Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

RemoteRanch

by Tym17 - Jam Entry

An isolated farmer has decided to make an experiment with a new found life form. He decided to feed it with genetically modified wheat. To stay safe, he uses his remote controlled robot to perform any contact with this creature.

Would you be able to feed it using his technique ?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#195Innovation(Jam)3.60
#489Theme(Jam)3.50
#608Graphics(Jam)3.10
#738Mood(Jam)2.69
#803Fun(Jam)2.45
#826Coolness48%
#841Overall(Jam)2.67

Comments

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:25am

I played it for awhile and spat out robot food all over the grass, but the floaty thing never seemed to eat it... wasn't sure what to do. Neat idea though.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:31am

The control scheme for the robot is kind of frustrating and made my hand hurt.

Rakart says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:41am

Is there anything else to do than to feed the robot ? I couldn't figure it out :(.

The concept is really cool but deserved to be more fleshed out, there is no point to either feed the robot or use it to go outside.

Congratulations on the entry anyway !

BathPirate says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:47am

My congrats! Good concept! Hard controls but it could be very good game!

Zgragselus says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:48am

The controls are really frustrating. The TVs should have at least been closer or something.

HadikCZ says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:53am

Simple but eye-catching graphics :) Concept is very original.

Good work :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:04am

really interesting entry with a spohisticated concept.I couldn't really find out what to do though, the life form didn't seem to be interested in the food.
I also agree that the robot controls could need an overhaul, at the moment you are spending a lot of time just to change a simply direction. Maybe as the farmer, you just need to go to a control device, then click into the robot screen and then can control the robot directly by clicking within the robot screen?
Overall, I think this has potential and you should continue it.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:07am

A neat idea, but I couldn't really figure out if I was doing anything, I dropped food right on top of it and I don't think it did anything?

erik says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Interesting concept. I managed to hit the life form with the food a few times and got some extra points for it, but I was too frustrated to keep trying to feed it to see if there was any sort of ending.

jramell says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Great job with design, but don't know at first what to do, controls need to be improved, but still a great idea, just need to clarify yourself, and ours to understand your idea better.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]