Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Survive

by rayriver - Compo Entry

You are captured by some alien creature, trapped in a room. Fortunately, you found a gun. Now it's time to escape the room!

Controls

WSAD: Move
Mouse Move: Aim
Mouse Left Key: Shoot
Collect Gears to upgrade your abilities!

Tools:
Unity 5.5.0
Aseprite
sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#42Fun3.91
#140Overall3.64
#214Mood3.30
#230Graphics3.39
#246Audio3.00
#289Theme3.63
#340Humor2.32
#549Innovation2.30

Comments

NikSorvari says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:05am

I was immediately drawn in by the screenshot, I'm a big fan of top down games and think they have great potential. Solid game for a compo, Great sound, visuals and control. Solid upgrade system. Things to add/improve: various AI patterns, different weapons (you probably didn't do these due to the time limit) good job!

resty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:43pm

很不错的作品,上手很容易,玩起来比较有意思,不过在意识到可以升级之前怪真的有点打不动。就是玩久了一直在绕圈缺少一点变化

然后就是AI稍微有点问题,怪都可以卡住(最后Boss也被我卡死了。。。

在两天能添加这么多元素很不错了,画面也不错,很好的作品。

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:51pm

用笔记本的触摸板通关了!
一款很完整的顶视角射击游戏,我觉得节奏可以再快一些,7个wave有点拖沓,可以更快进入精彩的boss战。
一开始没发现可以升级,升级后难度大幅降低了,另外右侧两把椅子可以卡主怪。

Rainbow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Nice Game. Hit sense is great, A very complete game with great sound ,nice art and upgrade system.

DeqingLi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:38am

作品完成度很高,COMPO能做成这样真不错,很有玩Enter the Dungeon感觉

加个地面翻滚闪避可能更有操作感?

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:42am

Well done! It is not the most original idea, but it is executed very well. The upgrade system is balanced very well. It adds enough power to notice the improvement, but you're not overpowered.
I like how the furniture gives you powerups.
I like this!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:48am

Not the most innovative game, but still really well done! It's a really solid top-down shooter. The effects, the shooting, and the screenshake all make a really good-feeling game.

Definitely could have benefited from some pathfinding on the enemies. They got stuck on corners really easily and you could just snipe them.

It also wasn't clear how to upgrade the weapons. Didn't realize that I had to click on the icons in the bottom to do it until wave 4.

I did beat it, great job!

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:48am

This is a really solid game. The art is nice, the sounds are good, and the gameplay feels responsive and balanced. It was challenging but not frustrating, which is a difficult balance to hit. The enemy AI could be better, you can easily get an enemy stuck on a corner where you can shoot it but it can't shoot back. It would also be nice to have multiple weapons.

Good job overall!

Spencer Alves says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:50am

It's very fun, and I love the pixel art! The AI could use a bit of work, and I didn't like how my aim was a bit off-center.

Kurang says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:27am

Audio effect is really nice, graphic is simple but consistent which gives good atmosphere.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:38am

Nicely-executed top-down shooter! Keeps you on your toes. Really fun!

titomakanijr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:37am

Wow that boss has a lot of health! Anyways this was a fun little game if not a little safe. I would have liked to see more variance in the gameplay as some others mentioned, but for a compo game this functions rather nicely. It would also be a great building block for something bigger.

erikiene says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:54am

Engaging game, couldn't stop until I completed it, great work!

art9 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:20am

很不错的作品,玩起来手感很好,难度也比较适中,一玩就停不下来了。就是AI有些小问题,可以把怪卡在一些地方无伤打。不过我还是喜欢冲出去biu biu biu ~~

YE Zitao says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:29am

Compo能够做成这样实在不容易,美术虽然不是特别惊喜,但是颇具风格。以及音效和爆炸带来的屏幕的反馈也让这个游戏显得多汁~
让我想起了小时候在4399喜欢玩的僵尸危机3,加入的升级系统的技能点更是丰富了可玩性!
大概是因为子弹速度的设置,还是有点挑战的,
很有意思,也非常的完整。

by 叶默哲w

harusame says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Oh nice entry, it's a fun game !

Sound, controls and graphics are good !
It's a bit hard for me, I die each time at the wave 5-6 ^^'

great job !

TheFudster says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:23am

Solid game. Could use more enemy types. Was also easy to lure enemies into positions where they couldn't fight back.

panu says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:53am

It is a very solid top down shooter. Levels are balanced and mechanics work. I really liked the destructible environment aspect!

I hope there were few second pauses between the waves for shopping and i think the last level was easier than the second to last, since the "boss" had such a low range that it was easy to run away. In a big context these are very minor complaints.

Also i found it a bit strange that aliens captured me in a office/meetingroom/bedroom complex instead of alien ship or something :D

siryakko says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:48am

Excellent Top Down Shooter, i love the genre, you should continue working on the game and improve what you can to have a full awesome experience.

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Really fun top-down shooter! I got to the end boss with maxed out power.

It was a bit too easy to get stuck to the furniture, though.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:07am

挺不错的一个射击小游戏,我基本能无限玩下去。不过玩起来好像有点卡,可能是webgl的原因?

Greemax says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:14am

Pretty cool top down shooter. Had fun playing it. Nice audio and art. The gameplay feels good. I would like to play it with an improved AI. Keep going!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:55am

Super fun compo entry ! There isn't any missing feedback, the artstyle is simple but effecient, same for gameplay but mechanics feel well executed and pretty smooth

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Nice entry. Good art, music and gameplay :)
Enemies are a bit dumb and often stuck in some places, final boss often stuck around big table, so it is easy to kill him :)

Louspirit says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Amazing!!! I really liked the dynamism of this game. The art is very good, the environment well though, the ennemies well balanced and so the boss! You're all good, continue.
I found too late that I could stay clicked on the mouse button, when my finger was broken after spamming lol

Tanton-XHX says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:57am

nice design about the enviroment,but wave2 have a super strong ememy,can not destory and easy killed me.. sadly:<
btw,the camera shaking is great! so juicy

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]