Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Good Impression

by Ellian - Jam Entry

Quick!
Your mom will be there in three minutes... and your apartment is REALLY dirty!
Clean up before she gets there...!

------------

All interaction are done with arrows and X.
Gamepad should be functional.
Pickup, drop, and store items! And... don't hide stuff randomly, maybe...?

------------

Changelog:
1.1 >
- Improved grading system
- Improved gameplay/balance
- Fixed collision bug (no more getting stuck!)
- HTML5 support

------------

Made in 72 hours for the Jam
Game by Ellian
Additional Art by Chris W Early
Music and Sound design by Alex William Palm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Overall(Jam)4.31
#15Audio(Jam)4.31
#18Humor(Jam)4.26
#21Graphics(Jam)4.65
#21Fun(Jam)4.16
#29Theme(Jam)4.39
#64Mood(Jam)4.05
#98Innovation(Jam)3.87

Comments

Sota says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:43am

Impressive! The best score I've had was 71% with 30/31. The pacing is what really sold me.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:39am

This is really great! The presentation is top-notch and it feels like a really complete game already. Very relatable too. :D

There was a little bug when I would sometimes get stuck into furniture though, couldn't move anymore so had to end the game prematurely a couple times.

Gumboot says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:17am

I love this! The music is awesome, really makes me feel like I'm stressed out haha. The visuals are perfect and the visuals are very effective.

SeaDads says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:46am

Awesome art and music, always love your stuff Ellian! :)

martincohen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:10pm

One of my favorites! <3

Didi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:19pm

this is fun gameplay! 10/10

Ludipe says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:39am

Super solid entry (and easy to relate to). Loved the art, the gameplay and your take on the concept. Reall cool, congrats! :-)

Ellian says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:36am

Hi everyone!
I just dropped a 1.1 post-jam version, that mainly fixes collision issue and adds HTML5 support. It also brings an improved rating system. Go for that 100% so mom is happy!

Thanks a lot to all of you for your comments and support. <3

RetroSpecter says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:42am

Overall a really fantastic game! The art and music are great, and I like that it's short and sweet

andyman404 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:58am

Awesome game!! The mood was great. I think the music was getting more and more frantic as the time ticked down. Great job!!

Awpteamoose says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:02am

Impressive! Wish I could hold X to clean up/wash dishes though.

Didi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:55am

incredibly made clean up fun ;)

wowa_u says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:18pm

A bit hard but funny! Great art style!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:20pm

good art and music, I like the tension. gameplay can become a bit repetitive though

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:23pm

This game does a really good job at keeping you on edge and suspense. I haven't gotten really good scores but I did enjoy the challenge.

misteak says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Awesome, I've been seeing all the WIPs on Twitter and reeeally wanted to play this one. It's as fun and polished as I imagined!

Just found a bug where I started cleaning one of the stains, but my rag ended up outside the stain and I got stuck.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Really solid game, love the art and the music. The time limit feels just right. Managed to beat the game with all items cleaned and hidden, but there were some items I couldn't figure out where they should go.

Evgiz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:13pm

Great entry! The graphics, sound and gameplay all go very well together. The design in general is great, particularly for a 72h game. Well done!

arcadehero says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:16pm

Very solid game! Cool pixels as always and very nice music.
Good job, man <3

Diplodino says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:12am

Funny one, but not the original though. And the game froze while I was cleaning soda with a smelly underwear...
But nice looking game !

ajmalr says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:10am

Super fun and polished game with a ton of replay value. Highest grade I could get was D, I'll probably come back later to try again.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Ellian! I so much loved it, that I showed it to my mother. You've made a good impression on her ;-)

Really nice and polish entry, the idea it self is very funny and the execution is just lovely.
Animation, Audio and the use of the theme are top notch.
It's a bit difficult to clean correctly the room, but hey it's just like real life!

Wonderful job <3

pmarincak says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:17pm

This was really fun. I kept playing over and over again trying to get a better score. I didn't realize that you could use the shirts to clean the stains off the floor until my third attempt lol Great Job :D

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:19pm

I have never so much fun while cleaning the room!

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:56am

Beautiful game!!

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:22am

oh! Nice! And it's also online! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Ahah here is an other awesome jam game from you. The concept is hilarious and well done, everything feels super polish and the gameplay is super addictive; wonderful pixel art style as always.

cablay says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:45am

Fantastic premise, excellent execution!

Obvious_San says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:44pm

That's pretty tough! The escalating music is really good at ramping up the tension and the graphics are gorgeous. I gat a D by just shoving things wherever, I'm not sure how I would do better!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Awesome game! Got stuck in the cleaning animation one time but for the rest I really enjoyed it! Love the artstyle and the music fits the game really well. :D

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:21am

Uh, I can only play the web one. Is it the Ludum Dare version? I hope so!

Ellian says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:25am

Web version is the 1.1; it's not massively different tho, except for some collision fixes and some adjustement to scoring calculation and display at the end. :)

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:25am

Ah, I see it's not. Sad times. :(

dunin says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Simple but fun game!
Nice looking and nice packaged!
Some collision problems, but really cool entry!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Very fun! I never figured out what to do with the pizza slices though. Couldn't I just eat them? That seems the more rational thing to do!

Ellian says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 12:14am

You figured they were edible! Just shove them in the fridge. :)
But you're right, I wish I had added an option to gulp them down ahah

ValiaP says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Great work! Really loved the pokemon-like art and music.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Neat little game, really polished and the music is top notch!

If I had one critic, it will be on the physics: the controls are a bit floaty with the damp time of the run, and having the pickable items as "strong" colliders makes it a bit difficult to move when the room is full.

But anyway, great game!

GFM says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Really good game! Most of my complaints about the collision have already been fixed on version 1.1, which is great! :)

One bug hasn't been fixed though. Sometimes, you may slip after starting to clean any stain on the floor (if you press the clean button while moving). If you move out of the stain's hitbox (I'm guessing), you won't be able to neither clean the stain nor leave the cleaning state... essentially, softlocking the game. :(
This can be easily avoided, but still... it should be an easy fix, if you have the time. :)

After a few tries, I was finally able to 100% it! =D

The graphics are pretty great! In particular, I really liked the cleaning animation! (also, it did somewhat remind me of Mother 3... :D)
The audio is great for the game's atmosphere! It really helps to make the player feel nervous about how much time is left.

Congratulations! Great job! =D

Dec 22, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Very well polished game! Love the pixel art and the audio is also really great. Nothing bad to say about it at all. Fantastic job!

axoona says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 8:40pm

this game is just great! I loved the idea and the execution. it is fun, the graphics are lovely. I try to think about something to improve but can't!
good job!

MrTroy says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 5:44am

I REFUSED to stop playing until I got the A+. This game was awesome fun. :) Took me a long time to figure out what to do with the tissues... The 14 year old in me thought they went under the bed. :(

BoltKey says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 2:06pm

I really liked it, nice use of the theme. Good atmosphere. It however feels a bit unfair that it takes a while to figure out what to do and how to move.

I couldn't find the rag.

Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Fantastic little game. My favourite so far. Targeting can be a little difficult, and I managed to freeze myself twice, but managed to play through and get as high as a C.

Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:26pm

great job... I got an F because I panicked. I had some issue with controls where I would stand on an object but couldnt see what I was on top of.

aeveis says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 7:07am

I got 82%! Pretty fun, I like how everything does have a proper place (though I'm not too sure what goes where). The cleaning the spills and dishes is pretty nerve wracking too haha. Good job!

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 7:26pm

I saw screenshots on twitter as you were making this, I'm glad to get to try it now. Figuring out where things were supposed to go was difficult at times, but then figuring that out is half the gameplay. I put my clean clothes in the closet at first, and didn't think my mother would care what I throw in the trash. D'oh! Also, no clue what a Comtesse Cochonou is (even after googling it). Getting stuck on things was also an issue.

The graphics are fantastic, which is what drew me here in the first place. Love the cute style. The music is also great. It got me very nervous during the final minute.

Fantastic.

DMinsky says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:20am

Ha-ha, really funny!

Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Very funny, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/kL8oXDGWrLQ

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:26pm

5 stars!!!
Maybe a little difficult to get a very high score manage to get 50%.

LoHii says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Holy crap. The graphics and the sounds are amazing, it's funny, it really hits the theme home. The actual gameplay is fine, but I sometimes felt that I had to focus and force for it to do what I want. I am extremely amazed that all of this was accomplished in 72 hours, or less.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:27am

DUDE! This is SO FUN! XD That feeling of urgency, running around like crazy tidying up everything for a surprise visit! It's so much fun (when doesn't happen in real life, at least). :)

Great work on the pixel art, animations are great, overall art is beautiful! The work done in the audio, effects and soundtrack is also superb, really fit well! :)

My only complain is some of the interactions, since I often dropped stuff on the ground or couldn't pick things up right away. But it's just a minor thing.

Nice work! :D

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 1:05am

Very nice entry. Especially graphics and animation.
I think I would have scored better than C and 74% if it was not mum but my date who would come over to inspect my place ;-)

Pusty says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 6:15am

this was a great game! had fun playing it

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Played version 1.0. Really fun game, though picking up things can be pretty hard sometimes, and cleaning up things might've worked better if you could hold down the button instead of mashing. Love the art and music, the whole aesthetic is just darling. Great work!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 9:38pm

This was really fun!!! The only problem I had was with the control and the detection of interactable things which I think should be just a tiny bit looser. But the concept is a great one and the execution is really good! Nice job! ;D

Jan 2, 2017 @ 8:55am

Another great polished entry, loved the graphics and animations had such charm with its little movements. Was only able to get 76% but kept improving each turn as I figured out more which kept me trying again.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]