Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Fish

by PickleCrew - Jam Entry

The Last Fish.
Ludum Dare 37 is under way and your owner is working hard on his game. As your owner over indulges, and his work continues to consume his life, he starts to forget to feed you. Fight for your survival, eat to live, be the last fish.


Controls:
Use Mouse left-click to move fish/eat

Tools Used
Programming
- Eclipse (java)
- libGDX (framework/ engine)

Graphics
- Photoshop
- Paint.net

Music
-Fl Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#67Humor(Jam)3.83
#167Audio(Jam)3.65
#233Mood(Jam)3.63
#290Theme(Jam)3.84
#309Fun(Jam)3.38
#316Innovation(Jam)3.34
#326Overall(Jam)3.52
#539Graphics(Jam)3.28

Comments

ACCBDD says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:59am

The music and audio is great!

Eviternity says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:49am

I really love the music. 10/10

Levin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:31am

I like the sound and graphic. Interesting concept and a fish that looks like Trump.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:58am

Wow i loved being a fish A+

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:39am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:43am

Oh god why. The fish tank is filled with blood now. Blood and bones and the wails of the restless dead. You monster.

(Also the music is good.)

haxxero says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:47am

lol i also made a aquarium game but we went completely separate ways. It was pretty fun and i can appreciate you making your own music for it but honestly it was kind of piercing and annoying since you noticed the loop very clearly. Also i mostly heard the music through my right headphone, but that might just have been my headphones? I can appreciate the effort put into it though : )

Pockysaurus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:04am

I love the graphics and the music on this, the orange fish is adorable but the fish tank is so cute and simple too

Kyuuki says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:05am

I like the cute looking fish, buff fish is okay too.
Music is 10/10 and super sexy

Kyuuki says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:14am

The game directive is pretty interesting from other games I've seen with the concept of fish as it's something you're not really expecting when you get to the end...Aside from the fantastic music and simple design it was a generally fun game

UekiShurei says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:44am

The owner of the fish is a monster. Quick, kill him before he spawns!

Joking aside, interesting concept, awesome graphics and sound. I like how the aquarium gets dirtier dy day 3.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:47am

This is a fun little game. Sound and graphics are on point. Game play is a bit simplistic. Also, near the end, the bones of the other fish seem to be able to block you from getting to other fish to eat, which can cause some issues.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:46am

I ate my brethren... I'm not proud. The audio was really nice.

quiv says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:50am

Very neat idea that you're competing with all the other fish for food, and also that you recreated the aquatic version of Hamlet :P Cool work!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:42am

Hahahahaha he he must have made a shitty game! It was fun, but too easy, and I was hoping the darkness was an effect for if you're about to die!

ZQMony says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:44am

Nice little game. I really liked the idea behind the game.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:58am

High five, fellow fish friend! Loved the gradually deteriorating music, it greatly helped the mood already there with the theme and graphics.

ijzm says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:13am

It was near the end when I had to resort to cannibalism that I wasn't exactly sure what I had to do. I tried eating, but it didn't restore my health much, and at times, even touching the fish just moved them around. I also wasn't able to reach fish that had been pushed to the bottom of the tank.

That aside, I did have a lot of fun in the first few stages. I love the change in music from happy to dissonant and twisted. Very fitting. The main character fish is funny looking and I like that a lot. I am curious as to how the owner of the fish was able to feed them constantly for the first few stages while remaining at his computer all that time, lol. Why couldn't he perform that same magic before all the fish died? And these seemed like regular feeding methods to me.

haha, overall, I enjoyed the dark humour.

~Random-storykeeper

tylerraz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:33am

Poor fishies. I love how the tank gets nasty. The little fishes messages were great, although a little spammy.

jerwil says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:52am

Very funny, and decently fun to play! It's a lot more morbid than it seems at first, but that makes it even funnier. Good work!

hunttis says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Well wasn't this a surprise :D At first I was kinda annoyed at the short music loop, but once day 2 arrived, I figured out where you were going with it and then it started to get really gloomy :D I think it would've been better if you wouldn't have noticed where the loop resets (there's a slight pause).

Didn't survive the last day, couldn't quite reach everyone in time, but a funny (and gloomy) idea anyway :D

ceosol says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:04pm

You had me cracking up. I was live streaming it last night and just laughing my head off, especially eating my brothers.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:02am

I died ): This had a lot of nice little touches, good job!

davisan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:26pm

I liike it. It has a very dark mood in end. haha
The controls are easy and it has a nice music. Good job! :D

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:53pm

My fish was so buff, he clearly has a stock of protein shakes stashed away somewhere. I guess he needed the other food to carb blast. Cool game, hopefully your fish are okay.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Aw man, this is so depressing! Nice art, I enjoyed this.

MementoGames says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:53pm

I am a very weak fish :(
Nice little game you got there!
Loved the art and music. Keep rocking!

Naca says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Oh man, this game is much more hardcore than what it seems at the beginning :'( Hope that is not based on a true story :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]