Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Yetis and Unicorns

by bwalter - Compo Entry

The Yetis are coming! The Yetis are coming!
Play as an epic unicorn in this fast paced and extremely colorful hack and slash game, while you try to survive the onslaught of endless yetis form the confines of a single cave.
Made with Gamemaker studio, Famitracker, BFXR.
this started as a stealth game... then it wasn't...

WASD to move, Space to attack and warp
Upgrade your powers in between levels
Bonus level every 3 levels

[EDIT NOTES]
fixed bugs since initial submission: enemy ai should now work properly.

Enjoy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#152Fun3.55
#172Overall3.56
#177Graphics3.55
#218Innovation3.38
#229Humor2.78
#264Mood3.20
#294Audio2.86
#498Theme3.06

Comments

Benstar says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Very creative game, with really cool ideas, loved playing it :D

onyon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:12pm

I like the graphics and the audio the most.
Fun little h'n's.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Screen turning instantly is a bit disorienting. Maybe could have had a camera rotation delay or something? Graphics are nifty. Liked the old-school sound effects. Very responsive controls.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Quite good idea, love the controls!

sn0uk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:15pm

This game is really fun, and the idea is very unique. It needed a better camera / slower rotation speed because everything was all over the place in my opinion, but this is the game with the best innovation I've seen so far! Great work.

Catwheel says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Really cute game!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Usually in the Ludum Dare a lot of arena shooters get made, because, well, they are easy to make; I'm very happy to see that you've made something really innovative and fun with the genre. Once I realized that I could hold down space and warp, the game became much more strategic. I'm very happy to have played it.

This is nitpicky, but one thing I would love to see is instead of increasing the length of time on a level, vary it up with other enemy types or more difficult terrain (such as spiked floors or walls) so that the game stays fresh.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:42pm

This game gives a great atmosphere, with the particles, and the screenshake. The music is really nice.

Thanks,

Ned

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:05am

Interesting game. There was some really nice work done on the particle effects. :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:09am

Camera was pretty disorienting, but the powers were super fun!

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:17am

Wow, cool crunchy feel in this one that runs through the graphics, the sound, and the gameplay!

It definitely took me a little while to adjust. I was thrown off by the fact that the menus to start teach me to use the mouse but then the game is on keyboard. Then I was running for my life for a while.

But after I learned how to sort out the preview arrow and make proper use of my attack, I went on offense and started mopping dudes up!!

I got to the stage for protecting the baby, but it was a little more than I could handle. But I did make it to the end of a >100 second "Survive" level which I felt pretty good about!

Very nice entry, I enjoyed experimenting around with it and having fun.

Megalink says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:18am

Very creative and difficult, good job!

srakowski says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:22am

Fun game. Graphics were excellent, gameplay was exciting, audio was a bit harsh at first, but fit the game. Well done!

onixowl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:29am

Funny and hardcore game. Good ideas in gameplay

laylow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:44am

Very neat. Haven't seen this mechanic before. I like the graphics and simplicity

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:45am

This game made me feel sick.

tweedle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:50am

This game feels really solid. The fact that there's a nice upgrade system in place is kind of mind-blowing for a jam. I really dig the particle effects, and the camera movement makes the game seem really intense at times.
Great job!

RetroSpecter says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:52am

the controls and the constantly spinning camera are a little bit disorienting, but I like the theme and art style

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:56am

WOW this is fun! I thought the camera was a bit jarring at first, but after some getting used to it, it was fine. I really fell in love with the warp mechanic. Very well done!

Xwilarg says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:29am

The game isn't that bad, but it's a bit repetitive and my ears hurt...

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:01am

I really like the movement and the attacking mechanics.

SoKette says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:38am

I finally survived and them... WHATTT ?? I Have to to it again longer ?? Dis game hard :(
Camera or movement are making things really difficult, but the game is pretty fun by itself !

NikitIT says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:05am

good gays

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:14am

I loved that the screen rotated with the character. Really dynamic and fun! :)

Roffe71 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Once I got used to the camera rotating the game became really fun. I really liked the warp/attack mechanics.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Fun, good looking and very difficult! Music gets a little hard on the ears after a while, but a solid game nonetheless

ikarus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:04pm

A bit dizzying, but pretty fun. Good job!

Casevse says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Interesting concept. The graphics are nice. Too much yetis xD. Good work!

Quaternius says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:22pm

The camera anbd the controls were a bit hard to get used to, great idea, with a tutorial it would have been much better, the music gets a bit tiring after a while and it doesn't REALLY fit the theme 100%, but overall the best game i've played this jam.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:39pm

I like the idea and the mechanic of attack/warping. But the camera is a little confusing with that rotation.

Forgetting the rotation camera, is a nice game!

negativice says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Pretty nice game, cool particles, unique sound, the screen spinning so much made me a bit dizzy.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:11am

The camera is really jarring because it spins so fast when you move. This is a very unique spin on the arena shooter and i think it could be pretty fun if you add some enemy variations and maybe some level hazards. Nice job!

gontzalve says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:33pm

the concept and mechanic is really good but i think maybe the enemies rate of fire should be less and easing the camera movement should work well too

Doomdad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:42pm

I really liked the overall atmosphere of the game. Art style was really fun and, although simple, really nice looking. Hitting on enemies was really responsive and gave you the feeling of being a powerful unicorn.

One of the things that lacked for me was the soundtrack, which could have been a little more melodic.

Overall a great and fun hack 'n' slash game, that I enjoyed playing :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:07pm

i was got a touch of motion sickness whilst playing which added a strange addition on to the euphoria of being a unicorn and dodging about. Which was a shame really because i was having so much fun. Epic entry

Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Very stylish, very trippy, very cool game. Really dig the super stylized pixel and the soundtrack fits so well and gets you in a flow and you just continue to play, restart for restart - because I also found it very hard.
Great job! Would love to see this continued after the jam.

KadaDev says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Really though game, cute sprites, I liked swirling around an jabbing at enemies.

Khaktos says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Awesome game! I had a lot of fun playing it! A bit hard though...

Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Fun, challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/8ZKn12Y_qVg

Aaranos says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 12:20am

Simple but very fun. I found it very hard at the start but once I got some warp upgrades and started to get the mechanics it was much better.

I will say the turning circle is a bit annoying to get around.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Really fun, enjoyed the rotation control, makes for an interesting mechanic and a kind of fun, frantic, chaotic feel. Also enjoyed the tiny pixel art and appropriate old school sounds. And colourful unicorns .. why the hell not.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]