Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Jim is Moving Out!

by stadoblech - Jam Entry

Jim is Moving! Help him find his new home! But watch out for his furniture!

7 levels

Post LD: Currently working on local multiplayer.
Stay tuned

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.80
Coolness69%
#18Innovation(Jam)4.31
#19Fun(Jam)4.18
#41Overall(Jam)4.10
#155Humor(Jam)3.45
#243Mood(Jam)3.62
#371Audio(Jam)3.10
#493Graphics(Jam)3.39

Comments

DrSnuggles says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Fantasic game, love it ++

Karreg says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Very good game !!
The theme is really well operated, and the level design is good too.
Thank you for this game :)

Omniorcus says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:25pm

A brilliant piece of work. The simple but clear art style pairs well with the simple, but fun, mechanics of the game. There is a lack of audio feedback, but the overly epic soundtrack, despite the simplicity, make it a mute point. The theme is in-your-face strong, and while some levels definitely feel hard, they are all obvious in hindsight. That's the hall mark of a good puzzle game. Lots of fun, Great work.

dunin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Weird but fun physic game!
The loop at the end is a bit frustrating...

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:54am

I had the music climax at exactly the time I finished a really hard level that took me many tries. Felt good man! Great game.

Squid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:58am

Fun game. Great Concept.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:33am

I loved it. Such an original idea! I finished it.
Please, keep working on it!

If you're interested in bug reports:
-Restarting on level 2 (not sure of the level, actually) makes you spawn way too high and that makes you lose 4%
-You can actually destroy the room after winning.

Not sure if the last one is a bug, but it was weird.

Once again, keep working on this game!

stadoblech says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:44am

^ thanks for info! I will look into it! :)

Split82 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:52am

Very interesting game. Fit's the theme perfectly. Plays smoothly and looks good. Very nice job!

NuSan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:20am

Very good idea. The physics works perfect, and you can be delicate with a bit of practice. Levels are great, but a bit sad there is no ending, even a simple one. Music is a too heavy for this carefull gameplay, I think. Keep up the good work !

stadoblech says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:34am

^ okay... first i was confused. But then i checked whats wrong and i found bug... this bug is sending level 6 again at level 2. There is ending at scene 7... i will upload fixed version soon

grifdail says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:00am

I really loved how the music helped the game ! Nice job !

JarJarlHalla says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:39pm

This game is awesome, I think mouse would be better control, maybe too op idk. I loved the experience! thanks!
Pease keep working on this game

kraftkar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Really nice entry! Great idea, simple and funny

buckle2000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Room twists 180° in mid-air.

Palarus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:58pm

This is very, very interesting. Fits the theme elegantly and both visuals and gameplay work perfectly.

Congratulations!

Dejvo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Really good and solid entry. Well played on the theme. and the music fits perfectly

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Very good idea for a mechanic. I like the simplicity and theme-relatedness of this game but I think you could do something more with the environment. Anyway I enjoyed it a lot.

MentaL13 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Awesome game. The mechanic is cool and the minimalistic art style looks great. My OCD side spotted that the text at the start of the game has Jim and then Joe? so who is moving out?

stadoblech says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:22pm

^ yup. In first version it was Joe. Then i decided that Jim sounds better. It looks like i overlooked it :) thanks for noticing it

ursagames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:07am

This was a lot of fun! The difficulty curve felt rather polished as each level was progressively more challenging, but no giant spikes. The gameplay mechanics really worked well together to let the player strategize different movement techniques.

yolgie says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:11am

Very cool Game, mouse controls would be a gamechanger but i still would like them, music fits the theme perfectly, but what else can you expect of Master Tchaikovsky

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Cool game and take on the theme.
Really fun gameplay!

saurterrs says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:41pm

That was quite fascinating.
especially love the music theme

BananaBen says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:20am

Really unique game! I struggled extremely on level 2! Honestly hope you make this into a full game with a story once ludum dare comp is over! Here is a little lets play:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-k1dZk6cIc

Hopefully it's allowed! :o

stadoblech says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:44am

^ i think its allowed. Anyway thanks for covering my game :P and yes, im seriously thinking about making it into full game. I have few new crazy gameplay ideas so... will see how it ends :P

Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:28pm

I launched the game a first time and Jim was moving way to fast, I wasn't even able to finish the tutorial level since all furnitures got destroy because of Jim's high speed. Then launched the game once again and got a diffrent music, and Jim's speed was as it was supposed to be. XD The high speed seems to be happening when I put the graphics option to "Fast".

So for this second try, the game was absolutely great and well thought, really clever concept !!! Loved it !

Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:15pm

This was a very fun and addicting game. The graphics are really all I saw that could have been improved, but my gameplay of it can be found here (its the third game I played): https://www.youtube.com/edit?video_id=XBEBBc-cfYc It would be cool to see some variations in room size/shape too but I look forward to playing the local multiplayer version. If you let me know when it's released I'd like to try play it again in another episode. Thanks for recommending your game!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Really fun to play, a bit too hard but definitely very entertaining! The game makes you want to play again and again out of frustration.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:06am

I just discovered I gave you the wrong video link by mistake, so here is the corrected one: https://youtu.be/XBEBBc-cfYc
Sorry about that ;)

stadoblech says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:09am

no prob i found it by myself :) i will upload coop version of game to itch.io so if you follow me here you will be noticed about it :)

mrhill says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:02pm

NICE JOB!!!

yuigoto says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Nice take on the theme! Really nice and fun concept for "moving"! :)

The graphics style really fits, and clearly puts the theme up-front, when you first play the game. I really like the simple, silhouette-based, style, since it's quite easy on the eyes, the overall style also gives the game some kind of direct-approach, which I find really good!

I kinda miss some sound effects for the objects/room. The soundtrack REALLY does help bring some tension into the game, but I'd like to see how your take on some music would be. ;) The choice, though, was spot-on! :)

I kinda felt it was hard to go up, specially on the 3rd level, but overall I really liked the play style! I kinda wondered how a mouse control scheme would be for this one! :P

Cheers! Good job! :)

Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Oh man what an fantastic concept! I really loved this game, great work!

Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Really interesting take on the theme! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/uJPQ-kT6kvQ

mirta000 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:40am

dig the idea, but the tutorial even refused to recognize that I'm on the green zone >_<

stadoblech says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:48am

^ you have to wait few seconds with no movement. But i will change this behaviour

mirta000 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:49am

updating the review - got it to work, but it's a bloody hard game very few levels in :D

breno says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:57am

Always wanted to fly with my room while listening to Mr. Grieg. :D

Nice game, but the non-triggering bug is a bit annoying, though.

Junber says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:31pm

that's a great idea to use the one room as the player not the environment. the physics work great and the graphics are very simple but bring the gameplay more in the foreground
-Hisfantor

ema1ih says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 8:47pm

I like the way you used the theme, interesting concept, I had fun

wowa_u says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Great use of theme! Simple, challenging, funny and ery well music choice!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]