Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Rotate the room!

by DOXM - Jam Entry

Created for Ludum dare 37!

--CONCEPT--
This is a puzzle game that it' s all about rotating and moving a room... Move the room, and the ball(Player) will fall due to the gravity. The ball has to collect all the blue-yellow cubes, to complete a level. Avoid the red-yellow cubes(enemies)! They exist 5 levels, and a very difficult test level(tutorial).
...I know, the description doesn't make sense... Try downloading the game, and playing it on high settings, for good "transparency rendering"(When you rotate the room too much it will render transparent walls for easier naviga.ti..o... just try it, I can't explain it!)

--SOFTWARE--
1. Unity
2. Blender
3. MagicaVoxel
4. Ubuntu

--CONTROLS--
WASD and QE to rotate the room.
Sorry for the difficult controlling system, but with a mouse I can't simulate 3D movements easily, without causing collider issues. I am still a beginner with unity, hopefully in the future I will be able to improve them :)

--NOTES--
-This is my first unity game, and my first Ludum dare submission, so it sucks, expect it.
-Try playing it on ultra settings, it's well optimized, and it' s a game changer.
-If you want to enter free cam mode, press esc and read the description.
-Take your time playing the game, feel free to press skip level, and remember that the last levels are easier than the first(No scalable difficulty).

--CREDITS--
The one asset that I haven't created, is the sound track. That's why I have removed the Audio judging. Note that I am not a "graphics designer", neither a "programmer", it if my first try to create a game. The music is the only cool thing about the game, but it is an cc0 asset.

--THANKS--
Thanks for the results! I will try to make a post compo entry to improve the game.

Have fun!
@MicCdt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#160Theme(Jam)4.04
#173Innovation(Jam)3.67
#412Graphics(Jam)3.56
#490Overall(Jam)3.28
#546Fun(Jam)2.98
#561Humor(Jam)2.23
#654Mood(Jam)2.90

Comments

Zerochain says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:11pm

the windows link is broken

DOXM says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Fixed :)

limmmmm says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:02pm

the Mac OS X build has some mouse pointer accuracy issues... is there a recommended resolution?

Holofire says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:10pm

The rotation controls are a bit tricky to get used to at first, but the overall experience was enjoyable, even running on my toaster of a laptop :D. Nice work.

DOXM says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:11pm

I have tested it in 1920*1080. The game itself doesn't a mouse, it is mainly a wasd game(Except the ui). Thanks for playing!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Your game has interesting mechanics, great concept. But it would probably be easier to play with the mouse or a gamepad. Good job anyway !

rilifon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Most resolutions just don't work. Game gets laggier the more you play. On the end I could barely do anything in my computer. (Running on Debian here)


Idea is nice though.

DOXM says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:34pm

rilifon, sorry :( In my low specs debian based(ubuntu) machine it runs great. I don't know what happened. Try to lower down the settings.

And sorry about the bad controls, but they feel great for me, this is my first game, and I am not experienced with smooth control adaptation.

mediocrity says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:46pm

A bit hard to play but visually awesome. Amazing concept!

Fidrik says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:19pm

A little hard to control and the ball felt a little too floaty, but overall a cool concept. Nice work

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Nice concept, a lttle bit too hard but very fun, it was also a bit frustrating when you have to replay th ewhole level for a mistake.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Cool, but the controls were a big enough issue for me that I had to walk away. They should be relative to where the level currently is, no its original rotation.

A post-jam version with improved controls would be great :)

DOXM says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Okay, I have got it the controls suck! I will try to improve them, sorry :(

Devastus says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:44pm

I like the idea here and the graphics are effective.

However, the ball physics just don't seem to really work as you'd expect them to. Also, you'll get pretty quickly confused what buttons you should be pressing in order to turn yourself around, because their orientation doesn't match the camera's.

It's a very good effort!

Feathergunner says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Nice concept, but tricky controls. Had fun nevertheless. Sometimes the cubes are hard to see.

Swingularity says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:00pm

The controls are a a bit confusing but I like the later levels!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:04pm

This is very good and very original. We discussed a very similar idea at the beginning of our bainstorming. The art is very nice too. I found the puzzles a bit hard to play, but got better after a while. I agree with you that the tutrialis very hard - maybe make it easier?
Would be great to see a more refined version of this.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Pretty cool idea. I had fun with it.

DOXM says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:11pm

stupidmindlessf I plan to make easier and harder levels, and make make the rooms rotateable with a mouse, instead of a keyboard

kamranwali says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Nice game. Was challenging as the controls are a bit difficult to master but was fun. The graphics and audio are good too. Overall nice game to play.

RetroSpecter says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:06pm

For your first game jam this is pretty good! I like the concept, but my one criticizm is the room control feels a little bit finicky, at least a first. Good job though and congradulations on your first game jam!

Patomkin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:17am

Really nice small game! Cool idea, art, music. A little too hard, but I just needed to get used to controls. So that would be my main complain: controls are a little hard/confusing (mouse move or drag would be better). And second small nitpick: good and bad cubes could be more different (I didn't get at first which cube I need to collect).

bowlercaptain says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:24am

Rad! Way to go. Pretty cool patient skill game.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:34am

deceptively tricky game, but fun to play, Great take on the theme too. I like it ^^

DOXM says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:46am

Thanks

amras0000 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:33pm

The concept of the game's nice, and I like the design of the rooms. There's just a couple mechanical flaws/bugs that make the game almost unplayable. Pity, because it looks like it could be fun.

The ball really needs a shadow. It's almost impossible to tell how deep it is in the room and I've lost many a ball to thinking it was near the back wall.

More importantly, the ball doesn't keep its position within the room during rotation. It stays in place and the room rotates around it. This makes it really hard to predict where the ball will be when you're finished rotating, since it'll have moved erratically to some random spot dependent on the rotation pivot. This is the biggest issue with the game right now.

I'm also not sure that the front hole adds much to the game. I think the game would've worked fine had you had walls all around. Incidentally, here's an idea to increase visibility of the ball: store each face of the wall (and maybe some of the internal geometry) separately. When the camera's pointing in a given direction, just hide the associated wall so the user can see in (but keep the collision geometry). Or use your transparency effect on that one wall, keeping the rest opaque.

DOXM says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:39pm

amras0000 You are right, I hadn't much time to make a perfect game. After the voting ends, I will fix the controls and make a better wall-transparency system. Thanks for playing :)

Yvanor says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Original game, but I didn't managed to finish a single level, I guess I'm bad at this kind of games x) Like other said, I would have enjoyed mouse control. The graphics are great and cohesive. As for the music, even if you didn't made them by yourself, you chose them well. Good work ! :)

DOXM says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Thanks :)

badabooom63 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Wow, great concept and idea!
I liked it, you should do full mobila app. I think, it will be popular, because of interesting mechanics

DOXM says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Thank you, this is really inspiring :)

Stending says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Very cool game, great idea and beautiful graphics, nice job

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:51pm

Cool idea and very nice graphics!! I really wanted to enjoy it more, but a couple of issue brake the experience for me.

Like others said, controls are a bit hard: for me, the problem was that the same key moves the room always the same way, independently of the current room rotation. So, if you turn the room around, controls soon starts to be the exact contrary of what my brain expect. Can't explain it better, I hope you get what I'm trying to say.

Another issue is with the "transparency": I get the idea, and it is nice, but why making it all grayscale when seen behind walls? This way you can't tell red cubes from blue ones!

Last, I wasn't expecting that the ball can completely fell of the room.

DOXM says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:29am

Thanks for your feedback!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Great idea! Found the ball really hard to move right and it kept falling out of the front face of the room also not technically one room as it had levels :P. It looks amazing though I love the pixelatted 3D look and lighting. Nice one -RS

Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Concept and idea are great ! Graphics and music are also good but it was really hard to control and sometimes also hard to distinguish the elements.

Berbecarul says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Awesome game. Excellent level design and choice of music. You might want to experiment with mouse controls. Good luck on further projects!

BlackQuiltro says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:26am

Liked the concept :) Very well made graphically. Looked very nice.
Controls could be more intuitive (it is hard to remap the rotations depending on the view). Had fun with it. Did not played all levels but will do later !

Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Congratulations on completing your first Dare! This is a pleasant little game, and the voxel graphics are nice too, even though I'm not a fan of that style. There are a few issues, mainly in regard to the transparency mode. Losing colour means you can't tell which cubes are necessary to complete the level, and which cubes are instant death, while also erasing a lot of the colour work you put into the level design. I'd also suggest switching the controls over to match the camera. For example, having w/s tilt the room forward and backwards even if the room has already been rotated onto its side.

Keep it up, and I'm sure you'll be making cool 3D games in no time!

Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Nice game, tricky controls and the x-ray vision wasn't always super clear. But otherwise it is well done!

Dragojt says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Nice idea to develop. Also, clear and wonderful graphics. Nice work!

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:12am

Nice game, but the ball was a bit hard to control. It also felt like it was moving in slowmotion, while the rotation of the room was fast and fluent.

Palarus says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:03am

Interesting game. I see some game like this on the jam. You should work on collision. Also I suppose that the ball move so slow is by some decision after play-testing but I feel like broke all the flow of the game, just waiting there that the ball falls... And at some points the ball hides behind walls or props and can't see it, maybe by design decision I don't know. But don't take me wrong it's a good game with an interesting idea that could be an interesting game with some polishment. Good work!

DOXM says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Thanks for the feedback!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 12:05pm

At the beginning was hard to accustom for controls, but some practice and game become more fun.

In same time I will recommend you to create first level more easier.

Dec 29, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Really cool concept.
Sadly the controls are too odd for me to be able to enjoy the game. You should try some grab and rotate mouse controls, it should probably do the trick.
I also think that the physics could be a bit less floaty.

tellus says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:51pm

This is a really fun idea, but I found it really difficult keep track of the axes of rotation. If there was some visual indicator of the axes or color coding for the walls, it would be easier to keep track of how to move. Also, I had trouble seeing the color of the blocks through walls. Good job on your first Ludum Dare!

Maple says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:32am

Man, what a unique concept! It was balls-difficult, but it had a chill atmosphere.

Was there a win-state? I'm sure I got all of the blue-yellow cubes in the tutorial stage. Since I couldn't find another, I skipped to the next level.

Really cool game. 5 stars innovation. :>

DOXM says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 8:45am

Thanks. Actually the tutorial level has this bug. Thanks for playing.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: using cached page]