Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Henry Snackleworth's Weird Day

by Cerno_b - Jam Entry

Henry Snackleworth woke up with a headache. Was that pounding in his ears just the fridge acting up again? Why was his room's door locked? And who hung up that weird painting on the wall?

Try to defeat all the monsters.
Hint: The order in which they are defeated may be important.

Keys: Left, Right, Ctrl, Space
Esc to quit. Controller recommended.

Made with Game Maker Studio

Tools used:
- Aseprite
- Photoshop
- Reaper
- Miroslav Philharmonik
- bfxr

I followed the Compo's rules, but took the Jam's time limit. All assets created by me, except fonts and instruments.

Update: I removed the browser version as I consider it too buggy to properly play. Just for reference, I add the link here: http://pancakeelement.de/ludum_dare/LD37/game/index.html

Update 2:

Uploaded version 1.1 with some bugfixes:
- fixed a lot of hitbox issues (most people had trouble with that)
- fixed fridge jump path so the player is not hit immediately when it jumps
- extended player range a little
- some HP balancing
- fixed attacks sometimes not being triggered correctly (especially the painting's acid attack)
- moved cursor away from objects in the bedroom so a level is not immediately triggered after losing a fight

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#231Humor(Jam)3.20
#245Audio(Jam)3.45
#249Fun(Jam)3.49
#263Overall(Jam)3.59
#366Theme(Jam)3.71
#472Mood(Jam)3.22
#524Innovation(Jam)2.97
#528Graphics(Jam)3.31

Comments

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:58am

I beat it after the third time fighting the monster in the freezer. I enjoyed the game and liked the surreal nature of it. I did have some little things that I think could add to the experience though.

The hitboxes were a little strange. They were much larger than the monsters. Combine that with the extremely short range of your only attack and it lead to some frustrating situations. The ice monster in particular. If you were close enough to hit him when he jumped his hitbox jumped over yours and you took an automatic hit. There was no way to predict what he was going to do, so I just kind of just kept trying.

The first two monsters I fought I just ran up to them and traded hits. They are weaker than the player is, so that was pretty easy.

Nice music and feel for the game!

lonesurvivor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:17am

The hitboxes are a bit weird. It is very hard to hit something wihtout getting hit yourself.
Otherwise a fun game! Music is nice, graphics too. I like the idea of fighting against everyday objects.

burnedkirby says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:24am

This game is basically a challenging boss rush, very neat. Did not expect the space walk ending, quite a weird day indeed.

calcitherin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:33am

Nice Game . Though the music in the room is a bit dull .

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:46am

Thanks for the comments. I know about the hit boxes and the balancing. It was all I was able to do with with a foggy mind yesterday. I may remedy that as a bug fix.

erdiizgi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:11am

Oh my god. This was the most innovative game I played today. I can see myself playing this on mobile. With more interactive objects. And after killing some monsters you can get awards or improve skills to beat other ones. Good luck. Nice Job.

skorpyo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:12am

pretty hard and challanging. i couldn't beat the fridge monster :(

cushycode says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:11pm

Neat concept and implementation. You're right about web version, it's a bit weird, but still playable.

Nice job!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Fun take at the theme. Liked art and sound and the creative ideas, making basically 3 entirely different boss fights is quite the achievement.
I agree with the others here though, that the hit boxes are an issue and that it can get frustrating, especially with the ice monster.
I also wished for some other kind of attack, so I wouldn't just smash the same button.
Still a nice game and impressive for a 1 person gig - keep it up!

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Good news everyone. I uploaded version 1.1 which fixes a lot of concerns, most of all those pesky hit boxes. So if anyone should return to try it again, let me know if you still have problems.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Pretty funny game, I liked this "megaman like" concept where some ennemies are better to be fought before others.
Main character hitbox seems a bit large though (against the rays of the 5 eyed worm, it's becoming a bit tricky). :)

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Yes, I noticed.

I already decreased the size of the hitbox but it's not enough for the rays.

I could probably resize the player's hitbox just for that section and then return it to normal afterwards.

HazmatPajama says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:05am

Cool game, I enjoyed trying out the different battles until I had the appropriate upgrades.

A couple suggestions: it would be neat to see Henry's attack and defense change with the upgrades in a visual/audible way. Also, a bit of hit-flash on the enemies when they take damage would be helpful.

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:22am

Yes, exactly what I had in mind. But the time was missing to put it in.

I wanted...

- attack upgrade actually be a venom upgrade so the bosses would continuously lose life along with some visual representation
- The bosses were also supposed to flash and have invincibility frames just as the player. That would make balancing a bit more easy and the fights could become more challenging without becoming unfair.
- I also wanted to add wind-up animations for most of the attacks. The painting boss has one for one attack and the fridge boss also has one, but the others are missing theirs and it really annoys me.
- I totally forgot to add a sound for hitting the bosses. Not they just stand there like doofuses and don't seem to take damage at all. After fixing the hitboxes that's my biggest annoyance right now.

I could change some of that now but I think those things are outside the boundaries of what constitutes a bug fix.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:52am

Very funny game. The hittest is a bit weird though.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:50pm

that feeling when you learn to double jump but the game is over :_ ( .nice game tho!

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:44pm

@pyokoanarogue: You're just too good then. You were not supposed to win against the Fridge without double jump. Kudos to you!

SmokeNMirrors says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:14pm

A very interesting composition. While the game felt somewhat bland, the boss fights were diverse and complex enough. I haven't beat any of them yet, but I sure would try again!

phoenix1987 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:31pm

Good job, a little hard though (although i may just really suck). IT reminded me of the classic boss fights from the old snes games. Overall well done

SbstnC says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:00am

Many things I liked in that one :

- The twist with the theme. When I entered the room and saw the grabbing hand, I thought : oh no ! Not another point & click ! And the combat started and I laughed.

-the art style, is a bit weird, but goes along really well with the mood.

- I loved the sad piano while in the room. I don't know if it was intended to be funny, but I thought it was.


But, finally getting a double jump just to find that there are no more levels ??? That's cruel ^^

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:06am

I like the use of the theme, and the boss rush was a cool idea. One thing I found was that after defeating one of the bosses, I could just stand there and wail on the others without any strategy or trying to dodge and still win. That was what actually helped me win, as the only really telegraphed attack was the snowman's one, and the hitboxes were super unforgiving. I think if the bosses had clearer windup animations it would greatly help the game. Great job on the graphics and audio! Oh, also I think having the controls for attack and jump on ctrl and space felt super awkward, you couldn't spam attack reliably, and it felt weird. I would reccomend using z and x or even better, having rebindable keys (probably overkill for a game jam) when using arrow keys as the controls.

Splendidus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Мне игра понравилась, правда сколько я не пробывал убить босса, у меня не получилось)) Спасибо порадовали.

mirta000 says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 7:57pm

great idea, clunky mechanics execution, but then again you yourself know that you ran out of time. I couldn't actually beat it and found myself wishing for a double jump more than once.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Hey I really enjoyed that and even finished a game for once. Its not that often you get to fight a light fitting or a fridge, simple but entertaining, and decent graphics and music. There really isn't enough absurdity in modern games, Good job.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 2:29am

Nice concept! Would love to see more! Nice graphics too.

Cerno_b says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:25pm

@mirta000: Thanks again for putting up with the controls and for taking the time including it in your Let's Plays. The double jump becomes available after you beat one of the bosses.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:35pm

Was a bit hard at first but then I managed to get the hang of it. Absolutely loved the Mega Man styled approach to the boss fights.

jlcarruda says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:31pm

Nice game! Its a bit hard at first, specially when you don't know who's the first boss to deal with. But after you get it, its a nice and pretty challenging gameplay :D

Nice entry!

yuigoto says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:50am

At first, I thought it was just plain impossible to finish this, but it's one of those games where, after you beat your first boss, you really get pumped up for more! :)

The visuals look really nice, and the soundtrack really helps set the mood within battles.

Good work there! :D

Jan 14, 2017 @ 1:45pm

Challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/-i4m-nVpQ4M

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]