Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One Room

by zenwraight - Jam Entry

This is the my first game submission. So in this game, there is a bat who came to his friends house to collect the food (Moths), but his house is full of ghosts, so he has to dodge them and collect all the moths and then find an outlet of the house.

Controls:-

Space - Jump
Movement - arrow keys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#738Fun(Jam)2.63
#836Theme(Jam)2.47
#885Overall(Jam)2.47
#1037Coolness42%

Comments

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Like the flying controls, felt fast and responsive. Starting the player on a ghost feels somewhat unfair though

Wolar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Starting player on a ghost is a little bit frustrating :D I loved the feeling I had during the flight, I enjoyed clicking space and flying around just like that.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Pretty cool game. I did notice that my bat got cornered by a ghost and the game got stuck at one point, but overall, this is a fine entry. Congrats!

acotis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Hmm, I had a different experience than mrhill. The game was almost unplayably laggy for me (but I did get two moths once). Sometimes a frame would render partway off the screen, and starting on a ghost did feel unfair to me too.

But there were parts I liked! The graphics were cute, and although the music wasn't original, it really fit the mood of "bat friend comes over to help but the house is full of ghosts"...if that makes any sense :P I wish you had included ratings for graphics!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Agreed, nice controls (and cool to be a bat!) but the ghost in the beginning and the collectibles was a bit confusing. Good one, though very short!

Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:53pm

I don't love how a ghost is camping you in the beginning.

This is a very nice 16-bit platformer with good controls, but had a lot more potential. The room is far too short.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Well done for a first submission! 3Cs are enjoyable. But on a Level Design part, as others said, first ghost could be easily removed. Keep jamming!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 1:58pm

For a first submission you can be proud about what you has done. Fly mode is cool. Really well done ++

Ace17 says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:31pm

I was a little surprised by ghosts actually being solid!

Some details made it feel a little sketchy: the sprite corners are visible, and respawning almost inside a ghost. The "jump" sounds quickly became annoying, especially in vertical passages (maybe lower its volume a little?).

Otherwise, it's fun to play ; it runs very smoothly, and the scrolling feels right.
The graphics are simple and nice, and the music fits the mood!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]