Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Dream Machine

by Snowdrama - Jam Entry

Stay awhile and listen to my story! Of how I got stuck inside my own mind while using a poorly made Dream Projector from Sahara.com!

Controls: *INVERT MOUSE LOOK WITH THE "I" KEY*
Mouse,
WASD,(Unity key configs are editable for those with other key layouts)
Space


Left click to pick things up and carry them around!

Thanks in advance for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#146Humor(Jam)3.50
#275Audio(Jam)3.36
#379Theme(Jam)3.69
#391Mood(Jam)3.36
#508Graphics(Jam)3.35
#532Overall(Jam)3.21
#560Innovation(Jam)2.92
#694Fun(Jam)2.74

Comments

Virtualwindow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:21am

Would love to play more, the inverted Character controller bothers me a lot, and also I fell out of the garage, seems you might be missing a collider. Would re rate when you change it! Love the idea and the humour

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:40am

@Virtualwindow The "I" Key inverts the mouse look, and the garage bug should be fixed now.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:58am

Great game!
Your narration is fantastic.
Got scared twice with the sudden beginning of the recording.
Good puzzles, really hard.
I got several frame drops and my PC got hotter real quick, so, maybe you should see that.
The inverted vertical camera was a bit uncomfortable.

Overall, really, really good.
SPOILER
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Got dickbutted so bad it hurt to laugh

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:10am

@VersitileBox

*Thanks! I dislike the sound of my voice so it's nice to hear people like the voiceover
*Yeah I realized the volume is pretty loud. Ill make a note on the Itch.io page.
*Thanks I wish I had been able to explain the puzzles a bit better which would make them slightly easier.
*The game has a fair number of lights and It's not optimized AT ALL so it's expected.
*The "I" Key can invert the camera look(post version like 0.0.4)
*There's like a few(2-3?) in-jokes for any jammers from other jams I was part of.

mmason says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:19am

Nice concept and use of theme, I liked the non-eucledian style room. A nice idea for a puzzle game.

You should make it painfully clear in the description above that 'I' changes the invert, people might miss it and not give your game a fair review like I almost did.

Good work, look forward to seeing more from you.

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:25am

@mmason

I set the default to non-inverted in 0.0.6 It keeps getting set back to inverted because I use inverted(Relic of the fact I had a different gaming childhood then most) So I set it in the editor to inverted and my builds start having that as the default.

MCRewind says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:25am

The game seems pretty cool and I like the graphics and the voice narrative the only issue I have is tat I am constantly being sucked to the walls, makes the game unplayable.

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:01pm

@MCRewind

Ahh I think I know what that is, the friction of the player against the wall makes you stick. I noticed it last night when testing a few things right before the deadline, I can fix it in a patch later tonight when I get out of work

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:42am

Hey Everyone 0.0.8 is up with some basic usability tweaks, And hopefully I fixed the getting stuck on things, Removed some poles I know I was getting stuck on and decreased the friction for the player against other objects like the table and shelves

Spencer Alves says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:17am

This is pretty great! It took forever for me to figure out that things changed when I looked away, and then I'm probably too stubborn to figure out what I was actually supposed to do after that. I love the effects on the uncomfortably squishy sphere!

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:47pm

@Spencer Alves

Thanks! I didn't want to outright give any puzzle solutions by being like "When I spin around the things in the room change" And at a few hours in, I had it barely working, and we almost switched it to press a button and switch dimensions, but I really liked the twisting Idea although I need a better solution technically cause there are some problems with the way I do it(Where items can magically disappear) because I depend on a trigger volume and the direction of the player's twisting.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Yo it's awesome

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:48pm

@Uliana Galich

Thanks a bunch! I'm glad you like it!

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:25am

I found the colorful squishy ball but that was all! The audio and graphics were a coooool. - Tweedle

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:58am

@tweedle

Hint: There's a battery on the table, hooking it up will let you use the password keyboard on the back table. The solution to the password puzzle on the back table is somewhere in the room. Remember to spin around to make items appear and disappear!

Ednei says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:11am

I really liked the game, fun, thought-provoking and the narration is great, well done!

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:31am

@Ednei

Thanks! I had a ton of fun making it, and it's always nice to hear people liked the narration cause I hate the sound of my voice haha

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:54am

The voice acting was amazing so props for that! I love the idea of spinning taking you to other dimensions in theory, but I think the puzzles in this game didn't really come together well and I didn't really feel satisfied when I solved them. I think the first issue was a lack of feedback in the user's actions. For example, when spinning, it is completely unclear that you are changing dimensions, and because it is tied to your movement, it feels super weird and is easy to miss. Additionally, there should be audio or visual cues when you get something right, as I kept looking for new clues after putting in one of the passwords correctly as I thought I got it wrong (it's not clear until you start typing in a new password). For me, this lead to overthinking the puzzles and looking way too deep into red herrings (I was convinced the boxes and paintcans would be useful haha). I also thought you might have to press something to submit the password because of this. I think the idea of spinning to switch dimensions might suit a different kind of puzzler which focuses on platforming instead, or perhaps it is just the lack of a visual or sound effect that makes it feel a bit weird here. In summary, this was really really cool, the lack of feedback just made it a bit frustrating.

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 5:08am

@Bumblepie

Thanks! As I've said in a few comments now, that is me, and I really don't like the sound of my voice, I cringed at the idea of recording things and then listening to them hahaha.

The biggest problem I think I had was getting the feedback in, there was supposed to be like 10-20 more audio cues in the game, but they got cut due to time.

The problem with the "dimensions" concept, was that it really wasn't distinctly separate dimensions. They would phase in and out, the idea was more a single dimension that behaved like a corkscrew so there is no distinct "Now you're in dimension 5!" this was somthing I was going to see if I could somehow fix eventually. I wanted to avoid a "Push button to change dimension" mechanic, but the problem became there was no way to tell how far up or down you were on the corkscrew you were, and the idea went so far as to actually include even more complications to this idea of dimensions by having the direction you turn change things differently, for example instead of being a linear: Dimension 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. there was more of a crazy padlock thing going on, like right 90 degrees, left 180, right 90 would be different than right 180, left 180. Again most of these were ideas that we never fleshed out and kind of settled for what we could build in the 3 day span. Long story short, to use the words from an earlier poster. the Idea was more of a non euclidian space, the world changes based on your perspective rather than having set dimensions.

The password puzzle was one of the first things we built, and the last thing to finish. Specifically, the keyboard and text inputs were in super early. but the puzzle was not made until the last few hours and it was rushed. The current working version on my local has lights, and more voice acting for each code entered. Again a lot of "not enough time" by day 3 we had 3 days of work to complete and it wasn't all making the cut haha.

I wouldn't blame you for getting lost, some of the puzzles actually have the wrong solutions! The numbers on the pages are supposed to help determine how to read the crystal and password puzzles but the crystal one is in the wrong order. They were supposed to be put into a book and then you would open the manual to solve the puzzles but I ran out of time getting the animation and such in.

I'm glad you thought it was cool. There was a lot of unfinished stuff and most of the game was a rushed mess, so there's a lot of things missing that SHOULD be in there but aren't and most of the things you're saying seem to be solved by the things that didn't make it haha.

Minemes says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 6:26am

Cool game with bad controls :D

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 9:53pm

@Minemes

Sorry the controls were so bad for you.

Sundr0 says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 12:44pm

The controls are a little dizzy at the beginning, you should have tweak a little the possibilities of the character furnished in unity for the FPS ^^ But the game made me laugh a lot so i guess it's mission has been done ! Great job for this ludum :D

(The garage makes me definitely think about Rick and Morty's and i hope it's been on purpose :p )

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]