Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Hello I am Orb

by Arowx - Compo Entry

Left Mouse to Select Unit, Left Mouse to Target Enemy With Selected Unit

WASD move camera, camera turns with mouse.
Zoom Mouse Scroll Wheel or R/F keys.

You have a fleet they have a fleet, do battle to save the Earth.

No Music / SFX / or Explosions

Made with Unity

Note the itch.io version is an ongoing WIP the LD entry is the in page WebGL version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#106Graphics3.84
#225Innovation3.37
#247Humor2.71
#375Mood2.94
#377Overall3.16
#457Theme3.21
#481Fun2.74
#1421Coolness26%

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:17am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

hildegain says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:03am

Pay $10 to a group of people who have 95 hits on their website to review your game? Cool! Nope.

This game feels awkward and clunky but it's about the best you can hope for with this kind of game in such a short time. The artwork is nice and the ship designs are pretty sweet.

So yeah, you've got something here but yeah, game jams aren't about releasing something $20 worth :D

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:01pm

nice idea only the controls make it unplayable for me,

fauche_j says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Nice to play but controls are really hard for me

Ampera says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Interesting idea, great for being the compo, but the controls are rubbish, and it's hard to select and target units. It really would have made sense as a 2D game.

sunesson.emil says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Cool game but i think it would have been alot better with a static view, nice graphics

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:11pm

I saved the earth, YAY! The controls took me a while to get used to but eventually it was good. The enviroment and ships look nice but some basic sound effects and a simple explosion could add to the experience greatly. Overall i enjoyed my time with this game. Good job!

ceosol says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:54pm

I agree that it needed something more for controls. Unity-made basic controls are usually crap on most people's computers. Since this is more of an RTS, you really need a way to select multiple ships at a time. The enemy AI is able to control every single ship at once and it basically makes it impossible to play. Also, you did not follow the theme. Yes, you put a box surrounding the ships with some funny trinkets around. However, you even say "save the Earth" in your description. If you said they were all toys flying around to save the "planet of Badrum" or something, that would have been both funny and focused on the theme.

All of that being said, I think you have the start of a great game here. Once you fix the controls and make it so the enemy AI has the same limitations as the player, this will be a great game to play. Please continue developing it.

Emkiusz says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:49pm

A little hard to play, because of cursor not locked in the middle of screen, but still, for a Ludum Dare game looks great.

Wan says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 1:44pm

It's too bad the control made it unplayable because it's would have been a very good entry.
I like the Graphics that are very good and even more for a compo entry.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]