Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Out of Sight

by Nervous Composers - Jam Entry

What happened... last night?
Right, I got wasted...
I'm going to sleep in today...
Wait... Is someone coming?
Totally forgot about it!
Got to keep this mess...
... Out of Sight!

Made using Gamemaker.

Music from Incompetech
https://incompetech.com/wordpress/2015/10/the-show-must-be-go/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Humor(Jam)4.15
#72Fun(Jam)3.90
#129Theme(Jam)4.10
#198Overall(Jam)3.71
#340Innovation(Jam)3.30
#344Graphics(Jam)3.71
#856Coolness47%

Comments

mvieira says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Great Work. Loved the artwork.

misteak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Wish frantically cleaning my room was as fun as this.
Great job :)

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:40pm

This is so hard, but it's fun and addictive. Nice music and graphics ^_^

HadikCZ says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:18pm

It's hard to clean it quick, its maybe that controlls is little bit clunky.

alfadur says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:04pm

This was extremely fun, quite a lot of replayability here. When the number of items increases it becomes a bit hard to predict what will get picked up without highlighting, but that's not a big issue. It's nice how clear the graphics are, pretty easy to tell what needs cleaning. A cool idea with progress bar as well. Great job!

ijzm says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 5:47am

Geez how many beer cups does a guy need? :P

That aside, I had fun with this. The choice of music is good, especially when it starts speeding up as the guest draws closer to your room. A couple issues with detection in the game, namely how being in line with things and throwing them sometimes causes them to go on the floor.

Also since the arrangement of the items seems to be randomised, there are some instances where the broom ends up in the middle of the bed and I am unable to reach it, thus making it near impossible to get a good cleaning score. It also would have been helpful to have maybe a garbage can for the cups?

Nonetheless, I did have quite a bit of fun. :P

~Random-storykeeper

wowa_u says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:51am

A bit hard, but it's fun. Good choice of music :)

Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:53am

Really fun game. Love the usage of the theme and the raising pressure when she comes closer and closer.
First it was very unclear to me how to actually clean up. I had to look at the screenshot to see I coull throw everything on the bed. Maybe a garbage can or something like that would have been more intuitive?
Really cool game though, could be big on kongregate or similar platforms.

qzqxq says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 4:16am

This was a lot of fun! I think I played it about 8 times, my highest score being around 70%.

Probably my favorite part of the game was how much I got into it. The time pressure was very real, especially with the visible indication of the girlfriend getting closer and closer, and the music selection also helped a lot with this. Basically, I wish you entered your game in the "Mood" category, because it conveys the moment really well.

The main suggestion I have is that it's fairly unclear how to achieve a high score: from the game intro and the title, I assumed that I had to kick the objects under the tables or the bed to hide them, but I'm pretty sure this doesn't have any effect on the score. And speaking of the score, it would have been nice if it scaled more "linearly". Right now, it seems like the score is zero most of the time and only increases once you pass some threshold cleanliness; I used my score increasing/decreasing to figure out what I was doing right/wrong, so if it increased/decreased throughout the whole game, that would provide better player feedback. Alternatively, you could list out the specific tasks that the player has to do, thought it is also a lot of fun trying to figure it by yourself. Overall, this is a pretty minor point though; you did great in terms of visual feedback for the items/posters/bed.

One tiny complaint: I had trouble eating the pizza and drinking the soda my first few tries because I didn't realize that you had to press space. Also, when two items ended up next to each other, it was sometimes hard to pick up the one I wanted to.

Overall, this was a lot of fun and very engaging once I sorta figured out what I had to do. Nice job!

radmars says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 4:53am

Great use of the theme & awesome concept! Graphics are great too. Pretty difficult though, couldn't figure out what to do with the cans which was frustrating. A gradual introduction of mechanics/better difficulty curve would help a lot here. Still it was fun, nice work!

patrickgh3 says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:42am

Nice humorous tone in the game, and fun gameplay too, though the controls felt a little clunky (maybe one too many buttons). I like the length of each round too.

Ellian says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:03am

Hah, funny, I did absolutely exactly 100% the same premise and game ahah. So, I have to say great idea! :D
I wish I could put down objects vertically, but it's a cool thing!

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 12:39pm

A pretty good entry, though unclear at the beginning as to how to clean up. There's no garbage can or anything. I tried kicking things under tables, but it got very fiddly trying to pick up things off the top of the table and would retrieve what was underneath instead. Sometimes things would bounce weirdly as I tried kicking something under a desk. I'm not a fan of only getting to move left and right when I wanted to pick up things above and below me as well.

The graphics are very solid, though the animations during the intro text made me expect better animations in the game. The music suits the gameplay very well.

Jan 1, 2017 @ 8:35am

Very difficult. It was also hard to set things down in the vertical direction, which may have contributed to the difficulty.

Increasing tempo music is absolutely perfect. :D

phi says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 10:36am

I love it! Simple controls (but next time please think about QWERTZ keyboards...), and yet every now and then something unexpected happens. The music, graphics, and the comments in the intro and in the end fit the atmosphere very well. Awesome!

Darenn says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 4:34pm

Nice idea I got a lof of fun cleaning my bedroom. !D

Ant0nin says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 5:18pm

Nice concept and execution, good job !

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]