Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

INFINIROOM

by Patacorow - Jam Entry

A single-room infinite runner.

-----

CONTROLS:
Z/Up/Space - Jump
F (windows only) - Fullscreen
M - Mute
* This game has controller support.

-----

CREDITS:
Mati Ernst (@mati_ernst) - Art
Itamar Ernst (@itamar_ernst) - Art
Jason Lord (@_jasonlord_) - Sound/Music
Yotam Frid (@patacorow) - Code

SPECIAL THANKS:
Sunfury (Rom & Tom)

lonebot.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Theme(Jam)4.55
#13Fun(Jam)4.26
#20Overall(Jam)4.25
#26Audio(Jam)4.21
#55Innovation(Jam)4.05
#112Mood(Jam)3.89
#129Graphics(Jam)4.27

Comments

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Very fun. You did a great job using your time wisely to make something simple but very polished. I enjoyed the game very much but wasn't particularly good at it (clocking in at 38.80 at my best), but it definitely is a game that requires a lot of practice to master.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Really really good. Animations/gameplay/audio all on such a high level of quality and polish. Especially liked the audio. Eventually got past 30sec mark, but at that point the room became 2 tile high which was basically impossible. There were a few more moments that felt super unfair/impossible, but I can imagine it's hard to get that out.
Cool!

wowa_u says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:01am

Simple but polished and has replay value. Overall very cool entry!

skorpyo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:33pm

Iplayed yesterday this game, very addictive. I spend much time playing this game, and i really like it! It was cool, if i had it on my smartphone :)

Chroteus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:41pm

My favourite game of the jam so far. GJ!

TeamSemiColon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Fast paced, easy intuitive controls, pleasing art, gameplay is fun. Nowhere does it mention how the double jump works, but that's easy to figure out with how fast it resets after death. Altogether really well done!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Such a great game, simple but fun and also quite challenging. Fits the theme perfectly. Great job guys :D

Patacorow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:25pm

hey guys, after consulting some peeps on the IRC we've decided to add instructions at the beginning of the game. hope that helps :)

grena says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Very nice. I love all the graphic & sound feedbacks for the player.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:08pm

web version now up!!

unit684 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Amazing job, really fun to play and a nice steep learning curve. The double jump is a bit confusing though.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:33pm

A simple and engaging game! I really enjoyed it, it is an intelligent use of the theme. The gameplay feels tight and is fun.

piller.yann says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:39pm

This game is very addictive and fun ! I think this is a good game for mobile ! If you made a mobile version, send me a message ;-)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:40pm

That lightning animation is pretty sick. :) Loving the music too. Fantastic job!

ScreamRawr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Really well done guys! Super smooth and feels really polished. The gameplay is simple and addictive. Once I figured out how the warping worked (the direction I'm facing matters) I began to improve my time. Overall great game!

Flatgub says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Incredible polish and fun gameplay! I love it! I can definitely tell I'll be losing a lot of time into this!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Wow, honestly one of the best runners I've played (ever, not just LD). Really nice take on the genre. The music art and design all came together really well.

perfectfitz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I really liked this game a lot. The art and music were great too. It has a learning curve, but I felt like it wasn't too hard which was nice. Check out my stream:

https://twitch.tv/perfectfitz

Sawtan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Really awesome entry, can see this at the top position for sure! Great job!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Really addictive, I liked it ! My best score was 35:14. Gameplay is well thought and the game is easy to play.

Great job !

dietzribi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Awesome! Really addictive and would be great on mobile. Graphics and audio are super! yofi tofi bekizur

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Very simple but hard to master mechanic. I got confused with direction change when you double jumped almost every time. I think you definitely need to create a mobile game out of this since it can be played with one button. Graphics and sound are also good. Excellent job.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:59pm

It's very cool ! Really addictive !

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:22pm

This is brilliant! Great work.

I do of course have a problem to point out, as usual, and maybe this time it is just my brain playing tricks on me.

For some reason when I use the super jump I expect the robot to keep running in the same anti-clockwise direction that he starts with, but it flips. Every single time you super jump the direction flips...

This means that the hazard in front of the robot, I was trying to get away from, is still in from of the robot just seen from the other side. That's not helpful, at least to me.

Any chance you could add an alternative jump button where the direction stays consistent after the super jump? Not a fan of the flip, no sir.

GFM says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:26pm

It took me some time to get used to the mechanics (specially about which direction I'd continue running toward after flipping), but then the game provided a pretty great and fun challenge! :)

My best score was 51.50.

Marta Viader says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Nice idea that fits perfectly the theme. It's fun to play and the graphics are really charming. Congrats for this nice work!

Unentokku says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:36am

Fun, one small issue though is that it's kind of easy to misunderstand how destroying blocks works. The first time I destroyed a block was by flipping to it from the opposite side which at early level sizes does work but later when the level got bigger and I tried to do the same and died I was like "I totally flipped right on top of that block, why did I die?" since I though it did the destroy blocks part after flipping (and maybe before it too).
Making the starting of a flip effect clearly more prominent than the end of it might make it more clear which way it works.

grifdail says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Wow ! I didn't expected that ! Really cool ! Nice twist on the runner style and good polished !

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Once you understand how it works - you can't stop playing this game.
Also this would be fun to play on a phone (time to monetize :D).

Mouch says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Can't stop playing!

arcadehero says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Very addictive, man! This is one of my fav entries! AWESOME <3

oultrox says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Really damn polished for a jam game, very simple but addictive game mechanics, your definitel yearned some good score here, everything fits perfectly!

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Really sick game, I'm impressed by the how solid and polished the presentation is. Reminds me of Super Crate Box in a way.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Really great. One might even say rad. I'm not sure what the character is, but it looks cool! Grasshopper, maybe? So simple and perfect. Love the game art and the gameplay in general. Music seemed perfect for the game.

Gumboot says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:28am

Really great game! The gameplay was addicting and I liked the pace of it.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:18am

A really complicated simple game! Clever and fun mechanics, but a little frustrating, especially corners!

theCrancher says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:27am

hey there, i really liked this game, such a simple idea, with really fun gameplay, the only problem, was sometimes it go too hard too fast, but im totally gonna play this again, and beat your high scores

ijzm says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:54am

Great game, the ability to instantly reload after death makes this all the more addicting. I enjoyed the music thoroughly, and the art is pretty good too. I am not the best at this game, but it does seem like a very clever idea.

~Random-storykeeper

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:45pm

By far the most fun entry I've played so far, excellent execution of a good concept. I love the room changing mechanic (which is a tad unforgiving at times!) and the art and music was very solidly done. You don't need me to tell you that you need to make full version of this.

Ellian says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Well, damn, full score.
The music is so good, the retry is instant, and this is some kind of Devil's Dagger level of intense "just one more" gameplay loop.
I'm in love. I'd buy and play this.
Having a simple, tiny but very efficient and very polished game is definitively the way to go! Congrats.

And again, the audio is super good.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:49pm

WOW THAT'S A COOL GAME. PB for now is 52:96 but I'll train a bit during the week-end so I'll beat this 95 seconds thingy. Anyhow, real solid entry!

Karai17 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:39am

Fantastic entry. Improve the AI to be a littl emore fair and sell this!

Splendidus says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Good job! Continue to develop.

StaNov says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:30pm

You just saw me playing your game live. You can watch it again here: https://youtu.be/AAa6rb4l3oI

harusame says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Really fun :)
Great job !

My best is 26 but will do a better score.

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Really awesome gameplay and well polished. No complaints aside from the game being too hard for me, well done.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Amazing - what a great take on the theme. Easily my favorite difficult game this jam. Each time I lost, I immediately had the though "ah, but if I had been clever and done it that way..." which is the key to my heart. Well done! Made it to 33.81

Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Really cool little game! Visuals and audio are fantastic. Excellent work :D

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Great gameplay idea! It's skill ceiling is very high, and it's also very addicting. Awesome graphics too.

Naca says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 6:37am

Well done! Simple mechanic, yet very fun and addictive. I like it!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Really clever idea of a auto-runner, I like the challenge of deciding when to change direction and when to jump. The cybernetic pixel art style is a nice touch.

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 6:33pm

SUPER PROES 5/5

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:56am

I've always wanted to make a game like this for LD that is simple yet totally awesome as well. Very tight gameplay, and intense yet fair. It does definitely require a little getting used to, but that's part of the fun of it!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:24am

nice! Quick and easy to play and makes you want to replay it multiple times to break your own record :D

Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Lovely graphics, fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/kL8oXDGWrLQ

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 6:07pm

5 Stars!!! It is very polished :)

Managed to survive 25 seconds.

Diplodino says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:37am

Really good job, the game is well polished and very fun to play ! Simple mechanic but cool gameplay, a very good entry :)

Piotrek says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Fun and challenging.
Music and sprites are really polished.
Nice entry.

JonathanG says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 6:19pm

This is a great game - compelling enough to keep you coming back even after failing many times. It's quick to restart and have another go. Looks and sounds nice too!

Obvious_San says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Excellent, fun and addictive. I love the art, especially the effects.

- randomhuman

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 11:09pm

This was incredibly addictive to play. The controls were simple but intuitive and the whole game mechanics were so well designed.

handoharken says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 10:24pm

Awesome entry! feels polished and I like it's simplicity. Music and art are great, I'd love to see this turned into an app.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 10:53pm

Really well done. I had fun playing it. Clever and polished ++

Ithildin says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 12:40am

Amazing entry. The concept was simple, but super effective, and implementation is solid. I can totally imagine this as a full release, and since the control is so simple it could even work on mobile platforms.

I've clocked at 36:96 so far, but I still feel like playing a bit more.

Great, great job! Congrats!! :D

HotByteDog says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 12:59am

Most innovative control of all entries.
Audio Theme is great, too.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:55am

Such a clever game, really enjoyed it although thought the placement of blocks at times made it a bit difficult to keep progressing. The controls feedback was great and the visuals worked so well. One of my favourite entries so far.

Spab says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:01pm

Liked the artstyle, but the jump was a bit hard getting used to

guckstift says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:41pm

Really fun and swift game. Nice job!

yuigoto says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:51pm

Really fun, kinda addictive and pretty challenging too! And nice take on the theme! :D Didn't expect to see an infinite runner here in one room, but plays really nice! :)

The pixelart is really cool, animation is also pretty well done and the soundtrack really gets you in the mood! Controls are simple, but perfect, and pretty responsive!

Good job there! :D

pkenney says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:38pm

Very strong entry here with a great polish on the graphics sound and catchy music, plus tight controls and an interesting mechanic.

I never managed to get to 30 seconds, and I think there were maybe two things that got in my way.

Because this game is so excellent and has great potential I'll dive into the problem I had, but this is not meant to say it's a bad game - it's only because it's a good game I go into detail here!

#1 problem I had was effectively using the flip mechanic. 90% of my deaths were jump-jump-gameover I have no idea why. Even after playing for quite some time I still could not explain to you which traps will be destroyed when I flip. There's a lightning bolt drawn as I go, and I think it kills traps near where I leave, but also maybe long the way? Sometimes I thought it killed traps near where I landed, but then I kept dying trying to flip to smash traps so I soon learned not to try to do that. I even stopped playing for the goal a while just to experiment with flip-smashing traps but I still couldn't figure it out. I would recommend that you put a sub-second pause into the game at the moment of trap-smashing so the brain can pause a beat and learn. Or maybe some tighter association between the graphic and the gameplay effect... altho it flashes so fast I really can't tell exactly what it touches.

I also wished the flip was a separate button instead of jump-twice, because I often got a little extra confused because of the effect of the pre-flip jump.

Certain confusions were actually fun for me... for example learning why I cannot just flipflipflip was a nice moment. First I noticed I couldn't re-flip immediately, then I noticed the graphical trail as I ran, then I noticed the little ball. I never figured out the red zone though... sometimes it would expand the map, other times not. Sometimes if I was on it I died, other times I think I survived. Maybe I misread the situation to be confused about that.

Exploring the mechanics was fun, and fortunately you made the smart design choice to have an INSTANT restart which felt totally excellent.

Very strong entry, if you smoothed off just one or two small burrs I think you could really streamline this.

Gipzo says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:27pm

Awesome game. Awesome art, music and sfx. Also loved visual effects :)
It's a pretty challenging entry :)
Only complain is that green ball sometimes drops near traps and it is impossible not to die.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:39pm

Seriously one of my favorites from the jam. Great work. I wish there was a category just for feel because you knocked that out of the park. All of the sound effects and visual stylings all worked in favor of the original concept. Great work. Really difficult to put down.

Infin8 says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 2:56am

Awesome stuff! Great tightly polished idea. I love how you did the difficulty increase by gradually making the size of the room bigger.

Feb 7, 2017 @ 7:30pm

Pssst - you have been featured on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bAstSDhVeLE

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]