Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Room Jumper

by RetroSpecter - Jam Entry

So I also had to study for finals this weekend, so in reality I maybe only spent 12 hours working on it, and it is very obvious that it is still rough around the edges. Nonetheless, this is my Ludem Dare game, called Room Jumper. It's a little puzzle game that involves bouncing between different iterations of the same space.
Hope you enjoy!

Over the weekend I'll probably do a post-jam/post-finals build that polishes up some of the gameplay and fix some of the bugs. So if you are interested keep an eye out for that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Theme(Jam)4.45
#24Innovation(Jam)4.23
#132Fun(Jam)3.73
#211Overall(Jam)3.68
#233Mood(Jam)3.63
#245Humor(Jam)3.15
#503Graphics(Jam)3.36
#517Audio(Jam)2.50
#826Coolness48%

Comments

Tribbs says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:45am

The idea is solid, I had found a few bugs. Mainly, going down sometimes caused me to fall off the map, however going back up once I'd fallen fixed this.

AngryAlbino says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I gave it ten minutes, and I don't regret it. Playing twice to see what I missed, it's great for the time it took.

The only thing I would comment on, is pieces could have fit together a little more "snugly" (but hey, programmer art right? I prototyped all of mine, so I can't bitch there.)

You fit the theme well too :).

Big Cow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:25pm

For me this wins for innovation and theme. Really great idea and nicely executed. It has a puzzle dynamic I have not seen before in a game. I like the fact the person outside taunts you as well to give you something humorous to read as you are playing. Just long enough to get into it and feel a sense of satisfaction from getting out. Nice job!

MichaelBrune says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:52am

This was great, I really like the core mechanic. Switching room into different areas was really great. I would recommend pushing forward with it.

crazya says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:53am

Cool mechanic and a neat twist on the theme!

sollinxp says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:59am

good game, clever mechanic, keep working in this game, please!

andyman404 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:37am

Innovative concept! I enjoyed your interpretation of the theme, and being able to jump through different iterations of that room. It reminds me of time-travel and dimension hopping genres. Well done!

Hamichi Lim says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:40am

I like this idea very much, there are puzzle and story.

ursagames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:41am

Very impressive for only 12 hours. The core gameplay was solid and easy to pickup. There's a lot of interesting puzzles that can be crafted with the mechanics, hope you keep working on it!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:14am

Smart idea, I really liked it, keep going!!

shnitzhell says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:11am

very nice concept in 12 hours. keep it up!

Edeter says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Sometimes hero is falling outside the room but he game is really nice. I love how the "rooms" are swapping

DOXM says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:46pm

I like games with a cool core gameplay mechanic! That's what I am trying to do on my games too, great concept overall, the graphics aren't the best, but they are more than acceptable!

Cole Chittim says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Really fantastic mechanic! Really loved passing through all the rooms and the puzzles never became to difficult to where they were frustrating. Constant fun! Graphics and controls could use a little polish but other than that, solid entry!

reheated says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Innovation: Yes, original puzzles
Fun: Pretty fun although it's quite short. Personally I would prefer if the arrow keys moved the character in the cardinal directions, but it's a minor complaint.
Theme: Sure (well, there are actually quite a lot of rooms altogether!)
Graphics: Nice, it has a pleasant look.
Audio: A bit bare-bones, you could do with some more sound effects and maybe music.
Humor: Fine. Actually, I found it frustrating that the other person started telling me to hurry up as soon as I started.
Mood: Good, thanks to the nice look.
Overall: Interesting idea and although it's a short game you explored the idea pretty well.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:02pm

This was a neat mechanic, nice job!

Ellian says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:17pm

This was a funny and original idea! I liked it. Congrats, this is solid work! I loved that it eventually had weird rooms or tiny gardens. It's neat :)

Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Quite like the mechanics. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]