Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

LiftBoy

by stepp - Jam Entry

LiftBoy is not so mentally demanding game. The goal is pretty straightforward - you are the LiftBoy, so your task is to pick-up passengers and take them to their desired destination (well, you are supposed to do so, but quite frankly - no one can force you). You have to navigate the lift to the given floor carefully (align the floor of the lift with the corridor floor) to be able to open the door, then possibly order some passengers to leave. Some passengers might also leave on their own if they are not satisfied with your services (you can easily check the level of their happinness according to their facial expression). If there are some passengers queueing for the lift they will get in automatically. Then you just simply close the door and navigate the lift somewhere else. For each successfully transported passenger you get a point, for each not so successfully transported passenger you loose it. Just in case you doubt if there is a possibility to loose or win the game somehow... well... try it.

Controls:
The controls can be redefined at the start-up screen.
LiftUp (ArrowUp) - moves the lift up
LiftDown (ArrowDown) - moves the lift down
HandBrake (Space) - stops the lift
DoorOpen (v)- opens the door
Passenger[0-4] (qwert)- orders the passenger to exit the lift (from left to right)
Exit (Esc) - exits the game

Team:
Bohus Brecka (coding)
Tomas Kremel (coding)
Vojtech Kuzel (graphics)
Stepan Prochazka (coding)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#541Humor(Jam)2.30
#647Innovation(Jam)2.73
#772Graphics(Jam)2.55
#790Coolness49%
#797Mood(Jam)2.40
#805Theme(Jam)2.67
#863Overall(Jam)2.59
#872Fun(Jam)2.00

Comments

Dejvo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:44pm

the controls either don't work, or aren't straight forward. either way, it's an interesting idea. just needs polishing

stepp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:11pm

The controls are tested and do actually work, you have probably had a problem with opening the lift door. To do that, you need to have the floor of the lift aligned with the floor of the corridor as stated in the description. Also arrow keys don't set the velocity but the acceleration of the lift and brake needs to be held down to stop the lift entirely instead of just slowing down.

Michalidis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:50pm

I remember how I heard you laugh hard A LOT while coding and now I finally know why :D
HINT FOR EVERYBODY : You need to stop the elevator a little bit lower compared to the floor you are stopping at in order to be able to open the elevator using "V" button :) other than that it kinda works :D :D Just as "stepp" mentioned
Good job guys, we will hopefully see each other again next time :)

rplnt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:13pm

The level in which you need to align the elevator could be a bit more relaxed. Or there could be an indicator for when you are lined up. Now it's a guessing game and at first I thought my controls don't work. I really like the idea, but this made it not so fun for me. Instead of riding around I spent most of my time trying to open the doors. Though I'm sure one will get used to it, it's a bit harsh on the new players like me :)

Also, the moving of people in elevator makes it hard to get certain people out quickly. You need to check who moved where.

So, nice game and a good concept, I just think it needs a few adjuestments.

erdiizgi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Hi guys. It was an interesting idea that you come up with. Once you get used to, it is easy to control. It would be great, if it has more fancy graphics and character animations.

VeryBadBunny says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:04pm

I think the mouse sensitivity got very high, but the brake works very well. I liked the graphics very much, but I think it escaped a little of the subject, in my opinion at least.
Congratulations for the game!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Fun idea, and pretty innovative. Unfortunately I found the need to align the lift each time I am landing at a floor rather frustrating and taking the fun out of an otherwise interesting game. Would be great if you could fix this and make it way more forgiving, since there is no animation played, there is no real need to hit the exact right pixel.
I did like the humor though, those guests look hilarious - I would never let tem in though.

mdzimmer says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Vertical movement was floaty and awkward to line up with the floors. I could not get the door to open for a while. Interesting concept and decent UI.

Pajama-Llama says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Would be fun if the passengers automatically exited the lift, but it's great that you made something that works and isn't buggy or at least not that I have found any bugs. The door can be tricky at first but you definitely get used to that.

There's no incentive to keep playing though once you've had a few points.

lusternite says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:36am

opening doors is unnecessarily frustrating

Maffew says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:44pm

Very hard to open the door as you have to be right in the perfect position which is hard to do with the controls

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:45pm

The concept is great! Managing people to get to different floors, and it fits perfectly with the theme, on the other hand controls were a bit hard and some of the mechanics felt a bit unpolished, but with some work on it I think it can be a great game!

Keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]