Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

You are insignificant - NES GAME

by team_disposable - Jam Entry

Welcome to Team Disposable's second Ludum Dare release!

This is in the style of a classic NES platformer, with all that entails - coded to run on an actual nes. You can either download the rom and play it in an emulator of your choice, or download the rom and play it on one of the online emulators. I recommend Webnes, a link can be found on the itch.io page linked below. Of course, you can also play it on an actual NES.

You are seeking the legend of Quacking Jack's gold. Good luck, traveller!

This is a short game of five stages, each only one room big. I intended to have more stages and a title screen, however I had to cut them for compression reasons (i.e. I didn't use any).

Hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#626Humor(Jam)1.94
#641Innovation(Jam)2.75
#678Graphics(Jam)2.88
#759Mood(Jam)2.63
#821Fun(Jam)2.39
#845Overall(Jam)2.65
#895Theme(Jam)1.67

Comments

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:33pm

It's cool that you made a NES game. Unfortunately I didn't really like the game. The first two levels were really easy while the third was significantly harder. That in combination with the poor graphics and the lack of sound didn't quite cut it for me.

MrJackphil says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:33pm

It's looks like a usual platformer. And jumping. It's a little bit strange for me.

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Going retro, interesting!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Aw shame, sorry you didn't like it. Thanks for playing though!

ScreamRawr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:05pm

The fact that you made an NES rom for a game jam is amazing to me, but the platforming physics definitely need work and level 3 is waaaay too hard compared to all the other levels. I feel like it should have been the last level.

Overall I enjoyed this and played until the end! :)

Galan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Really cool (and a bit crazy) making an NES game! Given what you were working with, it's very impressive. I will say that the jump arc is very frustrating, though: the linear movement and sudden direction change at the top make precision jumping very challenging.

tommarx69 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Very original platform !

KappaIX says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:00pm

I died in squalor, but screw you Quacking Jack.

Massive respect for doing something interesting (in this case coding for NES). I actually quite liked the tiny graphics - would have loved a bit of classic NES sound (though i'm asking for this with no idea of how tough it would be to implement).

Found the hitbox and jump a little bit frustrating - but to be honest, that made it feel quite authentic to me!

Well done! Thanks for sharing!

Mouch says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:10pm

It's great to see games made for old consoles at Ludum Dare! I'd like to try that some day too.
But the platform mechanics have room for improvement, jumping just feels strange. Also the third level was a bit frustrating, because in order to beat it you have to jump at the right time, shortly before running into the pits.
Whereas the last level is much more fun and rewarding. (I guess the boss is a reference to birdo from super mario bros 2/Super Mario USA ;))
Cute graphics, sound would have been nice, but I know how short Ludum Dare can be (especially if you make the challenge harder by making a NES game :))

Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Haha, the physics system is hardly mario, is it? I managed to get different jump heights working but couldn't get it to feel natural - next time I guess! Also, about level 3. It was 1.30 in the morning and my incredible girlfriend was playtesting it and she was like "I love how you've made level 3 so hard and frustrating because it's a NES game. It's meant to be, right?" What was I meant to say? How do you argue with that??? Thanks for playing!

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Oh, someone made a NES game. Innovation points for the idea of making a NES game. Sadly, it was tedious all because of the hero's speed. Theme also is badly used. Nice graphics. Have that 4/5 overall.

t4u says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Sorry but I'm not downloading NES emulator to play your game. Let me know if you do port for something normal.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Hi t4u, there's a web emulator you can run the game on, but you would still have to download the rom to do so. Great game, by the way.

Xwilarg says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Well, sorry but I really didn't like the jump system...

t4u says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:09am

Tried it online but didn't like it. Graphic was somehow interesting but jumping is so much pain. I guess we tend to forget how shitty games used ot be back in the retro days. If game was easy I was probably try to finish it but gave up on level 3. Mostly because of jumping.

I appreciate the graphic and mood but not the gameplay.

menip says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:15am

The third def needs to be made a tad easier. Cool that you made it for NES!

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Cool idea to make an NES game.
The hit boxes feel a bit strange, but apart from that you have earned my respect by creating a game for such an old and great system.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]