Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Sneaking and Squeaking

by DragonZBW (SparkLight Games) - Jam Entry

Sneak and squeak your way through little Timmy's room to return to your beloved mousey fiancée!

Controls:
WASD - Move
Shift - Run
Space - Jump
Mouse - Look
E - Interact

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Overall(Jam)4.05
#72Fun(Jam)3.90
#72Theme(Jam)4.25
#132Mood(Jam)3.85
#135Humor(Jam)3.56
#197Audio(Jam)3.55
#344Graphics(Jam)3.71
#370Innovation(Jam)3.25
#938Coolness45%

Comments

Corinator says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Pretty much best mouse game. Mouse GOTY.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:50am

Adorable and clever, and a lot of fun to play. Loved the achievements for extra replay value, and the story was heartwarming. Loved the hidden messages for extra story. Solid platforming, but those blocks at the end were *just* hard enough to almost stop me, but I'm glad I saw it through to see the cute ending. A lot of really great ideas and great work here.

kleinzach says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:07am

Very cute game. I love the idea of messing with scale.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:15am

Like it alot, great work. The boys diary and the letter just added to the cuteness of it all. That said, I rage quit on the block platforming part. I gave it a good 40-50 shots, but im generally pretty rubbish with first person platforming so I won't let that detract from everything this game does right.

djfariel says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:20am

No way to close the game and no way out of the bonus material if you haven't played the game yet. :(
I actually played all the way through. Downside to first person is that it makes the fan section really hard. Otherwise, good work!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:26am

This is a very well realized first person platformer. It was fun to explore the large room and the story and visuals were charming. Adding extra collectibles and bonus content was also a nice touch. Excellent job!

Zee says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:24am

I love the name! The extras were a nice touch! So were the little story bits for the opening and ending. Charming from start to finish!

Only real complaint I have is jump timing. You should give some leeway so you can jump at the edge of a platform, before you start falling. This makes the block part a bit obnoxious, since the timing can become fairly strict, and you have to jump earlier then you expect. It would have also been nice to have additional movement mechanics, such as a wall kick or run, to make the movement more mouse like and separate it from the other games of this type.

But other then those two things, it's a great entry all around. The small touches is really what makes the game stand out. I'll be sure to go back and try to get the remaining unlocks I missed.

Tilemapping says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:48pm

The jumping on the last part is hard to master, nibbles definetly skipped leg day

morrilet says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:53pm

The music in this game is fantastic, definitely some of the best I've heard in an LD game. I also really enjoyed the game itself. The puzzle solutions were intuitive and made sense, the platforming was tight (although one jump between shelves was a little frustrating,) the level design was fun and the readable books were a nice touch. This is a very strong LD game.

nilead says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Absolutely loved it! Just one complain: for the love of the golden duck, if you make first person platforming, dont make the run button shift, its extremely uncomfortable.

Logicon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:19am

best mouse game

radmars says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:19am

Adorable! The scenario/writing is really great, especially the text notes. Nice use of the theme too, I really liked how you could see basically the whole room at once, with little diversions here and there. Great music & sound design as well. My only real issues were that the platforming is a bit finicky (lots of times where I thought I hit jump but still fell off of a block) and the lack of a checkpoint after the fans was a bit frustrating. Still fun enough to finish, with 48 (!) deaths. Nice work!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Great entry! As mentioned, a split second of forgiveness after walking off a platform would be nice. I'd also recommend another checkpoint after exiting the vent. Having to redo the fan sequence after failing the upward draft portion was a little frustrating ;)

masterkrepta says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Adorable.. I love the atyle of the artwork. I found myself getting lost more then once until i got the idea of the layout of the room, but it felt very challenging .

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:08am

Cool little game and surprinsigly addictive.
The boy's narrative is a nice touch. Too bad the checkpoint are not really well put, you should put one after the vent part.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]