Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Tomb of the Glitch King

by KappaIX - Compo Entry

"Tomb of the Glitch King"

Play it in your browser - follow the web link below!

Made by KappaIX (a.k.a Doctor_Kappa, a.k.a. me!) in 48 hours.

Step into the Tomb of the Glitch King, a single, ever changing room. Hunt the beast through his lair and defeat him... or be glitched into nothingness...

Arrow keys! You'll work the rest out!

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#32Fun4.00
#45Theme4.29
#45Overall3.97
#56Audio3.76
#76Mood3.78
#139Graphics3.68
#193Innovation3.47

Comments

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:32am

That was an awesome game! I really enjoy puzzle games and this one was no exception! It was a blast to play and I really liked the glitch effect. The audio was a nice touch too. Good Job!

lonesurvivor says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Nice one! Good graphics, music and sounds. Enjoyed it!

automatonvx says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:16pm

wow excellent, I really enjoyed this. nice visual effects, good music, good level design. And i don't even usually like puzzle games.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:59pm

glitch is my favorite trick, I used it in my game too :) I like your work!

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:59am

I love it. The whole game feels deliciously arcadey and the puzzles are just challenging enough to be solved quickly with little to no frustration while still feeling satisfying. Your high contrast character and enemy art really makes the game fun to look at. My only complaint would be that the environment graphics look a little lackluster in comparison. I beat the whole thing and I might play again! Good job!

cushycode says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:57am

Lovely graphics and interesting concept.
Well done!

Kalm004 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Challenging and well made game. Good job!

xesenix says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:14am

You wouldn't expect that: "This game is full of glitches" and "It is really well made game" go into one review together :D Nice game and great soundtrack!

ISG says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:18pm

I'd like the game to be a little bit brighter! Like the style and the mood!

Sean says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Great entry! This is fairly simple game, but you've used the mechanics quite effectively. The audio was a great mood-enhancer too.

I feel like the player and background sprites could have used some more work. The contrast on the level is very low making it hard to see the layout properly, and the player kind of looks like a cyber Finn the Human. The player's sprite also seemed to be significantly taller than their hitbox, which made some of the puzzles feel a lot more difficult than they actually were. The glitch effects on the other hand were all really nice!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Awesome puzzle game! Had a lot of fun! Really good game mechanics. The problem with the contrast of the levels has already been mentioned. Solid entry!

akai_0okami says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Cool game! Really liked the puzzles. Graphics and audio were great too!

Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Very cool! It took me a moment to figure out what to do ("Why can't I get there?"), but I think you did a great job slowly ramping things up and "teaching" the game mechanics.

Capitals says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:11am

This has to be the most enjoyable game I've played. The only fault I had with it was that the platforms can be a bit hard to see at times. However the game ramped up perfectly - introduced new ideas in a way that a tutorial was not needed yet I knew what I was doing. It had enough of a challenge to be hard but it certainly wasn't impossible. Well done, keep on going on this one I think it can go far :)

Gipzo says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Nice levels and their progression :)
Colors are a bit eye-popping, but I think it is the part of style.
Good game overall :)
P.S. It will be nice if level changes was synced to the music :)

TheMightyTeam says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Liked the idea a lot. The levels show incremental difficulty. I ve died a lot of times but i continued till i finished the level. Pretty addictive!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Awesome style, and for such a glitchy game I didn't find a single bug :D nice work!

ValiaP says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Nice entry! Glitch was a cool theme. The art and music was cool. The puzzle was simple but fun.

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 8:41am

I liked how you were able to create a lot of puzzles with this simple mechanics. For some reason this game reminded me of Adventure Time. I have no idea why though.

acotis says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Nice game! I really liked the audio, it was simple, but not repetitive, and moody, but not cheesy. I also liked the animation of the floor changing, and the sense of progression as the levels got harder and harder, while also getting more and more "epic".

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]