Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Jewel Defender

by kd7uiy - Compo Entry

Defend the gems against the hordes of evil robots! Build traps, including dropping stones and swinging swords to do so!

This is my first Ludum Dare, I found it quite interesting to finish a small game, and learned a lot from the process! I was only able to spend about 10 hours on it, due to a cold, and prior commitments, and while I didn't make as much progress as I would like, I learned much about more typical Unity physics, especially colliders and raycasting.

I used Unity, a bit of Blender, and sfxr for sound effect generation.

To see my other projects, see http://www.oldhammedia.com and http://www.kd7uiy.com/ or follow me on Twitter, @kd7uiy

I'm trying to decide how far to take this. The way the game is structured it would be fairly easy to extend it, but I'm curious to see if you think it would be worth extending it. In particular it's a question of working on this project or my much more polished sea trading game, which you can also see more info about at one of the above sources.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#362Humor2.23
#396Audio2.40
#452Theme3.23
#494Innovation2.61
#503Mood2.47
#505Fun2.66
#538Graphics2.36
#551Overall2.78

Comments

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Nice game ;). Hoped you enjoyed your first Ludum Dare :D

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Intereating mechanics which deserve more work but... thats only 2 days!

timgarbos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Neat little thing for a first Ludum Dare. Go Blender!

Tip: If you want me to play the game again (or find it) name the downloaded folder/zip something other than "Windows". I already had 6 other "Windows" folder from other Ludum Dare games ;)

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:05pm

@timgarbos: Good point, I've renamed it.

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:13pm

@eruiz00: Good feedback, that encourages me to keep going with it! I was just happy to get the swinging sword in at the end, that was the last thing that I added, and I'm glad it made it, I think it offered something!

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Really tough, I couldn't make it very far- but like the idea you were going for. Great job!

Mouch says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:27pm

I think you should make destroying the towers harder. Really good first compo.

jusw85 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Took me awhile before I understood the mechanics and how to play. My structures were too easily destroyed, and I couldn't defeat more than a couple of enemies.

But good effort for your first Ludum Dare though! Overall it's a neat game.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Kewl Jewels

MAT4DOR says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Loved the game! It's simple but fun! http://i.imgur.com/4IETn9w.jpg does this mean I won? :P

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:26pm

@Mat4Dor: I'd say you won. I'm seeing the game is either really easy or really hard. Interesting... Thanks for the feedback!

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:02am

Interesting. Took me a bit to understand what to do though, but I do like the concept. Nice job with Blender as well.

NotExplosive says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:06am

Consider itch.io for downloads instead of dropbox. ;)

Thanks for reviewing my game, to return the favor I'll review yours!

I figured out the mechanics and what I supposed to do pretty quick without the game needing to explain it to me, so good job on that front.

It took me a while to figure out what the rotate buttons were for. Once I did I wished there were hotkeys for them.

Pretty good for a first timer on your own. ;)

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:46pm

@NotExplosive Rotating with hot keys is near the top of my list of things to change when I next play with the code. I might use the mouse wheel or something, I haven't decided yet, so... Thanks for the advice/review!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Simple, basic, but plays solidly and looks sufficient. I'm not much of a tower defence guy myself so I cant really speak on the gameplay, but I did enjoy having physical traps rather towers/turrets that shoot.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:23pm

I think it was a pretty nice start, but in the end its much too hard. It would've helped a lot if the towers didn't have only one hitpoint because I felt they were too easily destroyed for what they cost.
Go for it and continue! The hardest part is actually to keep pushing projects through to the end! ;)

FinGamer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Nice little defender game. It was a bit difficult in the beginning.

Ouro17 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Hey, nice entry. I always wanted to make a tower defend, after playing your game I got inspired, I will try! It's a solid entry so, definitely, you must continue to develop it.

Doomdad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:11pm

I like the minimalist approach you have taken. Really hard at first but after playing a couple of attempts I got a bunch of money. There could have been some nice soundtrack or more response when killing an enemy. But it was still fun to play! :)

vinipc says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Interesting take on the TD genre, but I found it quite difficult. The "towers" didn't attack frequently and enemies could easily "sneak up" from behind and destroy them.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Very neat! As it is, the game feels rather impossible due to how slow the towers are to react; however, I liked the crusher block trap and tried multiple formations of them in order to try to find one that works! Hopefully you'll keep adding more to this!

Stending says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Only 10 hours?
Well, that's an awesome start! Can't imagine how good the game would be if you had more time.
I don't know if the balls calculate their way to the gem, but if yes, you could do a really great strategy stuff by posing some blocks to draw their path!

Great entry, and congratulations for participating despite your problems =)

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:36pm

The balls do calculate their way, using the Unity AI system. They actually are smart enough to try to avoid them, they recalculate the path to avoid at least part of the trap, although not the entire thing.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:01am

Had fun playing it! it was fun to crush the pink things

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:45am

The mechanics are there! I think one major flaw is that structures are destroyed instantly. This makes it too hard. I would recommend turning this into a playable game, and you'd have something rather nice! I like the animations.

Tifu says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:15am

Nice idea of a tower defence kind of game but with physical traps rather than towers firing at the hordes. Just wish you started with more money to place more than a couple of starting towers, considering how fragile they are to fall down from one hit by an enemy D:

mirta000 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:24am

good job for participating in Ludum Dare! This game requires a lot of tweaking, for one thing, because your enemies destroy traps, you're unable to defend the jewels very fast. In fact at most I could only ever buy 2 traps before getting obliterated.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Good start! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/rMBTPizENS0

longshorts says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 6:52pm

10 hours for your first LD is a really good job. Well done! Hopefully you will have more time to spend on it next dare :D

Piscythe says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 3:29am

Really cool idea. Kind of tricky to get the positioning right on the traps. I'd appreciate some kind of warning when the traps are about to break.

INC$D021 says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:41pm

Very nice :) Played it way longer than I thought I would..

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]