Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Stop Me

by breno - Jam Entry

[INTRODUCTION]

A man finds himself trapped in a modest house, while strange objects attack him. Could a computer be his way out? Load the software to find out what mysteries this place holds.

[POST-JAM VERSION]

These are the ONLY new things added in the post-jam version:

1 - Fixed the FPS drop problem that made the game unplayable for some users;
2 - Fixed a critical bug that could be exploited;
3 - The new Mac and Linux builds are universal.

Content is unchanged.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#158Graphics(Jam)4.17
#189Mood(Jam)3.71
#234Audio(Jam)3.49
#235Overall(Jam)3.63
#282Theme(Jam)3.85
#344Fun(Jam)3.31
#391Innovation(Jam)3.21
#472Humor(Jam)2.52

Comments

8Bit says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:19am

My computer lags so much while playing this game (tried downscaling the viewport and i have the graphics on fstests)but still the same. How many instances do you have ??

breno says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:04pm

@8Bit, Thank you for the feedback! I didn't find any performance issues during beta testing. I'm going to look into that and post a post-jam version in the description if I encounter any optimization problems.

8Bit says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:49pm

My computer is not that great but still, i shouldn't be lagging so much in a 2d game.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:26pm

A beautiful game with a simple and great idea. The ufo´s is really difficult to defeat. But overall well done.

Cole Chittim says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:24pm

I'm experiencing this same lag as 8bit, and I have a decently beefy PC so I'm unsure of where the issue is coming from. However, besides the lag, I really love the art style, very stylized and beautiful and the game play (as much as I could play) was very enjoyable and a great take on the theme!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Really cool game! It's fun, it's polished and it has some great art. Well done! :-)

Wolar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:25pm

I like the graphics but the game was laggy and unplayable on my MacbookPro, so I couldn't rate, sorry

mmason says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:30pm

I'm also getting lagging even with reduced size and on the fastest setting. Windows 10 with and AMD GPU.

I found I was getting shot even with the windows down, unless that's intentional it might have had something to do with the lag and things missing their collisions.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Really nice atmosphere! The controls felt a bit strange, or it was just too difficult for me, anyway it would have been nice to have a slower difficulty curve to get used to the controls.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:31pm

I like the game, some lag spikes, but nothing bad. good work :)

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Interesting idea. The art looks good and clean but the enemies are too hard for my taste but i still enjoyed playing it.

gdcvdqpl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:31pm

This was also hard to run for my computer, but I did like it ! This was fun, and the graphics are really impressive. The sound design is cool too.
Very nice game.

Doomdad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Really hard! Not that it's bad, just wanted to get that clear. Really nice idea, enjoyed the visuals and was fun to play!

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:32pm

A really nice idea, graphics and sound are well done too, but the enemies are extremely hard to hit. Dying after one hit might me realistic, but it's just frustrating in this case, especially with horizontal shots thought the windows. Closing the windows would be great if they would close faster!

Maybe you should have added the current mode as a hard mode and made a easier mode as well. With half of the enemy movement speed and no damage to the player.

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:32pm

A bit laggy for me too :\
Beautiful graphics; minimal but well executed. Audio is a good compliment to the overall mood.
Brutally difficult, but you knew that ;)
always started lagging once 4 or so baddies had shown up, never made it long past that :P
Still, very good entry, and truly very pretty. Especially the title screen.
Highly recommend expanding the gameplay and reapproaching as a longer game. What else might he do with his house? Where might he take it? Rare that a dare game leaves me with questions like that! :)

Pandanymous says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Cool work ! Hardcore tho!
Love the art, remind me of Kentucky Route Zero !

Mathiouza says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Cool game !
I don't have finished it yet, but I will continue to play it. I really like the atmosphere and the music.
Congratulation !

Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Pretty cool, the art is the best part of the game, I like to imagine what kinda world the character lives in probably some dystopia. Game play there is not much too it, no reason not to constantly hold q and spam the mouse button. I like that you can shoot the enemies bullets away adn the window mechanic. Got a bit frustrating when they kill you in one hit though, but the ending was worth completing the game. Not much else to say.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:31pm

I like the fonts and graphics, yo

ThatSnillet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:49pm

The visuals and sound are great, but the gameplay can be a bit too hard.

leondryaso says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Great art and music, but it's too hard for me :( :D Well done :)

DOXM says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Art style and music are outstanding

rilifon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Can't run it on Debian 64 bits :(, seems nice. (I tried installing some 32 bit packages and got it to open, but it crashes right away)

mooncalf says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:53am

Love it. I want windows on right click or space bar.

Can't praise it enough. Epic take on the theme. Minimalist story, great gameplay. Great art, great music. Grats!

Galan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:25am

Really great aesthetic and mood. And a cool gameplay idea to go with it, hindered only by the crazy difficulty level. Smooth out that curve and give the player some practice time, and it would be a lot of fun.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:48am

Top notch presentation and style. The game does suffer from a bit of lag when there's more objects on the screen, and the ending sequence stuttered so much it looked abrupt, and I'm not sure if that was by design. Overall, it's really impressive work, oozing with delicious minimalism style that I adore.

abezuska says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:17am

I love the art style of the screen shots but was not able to try it out:
"The application “MACOSX” can’t be opened."

jacksmack says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:22am

This was really hard, the cursor was kinda hard to see. Overall not a bad jam game.

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:29am

I was able to cheese the hell out of it there's a spot where if you hold shoot it always shoots the spawning ships cause they only seem to spawn from the right side. Fun game though! Definitely hard if I didn't cheese

Pixtopher says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:31am

The UFO's are a little to erratic and fast but everything else is done really well. Good job!

depression says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:55pm

This game is a bit difficult, but cool !
Like the graphics, goog job :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Really nice entry.
I like the gameplay, simple but smooth. Maybe a littel too difficult sometimes.
The art is awesome and music great. Well done

Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Nice game! And so hard!

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:16pm

First of all: Awesome graphics. Great sound. Best interpretation of 'one room' I have seen so far.
But the lags are real! First I died several times trying to kill the first drone, after the third drone spawns, it begins to lag horribly. It is unplayable. Please fix it - I'd love to play it again!

kptemre says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:21pm

GOD! This was super hard! And when I did it the warm up period was so long they blow up my house!!! I want my money back! Wait... There was no money right! Awesome game bro! But pls add a cheat code or something. I was having a anxiety attack while killing your absurdly maneuverable and impossible to dodge ufos!

rilifon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:18pm

(Managed to get it working)

Great game!! Pretty polished, I like that you can shoot the incoming shots! Audio, Graphics, Mood, everything 10/10.

It's hard, specially because it is very hard to avoid when they shoot horizontally.

Unfortunately, I found a specific position that you can stay that you can load the software and spawn shoot everything.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Wow, it was hard to play since the AI, it seems, knows how to kill the hero. I like the sounds and style.
Also I found a small exploit that allows you to win in easy way. Was surprized to see the whole rocket in the end :D

Thank you for the game!

breno says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:39am

Added a post-jam version. Thank you all for the feedback!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:21am

This game was fun! Those fuckers are hard to hit. I loved the silhouette style of the art too.

Pros:
-The movement on the enemies was interesting and looked very realistic

-It had an ending! And a good one at that. I was thinking it was gonna be one of those survive as long as you can things at first and I was pleasantly surprised when I took off

-Learning curve was not too steep

Cons:
-Movement on enemies is a bit unpredictable.

-The best strategy seems to be to stand by the panel upping the launch progress and shooting at the most horizontal angle possible to kill the first few incoming bots, if you manage to get 4 or 5 on thier way in (which I did on my third or 4th try) all you have to do is shut the windows and up the launcher while you wait out the storm. Its kinda cheaty but it worked for me.

Nicely done.

Uruca Games says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:22am

This entry is amazing !!! Good idea! I played a lot, but I could not make it to the end. I'll keep playing. Congratulations!!!

Zee says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:05am

Nice to see an entry have an ending!

Took me a few tries to get the hang of it. Seems like after a certain point, you have to close up shop and hope for the best, since once there's too many ships outside, opening the doors more or less guarantees death. So, if you don't kill a good amount of them before they really start spawning, you pretty much have to restart. Once I figured this out, it was actually quite rewarding, and gave you a feeling of being overwhelmed and on the run, which added to the overall atmosphere.

At least that's what I thought at first. After I beat it, I decide to try again. I was able to destroy every ship almost instantly, and had barely any resistance at all. Before I got the hang of it, the game could be quite frustrating since you're pretty much helpless. If the doors are open and the ship sends a bullet straight through, it's a guaranteed death since the doors close so slow. If the ship decides to hang out above the roof and refuses to come down, you can't do anything but watch the health whittle away. When the ship it did come down, you'd have to hope it moved into a good angle, and it didn't move too erratically to actually aim at it.

Basically, It could feel like it was down to luck, and you'd have to hope either A: the ships cooperate and allow you to destroy them, or B: You can destroy enough and tank the health before they overwhelm you. In summary, I think the ship AI might have been too random, and could either subtract from the atmosphere, or leave the player in a frustrating experience.

Don't get me wrong, overall, I think you did a great job, and I really enjoyed it. The graphics really help set the mood, and the room being a space ship was a neat touch. Figuring out the game, and the feeling of hoping the ship launch before I was shot down was a really fun experience.

terryg says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:10am

nicely done. it was too hard at the start to kill a ufo. it would have been nice to have them start out slower. Nice graphics and fits well with the theme.

guoboism says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:01am

The game is too hard... Why cant I shoot inside the room?

SoulBound says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:08am

Very addicting, Challenging, and Fun!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:30am

Very challenging. You need to do 3 thing: use the computer, close the window, and shooting down enemies. It's difficult to manage them at the same time.The graphics is also nice.

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:26am

This game was really hard, holy.
Very nice visuals and art style.

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:31am

I like the window mechanic but since the bullets move quite fast so there is no reason to try and block them with it. Overall a nice concept and satisfying to play.

lonesurvivor says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:17am

Nice graphics, nice music. Seems very polished. Good job!

jsmars says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:46am

Nice work! I really liked it.. but it was a bit hard, hehe..

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Lovely mood - your logo and the pan down were really classy, and keeping the instructions on the screen until I had a chance to try them all out felt great. I didn't get very far - the enemies were just too tough. I liked that the strategy called for shooting them when they were up high, but shielding if they came down low and shot into your room. I think it would really shine if things were slowed down to give the player more reaction time.

dobnarr says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Wow, great game. Really, really hard. I got frustrated when I'd finally uploaded the program and then died before end. Had to keep playing 15 more times to actually finish. Very cool; good sounds, neat graphic style, perfect adherence to theme. Very good work.

gontzalve says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Amazing entry! great idea and execution, my only advice is to reconsider de close the window mechanic and just allow the player to shoot from the smaller triangle area below the windows also making the enemy bullets not pass through those same triangles. Keep developing, it was really fun to play!

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:24am

Very solid entry. I would have liked the windows to be a toggle instead of holding down the button. Also, is there a reason that you have to hold down Q to run the computer? I would think that you could just have it automatically increment when you are standing in the center of the room.

My biggest complaint is that I always felt like I was pressing too many keys at the same time. I think a window toggle and an auto computer would go a long way to alleviating that.

Great job! Mood, theme, music and graphics were spot on!

DoubtfulGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:59am

Pretty, pretty game. Sound was painful, though! Too high-pitched. Really difficult.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:15am

Loved the idea, defending the room in a way like this. Grafics and sound were good.
With increase of the ufo s the framerate got down, I assume because of this the collision detection didn´t work properly any more at this time and they could shoot me through the roof (I played the entry-file).

Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Nice work! Sound fits very well with the flow of the game. The art is well executed for the type of game. Buuuut.... I think it's pretty hard xD It would be great if it was a difficult selection at the beggining of the game.

Nice work anyways!

wujood says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Windows Version (post-jam) is not downloadable

breno says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:10pm

@wujood, the link is working right now. Anyway, you may also use this one, if the problem persists: http://bit.ly/2gWIyxJ
Thanks for letting me know!

akai_0okami says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Nice game but really difficult. Audio and graphics were good.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Graphics and atmosphere are awesome ! But damn, it's really hard !!! The ennemies are pretty fast and hard to target ! XD But it's a good entry ! Nice work !

pmarincak says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Nice graphics and audio, but I found the game extremely frustrating. While I was reading the controls, the game started without my confirmation (ex. press space to start or after moving) so, I basically died immediately.

I found it hard to hit the enemies, and they tended to run to the other side of the house as I came for them, so it was a lot of back and forth before they killed me.

I didn't enjoy one hit and die.

It would be nice if while you were pressing down the windows were closed (but at a cost) like a cooldown or something? I found they opened way sooner than I needed.

Great job though, the mood was A+

kik0729 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:21pm

Great mood. Looked like something out of Kentucky Route Zero! I loved it!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Great game, but I find it too hard.

As soon as I open the windows, I get shot. The delay after pressing E is too large, IMO.

However, it's great and very polished game.
Well done!

fufi says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Nice entry! Quite hard, espcially when an ovni shoot horizontally and the windows take too much time to close! Appart from that, the game is well polished! I did not have drop rates nor bugs. Good job ;)

tellus says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:32am

This was a very pretty but also very frustrating game. The mood, graphics, and audio were amazing. The game was very hard. Not hard in the "that was difficult but rewarding" way.

Stending says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Nice game, i love the graphics and the atmosphere, and i had fun! great entry

Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Not a huge fan of the concept but I like the details like the parallax and the general asethetics.

I didn't see the "close window" action as really useful, as when you're standing inside the house, you have less probability to get shot anyway.

And I guess the sfx and music could serve the mood a bit better.

Nice entry anyway!

Ayxs says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:50pm

awesome submission! good use of the theme I like the art style and sound design and the challenge it provides. good job!

Palarus says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 5:22pm

One of the best games I've played! I love the idea! The art fit well and the mechanics related very good with each others... Good work!!

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:36pm

I looove the art style in this one, game is maybe too hard also

Coomzy says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:24am

OMFG YOU BASTARD, THAT WAS SO FUCKING HARD... But I loved it. That was really really good, such a fun game. The art and sounds were great too and all matched together.

I did feel like sometimes some of those AI shots were a bit bullshit, like they'd be flying in and while still off screen fire a bullet at me and kill me.

I think the software should have auto uploaded when you were stood near it, there was no point me holding Q the whole time.

I think the crosshair should have been bigger I lost it at times.

Not being able to shoot felt very frustrating, even if I'm gonna shoot the roof, let me shoot :)

Seriously though really great entry, would like to see this on Steam one day.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Lovely graphics. Pretty hard, though.

PolygonTeam says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:21pm

crazy aliens! hardcore game! i love it. Very nice art like minimalism! cool game, guys!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Fantastic! perfect art and music + very good gameplay. I think this can become a big project

Karai17 says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 1:01am

Tough game. Graphics were nice, my gunshot was tiny though, didn't feel like I could much damage...

PRANEET56 says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Good game! Fun to play and the art is awesome, reminds me of the android game "Alto's Adventure". Surely one of the best LD37 games.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Man this game is HARD! The idea of the game is very interesting, the graphics look great and the gameplay is quite fun! Would like to see some upgrades added and the difficulty should be scaled down a bit I think.

KobiHawk says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Solid game, was a bit too difficult but I did beat it eventually.

indrkl says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Windows should close instantly, they are useless in their current state. Aesthetics and mood are great, idea itself is also pretty nice having to fight and work the console at the same time. But the game at current state is just too hard, I feel like player lacks tools to deal with it, and some enemy killing from off screen or just spawn straight shot kill feels unfair.

ijzm says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 6:56am

If there's anything I really like about this game, it's the graphics. They set the mood well. The game itself is kind of finicky. Aiming is difficult whilst pressing a key to try and load the software, and press another key to close the windows. If anything, I wish the software loading was automatic, where simply being at the computer would simply initiate software loading. It's a big enough space that there's still difficulty in doing it. Great mood and graphics overall.

~Random-storykeeper

Dec 26, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Very challenging. Graphics were good, gameplay was smooth, sound effects were good, but it was very difficult. Good job though!

Tkachov says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 9:53am

This is hard or even unfair. Unfair is the fact that even when you get 100 progress, you could lose a shield before animation ends. And it's hard to close windows in time and shoot the enemies as they don't always in the area where they could be shot at, and while they are in, you could be shot. Nice graphics, though.

unnamed1334 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Cool game and I liked the art but I found the gameplay had some problems such as door being slow to shut giving no time for me to react to an incoming shot. I did manage to beat the game.

Zgragselus says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Not that bad, although the gameplay is really hard. I couldn't even last for few minutes.

Green Soda says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:25am

Awesome eye-candies!! the game feels good to play, and fun at that!

Great take on the theme, 5/5! This is a solid entry

ema1ih says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 11:36am

Very fun entry, the atmosphere is perfect! Pretty hard tho, couldn't beat it.

novotmike says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Interesting game. I like this game a lot, simple graphics, mechanics and fun gameplay. It was a bit too difficult for me to survive in the beginning, but then I got better. Music is nice too. Nice work!

banana4life says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Nice game. Also for me a little bit too hard but i got better with the time.

Jan 1, 2017 @ 5:46pm

Really stunningly beautiful graphics, incredibly polished look. Was really really difficult to control on a laptop trackpad though--maybe it plays better with a normal mouse.

Almax27 says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 8:22pm

Beautiful entry.

Pros:
* Gorgeous visuals, although I find the character a little disappointing
* Mechanics lead to an interesting balance between defence and offence. Not letting enemies overwhelm the house but keeping the windows closed to stay safe, all the while loading the software. Excellent.

Cons:
* One hit death it a bit too extreme given the limited manoeuvrability
* No death animation for the player! An explosion particle effect would have sufficed :P

If you continue work on the game, I'd love to see house upgrades :D

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:01am

Liked the visuals and thought it was an interesting game with the way you were trying to defend while also working with the computer. Did find the difficulty level a bit too hard and would be nice if it eased up in difficulty at the start so that you could get used to the gameplay.

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:20pm

Great minimalist art and mood. Audio is also nice.

Cerno_b says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:53pm

Stunning presentation. The parallax scrolling does wonders to the game. All animations are silky smooth.

The music was generally very good, but the high-pitched notes become grating after a while.

For me the controls were a bit too much to handle. Juggling four keys with one hand (keeping one pressed all the time) was a bit frustrating, especially for a game this fast. Maybe having a stationary character or auto-load whenever the player is in front of the computer may be an possible alternative here.

Gameplay-wise I liked the game, but sometimes the initial shot of a newly spawned enemy came so quickly it was hard to shot the windows in time.

Finally, sometimes the player wouldn't shoot which I attributed to a bug at first until I found out that he doesn't shoot the walls (makes sense). Some indicator, like a colored mouse cursor or something like that might help avoid confusion here.

Overall a very neat game, especially visually. Loved the ending.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:25pm

Interesting concept and I loved the setting but the difficulty was pretty brutal (You have to have quite precise with shields, the enemies were ridiculously relentless and the windows you can shoot out from were a bit small).

yuigoto says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:27am

Nice work on the graphics! The game's also really cool to play! Though I felt that the game ends quite quickly, as it's really challenging to load the computer, manage the windows and shoot the aliens! :P

Good work there! :)

Jan 21, 2017 @ 8:18pm

Very challenging, but well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/9xy3qMJx7GQ

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]