Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Barbel VS Hell Vise

by onixowl - Jam Entry

"Mr. Barbel VS Hell Vise" is the game, where you need to stop room from crushing you by solving simple puzzle

Controls:
`A` and `D` keys - rotate game field
`Left` and `Right` arrows - move horizontally

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#237Innovation(Jam)3.50
#304Humor(Jam)2.96
#331Fun(Jam)3.33
#351Audio(Jam)3.17
#370Overall(Jam)3.44
#501Graphics(Jam)3.37
#573Mood(Jam)3.08
#682Theme(Jam)3.09

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:42am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:17am

Not bad! I am a little bit confused about how to stop things from crushing you... I solved the puzzles on the right pretty quickly, but still got crushed after 5 of them. Does beating a level move the crusher up a bit?

The graphics were nice and the guy you made was pretty cute. I'm not sure if I liked the "rotate" mechanics, as it didn't really do anything. I was expecting to "fall" when nothing was under me, but really "rotating" the room was just a different way of moving up and down. It felt more annoying to have to rotate than interesting. Still, this is a complete game, and the music is actually really kickass.

Levin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:42am

Very nice!

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:49am

Pretty good and well put together, but it felt a little purposeless since winning rounds didn't feel like they helped any.

dobnarr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:34am

I enjoyed this. Didn't realize there was a time limit at first, so got crushed a few rooms in. My second game, I gave up at 46 rooms - my crusher was off the screen on the top, and I was getting repeated level layouts, so I figured I'd seen it all. Interesting game - I think the rotating world thing is cool, but there wasn't much more to it than that. It would be neat if there were some effect other than just the controls that changed when you were rotated - e.g. sliding blocks or something. But it worked, looked neat, and had an interesting and appropriate music track.

Spencer Alves says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:39am

Very cool and fun! The lack of up/down controls really had me struggling for a bit, but I got used to it pretty quickly, especially after limiting myself to only one rotation button (basically toggling between horizontal/vertical). I got my score up to about 18 before I gave up, and I noticed levels repeating after about 10.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:41am

If there is an end to the game, it's tuned a little on the difficult side. Other than that, nifty movement.

Squid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:45am

This game needs ramping difficulty. I got to 51 and let myself die due to hand cramps. That being said to played well and looked great.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:45am

Nice game! Good job!

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:47am

Got up to 15 on my last try!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:59am

Pretty fluid !
I liked the concept ! :)

kn2322 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:07am

This game is really whimsical :D, I have no idea why this guy's getting crushed yet I have to help him? Eventually he gets crushed anyways. The concept is fairly nice, but the gameplay gets repetitive quickly.

Cole Chittim says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:20am

I really loved this! I feel like it could be possibly really great as a mobile port! I think adding a little story or context as to why the little man is being crushed would greatly improve it's accessibility. I'd also suggest adding more possible puzzles because after a while I started to see the same puzzles over and over =/ My highscore was 15 btw! (I felt proud of that cause my hand was starting to cramp afterwards XD)

john256ish says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:32am

I liked your idea with solving the puzzles, it forces your mind to think in a new way to tackle the challenge. It however felt a little too easy, I got to round 30 and i started seeing repeats, so I left myself die. Maybe add a ramping difficulty, more mechanics thrown at the player, or maybe even larger rooms? However, overall, I really enjoy this game, and the character was cute, so you get bonus points for that

jerwil says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:33am

A great concept with some really interesting control scheme! It's fun for the first 20 or so rounds, then it becomes pretty repetitive once you've figure out the best way to control your character and the levels start repeating. The "time limit" mechanism is confusing at first, but then it makes sense!

Tauka says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:34am

Very entertaining game. Love the dynamics of the game, and how you need to think. At first it's hard to get which way to rotate, but then you do it almost automatically

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:16am

Simple. Solid. Nice!

juegoman says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:20am

Nice puzzle concept, I wish there were more room patterns though.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:53am

Nicely horrible control scheme. Pretty hard, though, didn't manage more than 2.5 levels.

Jurgler says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:54am

Nice game! After 1-2 minutes of finding out game mechanics i got quite addicted for some time. Got to level 30 until it crushed me. Love the graphics, and the sounds.
Solid entry!

kidando says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:44am

Simple mechanic but hard to master. Awesome submission. Great graphics too!

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:30pm

This game is so fun and addictive, but i think you die too easy. Good job :)

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Interesting idea about mixing gameplay pressure and maze mechanics. Not sure if it's fun but definably challenging and rewarding.

Flatgub says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:56am

Really cute little puzzle game! I loved the art style and the puzzles were interesting!

cottontrek says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:02am

So cute! Really liked this one. I found myself really enjoying the puzzle mechanic! It's not too complex but had a nice variety with the number of levels that came up. Glad I played this!

nilead says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Really fun and adicting! Although I'm not yet sure if beating the levels do anything to give you more time so I don't know how far you can actually go.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Neat graphics, interesting game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/YiLAPTz00w0

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:26am

Interesting game mechanics.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Pretty good and well done. The aesthetic is really unusual. I had fun playing it ++

Palarus says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 11:06pm

I liked it! Nice idea the rotating room! Maybe is quiet speedy. I think that some levels like challenges or giving some progression would make it a great favor. Good work!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Very Innovative. I like the way it designed, by the is some difficulties with control.
I recommend you to change it on W (for up) and S ( for down ), it will be less confusing for player.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]