I destroyed all.

batmagus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:21am

Simple and fun.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:22am

Really cool! Great game, this was a lot of fun. I felt like I wanted to interact with the other squares a bit more, but the core gameplay was interesting. I did feel like it just ended up being "focus on clearing out whoever has the closest percentage behind you" once you are in first place. I think some more movement-oriented abilities might have made it be more fun.

I thought it was cool how you blacked out the percentages at the end, made it seem more suspenseful and a surprise!

gironC says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:24am

This was pretty funny, i love it! Great job :D

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:38am

Really simple concept, executed well with nice clean graphics. The audio was really great as well, it fit the mood of the game perfectly. One thing I would say about the gameplay is that I can't really think of many different ways to strategise outside of targeting the player with the highest %. Overall, a really well executed game.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:58am

Nice and colourful and fun!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Great mood and fun, tense gameplay! I love that you hide the scores in the last 30 seconds - it gives the ending some suspense.

Now we need a multiplayer version!

Aster0id2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:38am

This game is awesome! Can't stop playing man... Good job!!!

ijzm says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:36am

A very fun entry. I like the competitive nature in this one. The game started up very slow at first and froze when I had pressed enter on the titlescreen, but once it got going, I enjoyed it. I agree that this definitely would make for a great multiplayer game.

Also, nice story. :P

~Random-storykeeper

Mathiouza says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Funny game !
The audio and the graphics are cool and make the game better !
Congratulation !

pixzleone says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Fun idea, well done! Also, nice music!

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Very solid game! The controls feel right, and the AI is well programmed. I also like how power ups enhance the game, good job!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:12pm

That was some good fun! I wish the powerups had a bit more strategy related to them, as it is I felt that only the bomb required some thought on when to use it. Still, it was interesting and fun to play and felt surprisingly even!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Cool music. Like the Mario-Kart-esque power-ups. The AI is pretty random but it's still fun. Would have liked multiplayer. Good work. :)

Kroute says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:28am

I really enjoyed playing your game and I think I'm going to play it again right now.

bigoss73 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:13pm

For some reason, about 1 minute into the game the scoreboard turned completely black and reappeared after the timer hit 0, was this supposed to happen? Anyway, great idea, good music. Well done.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:28pm

The game's solid and mechanically polished; I especially enjoyed that at the end I couldn't see my score. Put the tension right up to 11. The powerups added a new dynamic to an old format. The AI was clever enough but still beatable with the right strategies, and I feel like if there'd been a multiplayer component it'd be pretty frantic and satisfying as well.

My only real complaint is on the graphics. The game's trying to be minimalist, retro, grafitti, and mario kart all at once, visually speaking. I appreciate the background to the main game board, because it helps show the player's velocity and give some perspective to the scale. And in fairness I'm not sure myself how to run this aesthetic effectively. But with relatively simple mechanics (polished or not), the player's attention is drawn a lot more to how the game looks, and in this case it's just a bit too messy and inconsistent.

It's Ludum Dare though, and I prefer a mechanically polished title to an unplayable mess with good graphics. Good work on the game.

vinipc says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Cool, fun game. I could totally see it working as a local multiplayer game with maybe a few additional mechanics.

kleinzach says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:17pm

I think I got an audio glitch where multiple tracks were playing on top of each other. It made the sound very grating. Game play was very fun though! It felt a little strange that sometime I would create a line 1 thick and other times 2, It didn't feel right to have to adjust by just a few pixels to cover twice as much territory. Same can be said about the power ups. Hiding percentages near the end was a good call too! Multiplayer would be great with this.

tybantarnusa says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:57am

Thank you everyone for the feedback.

I originally wanted to add the multiplayer feature.
For the graphics, I can't do art. Haha. So I just did what I could.

And OH MY GOD, thank you kleinzach for figuring out the bug. I didn't know why the BGM sounds like that, and yes, there are two soundtracks playing on top of each other. I will fix it.

Qui says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Aaah I lost, even if it was a tie! :D
Simple game but very well executed and well polished. The power ups are nice, the screen shakes are a good addition. Solid entry!

tybantarnusa says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Yes, I still have to figure out what should I do if players got a tie. The percentage is in integer, but it actually has fractional digits and the winner is judged based on that and I just don't like showing floating-point number on screen haha

LoHii says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:23pm

I really enjoyed this one, although the actual game isn't something new and exciting. It was really solid on all fronts, worked bugfree and was quite fun. If there were something to improve upon, I'd look into changing up little things if they work better: what if the powerups spawn randomly, what if the whole screen is visible, things like that.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Simple, but nice.

Palarus says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:56am

Great game!! Love the simple ones but that they are funny to play. hope I can play it with friends on the future! Good work!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 4:19am

it is pretty fun I must say and kind of reminds me of Splatoon on Wii. Good job, shame that there's no multiplayer.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 4:45pm

This game have something new and innovative - graphics, audio and gameplay are pretty well.
Good job!

Jan 10, 2017 @ 8:16pm

Very fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/3MOSAwxK9LQ

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]