Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

CrateBlaster

by Bacontree - Compo Entry

A puzzle game where you shoot crates and gather stars. You can't stop walking, and if you walk in to a crate you lose.

W, A, S, D, or arrow keys to move
Space, control or left mouse to shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Graphics3.94
#372Humor2.17
#435Mood2.76
#451Fun2.84
#463Theme3.19
#470Overall2.97
#542Innovation2.35
#1655Coolness14%

Comments

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:36am

Cool game. I like the art style that you went with, and the only thing I would suggest if you decide to expand on this would be adding some sounds!

Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:39am

Nice Art!

mikesean45 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:09am

Loving the art style!

KadaDev says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:12am

fun game! Wish there was a score counter

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:02am

I'm really terrible at this game. The character looks adorable.

MestR says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:58am

Nice graphics. The gameplay was kinda annoying though. You had to keep pressing the fire button even though there wasn't any penalty for doing so, the only downside was that you got tired.

siryakko says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:07am

Nice graphics, quite fun game, needs more challenge or scoring :D

Ithildin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:05pm

I really liked the game idea. At the beginning I thought controls weren't responding, then I realised that it waits until the intersections.

Graphics are cool as well, although the scene felt a bit detached. Maybe repositoning the camera so it gets closer to the eye could help? The lighting, too, could use a bit of work so the game elements become clearer.

Good job!

ccglp says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Graphics are great, loving the chibi character

Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Reminds me of an old Snake game I used to play on an IBM Thinkpad. A decent little mini-game.

Alex says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Nice graphics, and I liked the relatively unique spin on the "snake" gameplay. Some music and sound effects would've been nice though, even if they're just bfxr/sfxr sounds. Combined with the motionless camera, the overall mood suffered, in my opinion.

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Very cute and good lookig.
It's kind of hard to know where the next box will fall though.
Great entry!

Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Good looking game and nice concept. :) And the character is really cute ! XD

Commands are sometime a bit slow to respond and some shoots are going through the crates.

rplnt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Took me a while to figure out how to better control it (I used presses instead of hold). Stars could fall faster after I gathered the previous one. Nice setting, everything fits well together (models, lights, colors).

Bacontree says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:34pm

KadaDev and siryakko: There is a score counter, but it didn't show in the small frame above. I increased the size of the frame so it's visible now.

Everyone: Thanks for all the nice comments! :)

Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:43pm

I like 3D implementations of 2D gameplay, and this one looks pretty nice. At first I didn't know I could shoot and was a bit annoyed that the game could randomly become impossible. Though with the shooting it gets a bit trivial instead.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Funny little game with a clever concept. A nice casual game which could be better with sounds. However it is good. Well done ++

batmanasb says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:58pm

The controls are a little weird. I'd recommend going the pacman route of memory controls, like where you press one key and it turns in that direction as soon as it can. Right now it's just going all over the place for me :P

Barink-social says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Got a bit confused here first, but picked up the controlls very fast. [S] key seems to do nothing for me.(playing the webgl version). I love the graphics though. GG

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:25am

Nice art work, challenging game play, good effort.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]