Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Squiddy

by Tribbs - Jam Entry

You are timed as you take direct Squiddy, a physics controlled Octo-Thing™, through an onslaught of obstacles and traps in order to find his three lost ink sacs.

Controls:
- Left Click - Short Movement
- Right Click (hold) - Fast Movement
- Mouse - Aim
- Escape - Pause

Made with love in Unity, within 72 hours.
Credits in game.

Please leave a comment with any criticism you may have.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#115Humor(Jam)3.62
#199Fun(Jam)3.57
#283Mood(Jam)3.56
#284Overall(Jam)3.57
#552Innovation(Jam)2.93
#858Theme(Jam)2.29

Comments

Spencer Alves says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:52am

Yikes, being a squid is dangerous! Fun game!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:52am

I love these little creatures! Good job!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:55am

I actually really liked this! Not sure how it had to do with the theme but it still was fun. The character was cute and all the little obstacles looked really nice!

I'm very unclear about what right click actually does. I honestly felt like I could move MUCH faster by rapidly left-clicking. Right click seemed to do very little mots of the time.

I liked how your health was represented as the little tentacles falling off, though that was very unclear at first as well.

Still, lots of fun, great job!

Squid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:09am

I approve.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:53am

Best squid physics I've seen this jam!

dobnarr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:55am

Really fun! Also, very hard. I love losing tentacles as a way of showing life remaining. Beautiful and consistent art style, including the lighting. Great music. Very neat. Some hazards were offscreen, so it was tough to know they were coming or to react to them.

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:03am

Cute! Getting that last one took many tries for me. Had a good time though :)

fafastudio says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:06am

Pretty neat 2.5d, in my humble opinion ! Well done ! :)

Tauka says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:29am

Great game! Feels like old spongebob games I used to play :D

kn2322 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:55am

This game is simple, yet fun! Although it doesn't really fit the theme, the whimsical music and comically imprecise movements/tentacle ragdoll makes it good. Having it require less left mouse clicks would improve it as well, since my fingers were getting sore.

TeamAxolotl says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Haha you decided to play a fish as the main character too ^^ Nice game, really hard though! Graphics are ok, level design a bit too hard imo, but that was fun :)

Sundr0 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Very good games guys! Nice work on the physics!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Cool game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/5DzNI6J29PY

antishow says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:11pm

I love the "tentacles as life meter" idea! Nice artwork too! That music got pretty grating *real* fast though.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Cool graphics and I enjoy the health system via leg-losing. Not sure how the theme applies :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]