Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Raise The Roof

by CMLSC - Compo Entry

After making a game, then restarting with only 29 hours left in the LD, I present you with...

Raise The Roof!

In Raise The Roof, you are a mushroom farmer with a collapsing roof. Of course you decide to be highly professional about your approach to keeping the roof up and you decide to shoot it with canons!

WARNING:
The screen will shake quite a bit in this game. If you start to get a headache, I recommend that you stop playing.

And before anyone points it out, I know the sound is kinda broken... I couldn't seem to fix it. XD

The instructions are in the files(VERY IMPORTANT). (titled _Help_.txt)

IMPORTANT: DON'T EVEN RATE THE GAME UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!
I keep getting complaints about the game because people aren't reading the instructions all the way through.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#77Innovation3.83
#260Theme3.70
#262Fun3.27
#304Overall3.30
#344Graphics3.00
#345Mood3.00
#368Humor2.21
#393Audio2.43

Comments

dobnarr says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:44am

I can't do anything once the game starts. I've tried clicking on all the icons at the bottom, and I can't add anything to the room. After a while, the window gets shorter, but I still can't do anything. ^

ZQMony says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:48am

Very cool and unique game. It is a bit hard to understand at first but once you understand to pretty fun.

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:49am

You click the screen(specifically the floor). The instructions say that it auto buys and uses it. You can click anywhere for the walls. But for canons and mushrooms, it has to be on the floor or shelf, and for the shelf, it just has to be open space.

eerongal says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:52am

Interesting concept. I like the idea of using the window size as a game mechanic.

hadongee says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:57am

The theme and graphics and game play in general were good once I read the help file, maybe next time incorporating a small note in game about what every tile specifically does would be helpful. Also in the future it would be nice if the window could be moved and also I found that I could not tab out of the game when it was running which also would have been nice. Other than that it was really fun, definitely had a good time.

TheRare says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:01am

So clicking over the floor builds. I couldn't figure out how to select a different kind of building. It really is a hassle to look for documentation in the files (especially when it's called _Help_ and not, say, README). ^

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:05am

It said in the help file that you had to use the scroll wheel.

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:54am

Could use some instructions. Seems interesting.

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:57am

Read the help file. ._.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:03am

Well I've always wanted to be a mushroom grower :) After having read the comments I went through the help file to understand what to do. You should specify in the description the contents of Help.txt as it's not too long. The game was quite long once you understand the mechanics, but I like the concept of growing things to survive VS a shrinking screen trying to kill you :)

Good job overall

CandyCreep says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:03am

After reading through the help-file, it was actually a pretty fun game! Good job!

The only thing I had a problem with was that I was not able to move the window. It was stuck on the top left corner of the screen.

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:05am

The inability to move the window is because of the way Pygame works. :3
Sorry about that.

BerneyTD says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:07am

Fun Game. Everything seemed to work fine and my only problem would be the sounds maybe had a little too much bass. Some Music would be great too. But I enjoyed the game, overall. It is really fun! ^

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:30am

Couldnt get it to work, it ran the start up scripts, opened to the game, i saw some type of scene, there was 100 dollars there and then nothing, froze, or didnt work. i tried a few times. :(

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:36am

Either you used an operating system that doesn't work with it or you didn't read the instructions. :/

Mattmatt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:54am

An amazing game :) My only suggestion would be to make the controls a bit more user friendly (you probably didn't have time though); still a very good game!

zeoxo says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Fantastic game! really got my adrenaline pumping when the roof started to get close to the bottom 5/5!

Farelle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:38pm

wow....first I struggled hard understand how the game works (yes even after reading the manual several times) had to switch back and forth between game and manual, cause it was so much information. But then the more I figured out the game just became more and more intense XD and I think it's a cool idea that you used the roof of the window as a gameplay element that would ultimately destroy you lol. My score was btw. 210 XD. One thing I have to say though, without seeing whats happening and the screen being so small I was not understanding what was happening at first, because I couldn't see the stones crumbling at first (hard to see on that small window) and it wasn't very obvious that the window was the roof. I even tried resizing the screen cause I thought it might be cut off lol. ^

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Lol, I kinda assumed that it would be obvious that the top of the window was the roof.

pta2002 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Pretty good concept. There's a problem though, I can't move the window! Either way, cool game. Got 127.^

Zarkith says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:07pm

The layering audio of a dozen cannons all firing is a bit much, but other than that this was pretty solid. Really loved the window resizing effect. :D

Not sure if my rush economy strats were ideal or not, but my highest score was 892.

There doesn't seem to be much point to building non-steel walls though. If you need to spam walls to buy time at the end, the cheapo bricks will just get immediately crushed anyways.

Stefanie899 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Super interesting mechanic! Very interesting to use the window size as part of the game and it took me a while to understand what was going on.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:31pm

RAISE THE ROOF!

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:23pm

I played a couple of times and I never saw the roof actually get raised- felt like inevitable death- I think it would have been a little more fun if you could push the roof back up- I upgraded my cannons and had quite a few of them-

Maybe the difficulty should scale slower over time- idk

I really loved how the actual window size got smaller though- that was very creative and unexpected- Very clever

Overall great job on the game. ^

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Ok I played again and lasted A LOT longer :)
I figured out how to raise the mutha f*&%'n roof! buying blocks :) It was a lot more fun when I knew what everything did better.

CMLSC says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:19am

Also, like it says in the instructions, if you get enough canons, you can raise the roof without walls. :3

Ouro17 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Solid entry! I liked the concept a lot and the use of the top of the window as a timer was brilliant! As pointed out it's hard to know what is going on. I suggest to rework the shop and make the item select more visible because its hard at the start. I got 235 points. Good job and congrats! ^

Squid says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:50am

Pretty cool concept, maybe continue working on this project? Had a lot of fun trying to beat my previous scores.^

Xanjos says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Had to check the Youtube gameplay video you made just to understand how to actually play the game as even the text instructions were confusing. Anyway, once I got the hang of it, it was actually pretty fun to play (although it's hard as nails) plus I loved the use of the game window getting progressively smaller. ^

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]