Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Another Time or Place

by Kris with a K - Compo Entry

You've been fighting with your S.O.
A house of one room can still be a house divided.
Get rid of every memory of them, or reconcile, but do something, because you can't sleep like this.

WASD to move, space to interact, esc to pause/unpause
PLEASE NOTE NOTHING ACTUALLY HAPPENS ... if you want to play to see what could have been, I appreciate constructive feedback!

Thanks to Irkalla and Superbrothers for sprite inspiration.
Thanks to Bacon, Max Cahill, and Nuclex Games for coding assistance and tutorials.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Graphics4.50
#45Theme4.29
#619Overall2.38
#1199Coolness36%

Comments

SpaceRelated says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:34am

I hope you do more with this, the art is very good and the concept is very cool!

Falkreon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:36am

This game ALMOST got there. I see where it's going, you flip down pictures to clear the air and brighten the room. I even just pushed one of the tables out of the room. I feel better already!

The pixel art and visibility-based lighting are fantastic. I want to see a post-compo version of this some day.

FiloGC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:47am

I'm a bit lost, I'm not sure if it's kind of a concept work or the logic is not finished. The graphics look good though.

Viperfish9 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:31am

Love the art style.
Also, tables: http://imgur.com/a/TcyR5

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:58am

Looks interesting, but if I understand correctly, it's unfinished right?

Kris with a K says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Yeah, it's unfinished unfortunately! I do not want to waste anyone's time!

Thanks to all of you for trying it anyways, glad the art is appreciated!

Falkreon, I'm thinking about making a post compo version! We'll see, I have another project going on but I do want to take this somewhere.

Viperfish, awesome hahah! Try putting in a "T" somewhere, an unfinished feature.. (that hopefully won't cause any crashes)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:38am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:47am

I like the art and the concept! The core mechanics feel good. You should definitely take the time to make this feature complete if you can.

hermetic says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:11am

Interesting idea. Seems like it could use some in-game story-telling. Maybe the actions could be narrated by the character. kind of like "I always hated this picture"..or "Maybe I should get some clothes on before the neighbors think I some kind of crazy person."... etc...

Geti says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:48am

Hey :) I still wish I had that carpet!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Gorgeous spritework, and I love the lighting/whatnot effect on the floor, very nice looking. Please finish the game, I would love to try it out! The walking animation is the only slightly stilted thing in a very pretty game/tech demo/whatnot.

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:26am

I really like the art style and color pallet - You should def. keep working on this. I didnt ever see the dude- I pushed the table around though- and put a shirt on :)

Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:54am

The art is really really lovely.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:05pm

not sure where this is going but I really liked the artwork. nice effort.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]