Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The One Room Experiment

by Siegfried Croes - Jam Entry

Explore the dungeon, avoid the spikes, defeat all enemies and light all the lanterns! Good luck!

Info:
- Top-down dungeon explorer
- Retro style
- No music (sadly, I ran out of time)

Controls:
- Arrow keys: walk around
- Space/C: Jump
- Ctrl/X: Shoot
- Escape: Hold to quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Theme(Jam)4.37
#51Overall(Jam)4.04
#101Graphics(Jam)4.33
#123Fun(Jam)3.75
#144Innovation(Jam)3.72
#334Mood(Jam)3.49
#463Audio(Jam)2.82

Comments

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Really nice game! Love art style!

ursagames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:38pm

This was really great! Excellent use of the theme. I love how this game looks and feels, the tiles flipping over really sold it for me. I would totally buy this if it had more content.

ScreamRawr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Really nice concept! The transition animations were great!

misteak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Love the aesthetics. So simple, yet full of personality.
One of my favorites, even though I'm pretty bad at it! I'll have to try again later :p

dunin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:43pm

The theme give you a really cool graphic idea!
Good job!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:45pm

This game has the best level/room transition I've ever seen in a game, even one that has gameboy style retro graphics. It's ingenious!

wowa_u says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:50pm

cool art style and tricky but very nice use of theme, i like it very much. but most important! i makes fun!

Flatgub says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Really awesome idea executed amazing! I love it!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:12pm

I love the hooks grabbing all characters! nice idea and cool style!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:17pm

That was a good game, really like the concept of everything being grabbed by the pliers !!! That's a great idea !

Just missing a bg music :)

Good work !

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Best theme interpretation I saw until now ! Very well polished game.

Gumboot says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:29pm

This game works really well! Very fun to play and frustrating at times, the music is missing but the audio you do have is effective.

not-a-hazard says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Very nice. I loved that the claws are used to everything lol

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Like everyone already said great use of the claw to transition from scene to scene and using it for removing enemies and lives. It's a very interesting and cool take on the theme. Graphics have a certain charm to them, reminds me of downwell. I just kept dying trying to jump the spikes.

MichaelBrune says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Very wonderful! I really love how much polish went into it.

Falak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Cleaver way to use theme. :) And this gameboy art style <3

Patacorow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:39pm

I love this entry!really good how the theme is playing here.
Good job!

Evgiz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Qute little game! The graphics are nice and consistent, and I love the feel of the game. As others have said the transitions are superb, the hooks are great haha. Well done!

arzi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:42pm

The pliers <3

Gabe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Awesome game! It's so interesting how the whole dungeon thing works like an experiment, I love the interpretation of the theme here. Definitely one of the best games I've played this LD.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Really great visual style, and a fantastic idea.

However, I think the transition between rooms should be a little faster. It really breaks the flow for me. There is a small pause at the end after the player is placed down, and removing that pause could fix the issue. Music would also have done a ton for it.

That said, this is a really great entry!

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:58pm

cool concept! link with crane style. I enjoy it.

ccglp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Very good animations and art style :D

ColinAllman says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Highly conflicted my spatial understanding, in a very stimulating way.
Loved it.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Short but awesome. The presentation alone deserves high praises.

KingMatthew says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Really good! I love the design and sound effects. This can totally become a full game with more content.

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Reminds me of a dungeon in Zelda :) beautiful :)

justking14 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Great game. Absolutely love the art style and gameplay, but really wish I could've beat it.

harusame says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Nice and very polish !
I love arts, sounds and animations, great job :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Awesome entry! I used a similar concept with a different perspective on LD-31, but graphics and jump controls were less polished than yours. You nailed the retro look here, congrats!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Great. Really great. I loved it so much.
Maybe you can lower the audio's volume.
Overall magnificent.
Keep it up!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:03am

It's a really cool, fun and polished game. The art is great and I loved the grappling hook concept. Really well done, congrats! :-)

vini60 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:05am

Hard hard hard!!
Love the art style!
Game is solid and polished.
Good job.

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:50am

Really fun! I love how things get carried away with those robotic arm things.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:03am

I love how everything was place or removed by those mechanical arms. That was a great idea well executed.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:25am

Wow! Great Idea!
I love the zelda-like art style.
And the grappling hook idea is amazing! Well Done!

RetroSpecter says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:11am

Everything about the presentation, is cohesive, making otherwise simplistic art really shine. I also love all the litte things you did with the crane. One criticism I have is that it's a bit difficult to do precise jumps.

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:47am

Amazing!! Such a unique title and a fantastic use of the theme. I love the art style and how it plays.

Great job! One of my favourites.

oultrox says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:39am

Really great entry, loving artstyle, spikes were annoying to deal with though.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:46am

Fantastic concept and use of the theme! Absolutely love the art. It was a little too difficult for me, but still enjoyed it. Awesome work.

Kizler says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:58am

This game was a lot of fun! It took me 3 attempts to get all 5 lamps. At first I was upset that I couldn't regain health. In the end that only made me try harder. Solid Entry. :D

calzep says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:12am

Best game I'v rated so far. I wish it wasn't so hard for me, I died a lot I eventually gave up. I didn't care too much for the jumping mechanic but it was obviously vital to the game. My suggest would be to maybe make the room tiles 7x7 instead of 5x5 so there would be more room to jump around with precision. Really great idea though! Hope this one wins in Innovation at least.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:38am

The room transitions are the most innovative part of the game.

kidando says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:41am

Very easily the most creative game I have ever played. Ever! Awesome stuff man! That cleverness with the room transforming is just mind blowing.

Kalkatos says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:59am

Serious candidate for 1st! :)

martincohen says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:48am

This is brilliant! <3

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Brilliant how you implemented the dungeon theme. It would not relate to the competition theme at all in my mind, even after 1000 years of thinking.
My absolute favourite so far!

cushycode says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:01pm

The idea of the big metal hand taking of lifes and keeping the player in one room is so awesome! Just great submission.

gontzalve says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Great game, the concept might be a bit generic but loved how you succesfully and creatively adjusted to the theme. Great art too!

scorched says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Nice style! Always forgot about jumping because I didn't usually have the ability in similar games!

panurge says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Awesome visuals and animations. A really clever use of the theme too. Gameplay is tight and satisfying, some of the jumping puzzles were especially neat. Great work!

Neowedge says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Really good game ;). I love how you have done transitions :). Nice!!!

Pajama-Llama says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:31pm

This was great and an ingenious use of the theme! Great style, and scope :). 9000!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Cool transition between rooms. Clever idea. The pixel art and aesthetic are great. Well done ++

erdiizgi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Clever game design

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:58am

Wow. Just wow. This is great. This game is an excellent example of knowing the limits of a gimmick. The very thing that makes this game interesting (the crane arms and room reset every time you go through a "door") could be come grating and annoying if the game were any longer, but the one room experiment has really struck the perfect balance.

jack-lance says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:36am

Very fun! The consistency of the mechanical hand things even adding things to your inventory and moving the monsters away was quite nice!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:48am

The pixel art style got me instantly. I love the gameplay! (Even if the game is somewhat difficult)

The claw mechanic is a very good idea!

Jargo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:29am

Very cute idea, I love it

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:27am

Hahah well that's one way to deal with a theme. Really creative!

Sean says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Interesting take on the theme! It'd be cool if the idea was taken a bit beyond just a visual effect, and the fact that it's all just one room was worked into the gameplay a bit more (e.g. make it possible to lock a tile and use this to get over otherwise impossible areas).

I found myself wishing the transition animations happened a bit faster though; it was pretty annoying having to wait so long between each move, especially given how small the room is. I also found the game to be a bit too difficult. The monsters weren't really a threat, but the jumping was finnicky enough that I had to restart quite a few times.

Great entry!

Capitals says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Challenging, looks pretty, sounds are a bit ear piercing. What I needed at the beginning was a control scheme. I know it is in the description but it would have been nice in game. The jumping is a bit clunky but it was probably me. Also the transitions were beautiful.

Junber says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:05pm

The visual design was amazing. Shame that it has no music. The game was quite fun and a bit more challenging than expected (It took me like 4 attempt to beat it). The link to the theme while certainly there, was a bit weak. Overall a really nice entry.

Dege says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Woooooow for the level transitions, ingenious idea to fit the theme! Art style is my personal favourite, I loved it, bravo! 5-star theme and 5-star graphics for me, I wish you the top 10 for these categories.

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:36am

This is just amazing! I don't know what to say.

Palys Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Wow! Very good game. I like the machine thing. Sad it's not a little bit longer, with some different settings maybe. I replayed about 15 times to finally complete it and had a lot of fun. Good job!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Different people's interpretation of this theme have really shocked me with how different they all are. Yours is one of those really cool interpretations that makes me wish I was as smart. :P
Amazing game!

bigoss73 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:17pm

Dude what do you smoke to get such crazy ideas because i want some of that.

jordgubben says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Not sure if this is a clever way of interpreting the theme or getting around it. ;)

The graphic remind me a lot of Links Awakening, one of my favourite games of all time.

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:38pm

A clever use of the theme. I really liked the little mechanical arms coming down and moving stuff and having the floor tiles flip over. Nice job.

faceless71 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Very nice game! I am in love with this transition animations:)

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Cool little game.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Simple, elegant, fun!

Pros:
-Very smart use of your assets
-Like the retro art style
-Good way of subverting the One Room idea with the robot arm and the doors

Cons:
-Had some issues with lag, specifically while jumping
-enemies are hard to deal with in such a small space

Suggestions:
-Maybe, like in the original zelda, have a more pronounced wait period upon entering a room for when the enemies spawn

giordanno92 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Very creative take for the One Room theme. A nice homage to the dungeon crawler genre and intuitive gameplay. The color palette is pretty. The level design was interesting and every jump had its risk. The only downside is the level design which could be a little better. Too bad you didn't find the time for adding some music, but I forgive you. Keep make these creative games!

JayProg says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Very clever use of theme with a very charming art style!

Too bad you didn't have time to add music as this was a very enjoyable entry otherwise.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Very nice game! I really liked the art style, it reminds me of my Game Boy days :)

Ibispi says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:04pm

I love the way the transitions were done in the game to make it feel as one room! It's fun, I enjoyed it.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:44pm

One of the best use of the theme, and one of the most solid game overall I've played so far! Too bad there's no music but it doesn't prevent your game to be enjoyable and most importantly, that we can see the real potential in it for the future!
Great work :D

seano says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Nice and fun. The graphics were spot on, the idea hit the theme, the audio was only functional though, with no music either. The movement could be a bit more solid to improve the 'feel' and get the hitboxes spot on.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:20pm

I liked the lighting and collecting of the mysterious lanterns. I like the claw idea, and I would love to be able to make choices based on it.

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Oh no, I think I got to the very last room with the final lantern and then died!! It was my 3rd or 4th run and I couldn't quite bring myself to do the whole thing all over again. So close!

Really cool idea for the theme, and the graphics are outstanding. The claw was just about the right pace.

Most of my hits were kind of just clumsiness with jumping. It took me a while to get the correct pacing of the jump down, and even after that it was slight jump flaws that mostly caused damage. This kind of pure execution/timing test as the primary challenge was not exactly my favorite aspect, but since everything else was so strong I still really enjoyed it.

Nice work!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:32pm

This reminded me of Atic Atac. Not so much the game mechanic as the top-down view of the room. I love the way you got around the limitations of the theme. Very clever.

Great art style too.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:43am

I liked this. It took me about 3 tries. The controls should be more clear. I loved the style and transitions.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:14am

Really awesome art :D I wish I saw that I could jump when I started haha

SbstnC says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:15am

Simply put it is my favorite take on the theme so far.
The whole dungeon fitting in one single room ever changing is brilliant.

It is a bit difficult though. I really think the jump should have had a predetermined length. The possibility to stop, or change direction during jump, makes it a bit difficult to make precise landing on a top down game like that.

I made it to the end, but it took me many attempts, and I would have stop before if it wasn't for the awesome graphics, and transitions and that I was a bit curious of the last room.

Anyway, might be my fav entry so far.

managore says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:46am

Always love seeing low resolution 3-colour games, and this is no exception! The claw machines and flipping tiles to make this feel like a little shifting toybox is so, SO nice. Even with the shadow under the player I found it a little hard to judge distance when jumping north/south, but I slowly got used to it after a few attempts.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:05am

Fantastic entry. If this game had music, it would be a real winner!

Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:20am

This is fantastic. I love the claw and the art style/animations i think spikes should do half a heart though. I died to them a lot more than the enemies.

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Really cool! Very stylised and nice. It's a very nice detail how the arm comes not only to pick up the character, but also the hearts and the lanterns! Very clever. c:

Like so many entries, I suppose the interpretation of the theme is rather liberal and stretched, but in a good way, and one that ensure that not too many entries are alike. Appreciated!

I guess I feel like the game was a bit too difficult not to have at least one extra heart to pick up somewhere, but I also get how the brevity of the game might have necessitated a bit of extra difficulty to make it last longer—and I sometimes do this too when it comes to LD games—but I just hope you're not losing any impatient players because of it. p:

The whole core mechanic and the animations that come with it are very polished and nice. Too bad you didn't have the time to add some music as well, but at least there are those nice and fitting sound effects.

Also good how the collision on the spikes and enemies is relatively forgiving. The only issue really comes about in the rooms where you are stuck between spikes and can't really move but have to shoot a lot of enemies coming at you all at once. That's where I died most of the times. Should probably be a bit more balanced in a post jam version, if you ever make one, heh.

Really neat game! Liked it a lot!

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Very nice. Not much more to say :)

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Cool little game! Love the limited set of colors and the use of the hook. The hook made me really feel like the object of some experiment.

Spab says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Nice artstyle! Especially liked the player sprite! Some background music would have been nice.

runvs says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:36pm

This is really a nice game. super cute art style. Especially the little lanterns with the little flame and the picker arm animation. :D
Although I have to admit, I gave up, after jumping in the spikes several times in a row.

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Nice game, simple concepts but fits well with theme. I just missed some music playing.

mirta000 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:01am

some music would have been nice, the sound effects are cute, liking the graphics style aaaand I'm pretty sure that there's a way to beat it, but I'm not good at puzzles.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Fantastic art, really great concept, just wish it had some music to really set the mood. Overall one of the best LDjam games I've played, really solid and great stuff!

Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Super lovely game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/uJPQ-kT6kvQ

hiki911 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:42pm

graphics are gorgeus and clean! really like games like that!

Dejvo says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 3:45pm

verry good entry. I loved your spin on the theme

Siridakis says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Loved your game! The transitions are awesome. Very challenging also. Congratulations :)

Dec 21, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Nice little game, I guess it could you more feedback (especially audio) but other that that, a great idea. I like how the claw is used for everything.

Ellian says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:18pm

GoDAMN that's one fantastic way to use the theme.
The way it's done is... I'm just blown away because it's such a SMART WAY to use the theme!
And on top of that, it's super fun to play! Thanks a lot. :)

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Really nice presentation of the classic Zelda genre. I had trouble jumping over the spikes.

Dec 25, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Super slick with really nice detail (and thematic unity). Everything works so well in the world of the game.

I did a couple runs and couldn't get to the end. I'm really bad at top-down jumping (had issues with it in the Game Boy Zelda too).

axoona says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 11:34pm

solid entry!
It's fun and challenging. the graphics are cool. it's a pity there's not much audio but you know that already.
apart from that, really polished.

Tifu says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Cool idea! Really challenging, took me a good few tries to get the final torch, kind of glad I didn't have to take the torches somewhere, I don't think I'd have made it out :P

Minato4th says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 10:18pm

This is very unbelievable! This game is old school game with all elements on it! Very good Idea and very good Realization
P.S. When will be a speedrun? =)

stuffedgravy says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Great aesthetic and fun to play! The game was balanced very well, and the platforming was surprisingly clean (I was worried the top-down perspective would cause me headaches, but I never felt like the game was being unfair when I ran into spikes). The level design really elevated this game for me. The combat mechanics are pretty simple, but the placement of pillars and spikes made each room different enough, and the difficulty escalated at a steady pace. Good job on that! If this game had a combat/movement mechanic that encouraged strategic choices I would have given this a perfect score.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:04pm

wow ... like. just ...WoW . Nailed the theme, difficulty, aesthetics. mad respect. excellent entry

g12345 says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Lovely game, lovely idea.

rojo says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 2:04am

The aesthetic was great. Reminded me of FF Adventure for Game Boy. The controls handled pretty well. As you're aware, some music would have been a nice touch. Also, I got stuck on some spikes when I killed the last enemy in a room, which ended up killing me because I couldn't move and my iframes ran out, which was a bit of a frustration. Overall great job, though!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 3:00am

The graphics and theme they put together were excellent, but I couldn't get far due to excessive lag, and it got annoying to wait for the arms to finish moving. Lastly, the spikes seemed to have a bit large of a hitbox.

danielilett says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 7:19am

I love how you've implemented the theme! I'm a bit jealous of those level transitions and the claw arms that move everything around, I wish I'd thought of that.

The art style is absolutely gorgeous and is an example of minimalism done right and I definitely feel the Zelda inspiration in the design of the rooms, enemies and obstacles. Even though the room was small, the space was put to good use in terms of the tiles and obstacles used in each... well, room.

I did feel it was a tad difficult to jump over spikes vertically and died a couple of times from attempting it, but I guess that's just part of the game's difficulty. I would suggest being slightly more lenient with jumping over spikes, but it's really just me being bad at the game more than anything :p

I'd have loved if there were some background music, it would've tied the game together really nicely. But as it is, the sound effects in the game are put to good use.

It's the best game I've rated this far, so great job!

joe40001 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 8:55am

Clever take on the theme, you didn't make the deepest game ever but what you did make is extremely well executed. I'm jealous of your skill with making a stylish game.

Soundless_dev says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 9:01am

This is absolutely beautiful. I think this has got to be the winner for "theme" I couldn't imagine anyone coming up with something more creative. Well done. I love it so much.

Flaterectomy says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 12:40pm

This is both a really clever use of the theme, as well as a devious way to avoid the theme. :D Not sure I really liked the way my character could be a pixel off and therefor not move forward sometimes, and most my trouble was getting my jumps right.

Very cute, simple graphics. The sound effects were quite shrill and could do with some equalizing, and there could've been some more sound effects for walking, tiles flipping, robot arms moving, etc.

Needs a little polish and then you have the building blocks a full game. Nice work.

pcmxms says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 8:08pm

Nice game. Good graphics and cool workaround the theme. Well done!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:31am

Such a clever fun game, really enjoyed the mechanic and how the rooms would reset with the transitions. Also quite fun to play and keeps you going to try and collect all the lanterns. Great job, a favourite so far.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: using cached page]