Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Chamber Designer

by Palys Plays - Jam Entry

Welcome to the Chamber Designer Tool!

Your mission is to reproduce client's ideas for the one and only room, that he/she dreams about. Room ideas are in different shapes and to score points, you need to reproduce them as close as you can. And remember, there is a time limit to acomplish it.

Use mouse for controls:
- LMB for moving edges
- RMB for adding verticles

Game contains also Free Mode, which allows to build some shapes without time limit.

Practice Mode not finished, so it will be included in Post-LD version of the game.

Linux and Mac versions aren't tested out, so in case of them not working, please let us know. Please, report also any found bugs.

We had a lot of fun doing the game and we are pretty proud of the result.

What we used:
- GODOT engine for programming
- Krita for graphics

Credits for fonts and music will be added soon.

The game was developed by team Palys Plays:
- Tomasz Pałys
- Natalia Potoczny

Follow us on Twitter @palys_plays https://twitter.com/palys_plays

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#61Innovation(Jam)4.03
#121Overall(Jam)3.87
#166Fun(Jam)3.65
#290Theme(Jam)3.84
#337Graphics(Jam)3.74
#427Mood(Jam)3.30

Comments

bigpan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:25pm

I'm not really good at drawing games, but the game runs pretty well with some good mechanics, it's very challenging and has a strong learning curve, well done!

JK5000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:56am

A super simple and super great puzzle game. Well done.

60fingers says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:07am

Funny idea,I like the graphics, good Job! Maybe a less Abstract Setting like a Little Story or something with visible characters would make the game more motivating to play

Tonasz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:10am

That's addictive one! It reminds me all these games which teaches you how to use vector drawing tools by resemblance (for example bezier curves. It's also very polished in its simplicity. Good job at keeping being challenging and with good learning curve at the same time. Well done, had a lot of fun!

x1212 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Wow, this one is really interesting!
The graphics fit very well and the mechanics are challenging, yet reliable and simple at the same time.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:50pm

An overall great puzzle game. Great job

sapoi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Really easy to controll game with cool graphics, it was fun to play.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Really cool game ! 5xxx points the first try, then 15xxx !
One thing was kinda annoying : the square is too small at each beginning. It makes me scale him each time. I feel like the fun is too add points and THEN modify the object.
The concept is awesome !

Cyros says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Thumbs way up! One of the most out there ideas on this theme. I also pretty sure this is what being a grpahic designer actually feels like too.

Oh I love the engine <3.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Owh a Godot game! <3
Nice entry (and nice idea), the game is fun to play. Maybe the concept will be quickly redundant though.

Flatgub says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:15pm

I'm surprised how comfortable the system of dragging and inserting vertices felt! I got the hang of it right away and I really enjoyed it! It got really difficult near the end though, I liked the challenge!

Infin8 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Fun Mechanic! I loved the tool for creating rooms and I picked it up really quickly. My main gripe was gameplay, as I lost interest quickly with the repeated mechanic.

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Really interesting idea, enjoyed it a lot! Would be nice to have a visual indication of how good you did. Really solid entry! :)

Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Very cool mechanic that is really well implemented. Well done :)

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Wow, what a great game (5 stars)! This game was made for me as a designer, you need to be able to recognize patterns quickly to get that high score (mine was 25172 btw). Music is really nice too. Great Job!

Dec 31, 2016 @ 7:53pm

This is a simple but interesting take on the theme, a great entry ^^

Jelinib says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 10:21am

Very unique concept. Clever use of the theme. Love the blueprint style, and art is very clean! I maybe want to hear how it'd be with sound effects for clicking and dragging the shapes, but overall I have no real complaints. Really well done game!

phi says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 10:49am

Simple yet interesting geometry game. The theme "one room" was a little forced into it, but if the game turns out this well, I don't mind that at all. ;)

My strategy for most puzzles was to make the rectangle fit the outer bounds of the shape first and then shape it by creating "indents". I wonder what other people's approach was. In my first try, I managed to get a final score of 30180.

The graphics and music are amazing, it looks very polished. Great work!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:55am

A very good puzzle game. Most puzzle games are too hard or too easy, but this one is just right. Graphics fit, music fits. It's all pretty good.

Jan 12, 2017 @ 8:36pm

Fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/Ysp76gwDV8M

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]