Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The Princess Trap

by David Cookie - Jam Entry

/!\ Add a post compo version with a harder difficulty (but don't give your notations based on that).

---------

A princess imprisoned in a room.. or is she? Use your traps cleverly to expel the suitors/knights.

---------

Only use right and left arrows to move and space for the rest. Each lever activates a different trap (which needs to reload). Once the night has come and all the knights are expelled, you can either upgrade one of your traps or repair your door.

If the knights break your door, the game is over.

The game has no end, you just have to resist as long as possible.

---------

It was a tough jam. 1 day passed without an idea, and I had a train to take on monday so I had to finish this quickly! Nevertheless, I'm pretty happy with the result :) Hope you'll enjoy it!

---------

Twitter: @messire_Cookie

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#224Audio(Jam)3.50
#282Theme(Jam)3.85
#285Humor(Jam)3.03
#348Innovation(Jam)3.29
#478Mood(Jam)3.21
#532Overall(Jam)3.21
#571Fun(Jam)2.94
#708Graphics(Jam)2.79

Comments

dodormeur says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:10pm

The idea of the princess traping the knight is cool, and the gameplay is nice.
It could use a little more polish and difficulty though

Bellatrion says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Nice game ! I love the music and the atmosphere it creates.

harusame says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Nice idea, good game but it's a bit repetitiv and it could be better with more polish.

Good mood and I like the music and sounds :)

antishow says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Not bad! Took a bit to understand the differences between the traps.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Pretty fun little game! Gets repetitive pretty fast though. The sound effects are great! Good entry.

HoraceRIBOUT says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:23pm

A really fun game, but did it have a end ? I make like 4 days, and it's get too repetitive...

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Aha yeah, it's becoming quickly repetitive xD I made this in like.. 10-15 hours.. so I had to finish it quickly and didn't have time to make objectives nor waves whatsoever. I just tried to polish the concept with a maximum of feedbacks. I'm glad that you like it anyway :)

ARuculaDoMal says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:57pm

really nice idea and music! But the mechanic gets repetitive

Swordbrella says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:11am

I kind of liked it at the beginning but later on I found out that it was all about pressing the levers when lots of enemies get together and then wait for the cooldown to end, so I can press the lever again

shnitzhell says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:18am

Good sounds, creates good atmosphere. gameplay needs a little work but overall the idea is simple and very fun 2 play!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:31am

Aahah, this is a nice idea ! Love the flying soldiers idea. Would have been great with a scream sound effect XD

Lack a bit of challenge in my opinion, but really nice idea !!!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Really nice idea that fits well with the theme.
The control room aspect of the game is really interresting and wel executed.

good job :)

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Hey that was pretty good, nice to see a Construct game here. It's simple but efficient and the concept is well executed. (hello de indiemag)

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:25pm

What sticks out to me here is the animation out the window. There's something very atmospheric about the way you can kinda see the trap going off and tell it's a big thing that's happening, but without having to show all of the effects. It works well. The game itself was very easy - to test I tried playing with only the rock slide trap, upgrading it every time and just mashing space on it forever, and I eventually quit because it looked like I wouldn't lose with that strategy. Definitely a neat take/perspective on tower defense though!

leondryaso says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Actually a nice and simple game, I like your interpretation of the theme. Good job!

Zgragselus says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Very nice game! Got repetitive really fast though.

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Cool game and nice idea , i think it need more polish to have a better feel and kinda sense what happens to the knights when i kill them :D

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Good entry and nice use of theme. Not being able to see the enemies coming works well with the princess being trapped inside. Wasnt sure how to choose between upgrading and repairing but im assuming that was just a feature that didnt make it...

Sean says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Nice entry considering the even shorter than usual dev time! Incorporating the theme by limiting the view was a clever way to make the most of your resources, though it does unfortunately make the game get repetitive fairly quick. One of the best parts of tower-defense games is when things really start to ramp up and the enemies and defenses visually get increasingly chaotic, but you don't really get the same effect here.

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Great idea to put everyone behind the wall so you don't need to draw everything! :) It was quite fun to play and imagine what's happening. Good job!

Quetzakol says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:18am

Fun little idea, with nice sounds and music ! But it gets too repetitive and difficulty is way too low, after 12 days no knight had managed to reach the door so I stopped.

axoona says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:23pm

its quite nice based an the time you have spent on this game!
I really liked the music.
and big up for "Girls don't need a knight to save them" :)

I resisted 12 days! ;)

Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:18pm

I really like the style, it makes me feel like I'm playing a game on fuzzy felt! I feel with a bit more time spent on it it'll be a very nice phone game, very unique concept, enjoyed! Well done :D

Dec 22, 2016 @ 12:48am

Fun! I really like the great animations (old school) and straightforward mechanics.

I would definitely play an expanded version of this.

Dec 28, 2016 @ 9:20pm

I liked the game though I felt it was a bit too easy as I got to day 6 without the knights ever reaching the door. Good job though :)

Almax27 says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 9:17pm

Nice idea! Gameplay was a bit slow for me though and I couldn't really tell the mechanical differences between the traps (visuals were cool though). Also excellent music.

pkenney says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:54pm

Nice game! I enjoyed the initial moments of wondering what the heck was going on, until I figured it out.

I reached a pretty steady state by upgrading the spring each time to buy time for my other traps... I made it to day 9 without taking a hit, so I guess maybe a bit more difficulty is required. It was a fun experience along the way, though! Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]