Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The Infinite Sorrow of a Heartbroken Mind

by Viperfish9 - Compo Entry

This is an experimental game *cough* walking simulator *cough* about exploring the last thoughts of a man who is distraught with his loss.

Controls are:
WASD/Arrows to move
E to interact
X to zoom



(If you are stuck with what to do, interact with the pages)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Mood3.94
#126Audio3.41
#141Graphics3.67
#181Innovation3.50
#284Overall3.33
#428Theme3.28
#492Fun2.69
#1071Coolness41%

Comments

erikiene says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:07am

...I used "*cough* walking simulator" in the same exact way in my submission, thinking I was original somehow.

Amazing game btw - the idea (both spacial and narrative), the atmosphere, the model, even the basic soundtrack that fit the piece real well. Good work!

Xinelu says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:46am

I get some lag at the beginning but it work after some time. It has more than one room, but a enjoy the mood! good work!

victorcrafty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:53am

I have some lag , but i like your graphic

BigSean says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:54am

Loved it! I don't know what it is, or how to do anything, but it was cool

KadaDev says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:07am

Had trouble finding what to interact with and how, zooming seemed to work sometimes?

I was surprised by the progression here, felt some feels

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:31am

I was down to like 3-5 FPS the whole time. :/
I also noticed a lot of physics glitches. XD

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:37am

Very well polished! I love the art style, it's cohesive and not obvious that this game was made in 48 hours. :)
The interaction hitboxes on the pages was totally busted for me, it was a lot of guesswork and eventually I figured out I had to aim up and to the left, but it had me wondering if anything even happens in this game for a while.
I think this is a good walking simulator, the presentation is fantastic. The wall shifting animations is a cool way to evolve the story, but it doesn't quite fit the theme of one room. I personally think the worst part of this is actually the writing: boy loses girl into suicide is a played out combo imo, and there's not anything especially good about the execution here. It is, however, a Ludum Dare, and congrats on finishing such a polished entry!

Viperfish9 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:12am

Yah sorry everyone for the fps and collision problems :P. Trust me there were other things I tried and out of them this is the best that I could come up with in the time. Agreed the story is trash and it doesnt /really/ fit in the theme but I designed a mechanic without a game which I now think is a bad idea.
Nevertheless thanks for reviewing.
Regards,
V

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:22am

I just love the polish of the animations and the way that things shift from one shape to another. I love the concept of infinite repetitive items and the feedback you get when you solve one piece of the puzzle.

Everything ran fine on my machine, but I have a good video card so I can't speak for others. Otherwise, I also loved the mood and while the music was a bit repetitive, everything felt very cohesive and super polished.

On the downside, I had a bunch of collision issues and sometimes things were a bit odd...

Otherwise, full stars ahead, Cheers :)

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Not my type of game, but some might like it

NuSan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:22am

Great game, I like the changing scenery. Having the zoom button on screen would have made it more obvious, as it's a core part of the experience. Some minor collisions bugs, but handle several rooms at the same place may not be easy. Story was well writen, but sharing though with that brutal guy in pain was not fun. Keep up the good work !

Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:47am

Nice little experience you made there. Took me a while to figure out what was going on but I start getting emotionally involved, pretty cool entry despite of little bugs.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]