Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Kitchen Defender Ants Attack!

by KunoNoOni - Compo Entry

Kitchen Defender Ants Attack!

You've stocked the Pantry full of delicious snacks for the Ludum Dare this weekend. Unbeknownst to you genetically enhanced ants from another dimension have targeted your Pantry and are mounting an army to come steal all your snacks! As they arrive they are surprised to see you have a robotic armored tank guarding the Pantry. With some high pierced chattering the ants attack!

Controls
You can control the tank with the A or the D key. The Left and Right arrow keys also work. This will move the tank left or right. You can move the turret with the Mouse and the Left Mouse Button will shoot.

Information
Your tank has 100% durability to start with, you lose durability 2 ways. 1. Hitting an ant with the tank 2. Ants getting to the pantry(20% durability loss) . Get to 0% or less and the game is over!

Black ants will hurt your tank for 10% of durability

Red ant will give you Rapid Shot for 10 seconds and hurts tank for 15% durability

Green ant will give you Triple Shot for 10 seconds and hurts tank for 15% durability

It is possible to get both at the same time, getting multiples does not reset or add time to the timer.



I haven't tested the Mac or the Linux builds, they are both the universal builds though. Also the volume of all the sounds and music is set to full, I apologize as I meant to lower them but completely forgot to. Good luck and thank you for playing. Don't forget to leave feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#348Audio2.67
#348Fun3.10
#397Humor2.00
#405Theme3.33
#503Overall2.90
#515Mood2.42
#546Graphics2.33
#568Innovation2.14
#893Coolness46%

Comments

Michalidis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:06pm

The game window was almost too big for my computer :D :D
Anyway, that's the type of game I wanted to see right now! very nice and simple one with some power ups :D
the only downside is the fact I wasn't able to see a custom cursor in game... other than that, I am giving you a high rating on fun element :P

nicruo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:33pm

First: Hard game. Only reached wave 7, after 5 times. I suck :P
Second: Really on theme: It's a room, a kitchen room, loved it.
Loved that you have instructions on the game, very professional.
The audio is funny, and match the kind of game.
My only issue was the controls. Other than that, hard but fun game.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:54am

GG I like the nice hard game and it's unusual pick of places for this LD

Megalink says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:05am

Kind of repetitive and the artwork is quite boring.

hermetic says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:10am

The ants arrived about 4-5 times faster than the tank would respond to shooting. Power ups help, but not completely. Still, it's a complete game. Instructions and everything.

Cody Hansen says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:14am

The game is tough! The cut-off point for the tank is a little too soon with some ants scooting right past it. That is just an opinion, however.
Music fits, and the presentation is very professional.
Simple little game!

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:26am

Pretty enjoyable once I realized I should hold the fire button ;) Also good design choice on not showing a reticule and the background , making it harder to line up shots. Also a pleasant surprise: Different music tracks!

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:27am

I meant "graticule" xD sorry, I'm tired.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:58am

Well made! I would've liked a little more mouse sensitivity, and maybe just have it auto-shoot.. but that's just me. Nice work!

VeryBadBunny says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:39am

Very difficult ... Good use of the theme, I found a HUD a bit confusing, and this messed up a bit of an experience. Other than that, it's to be congratulated!

awesomerex says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:21am

This could be a gameboy game! the power ups were cool! Thanks for the retro goodness.

abezuska says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:22am

Fun game, I like the powerups. The floor needs some moisturizer!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:10am

I appreciate all of feedback you have all given! I am no artist, as you can plainly see :) So I did the best I could with the drawing of the kitchen.

The kitchen is my actual kitchen in my home. On the left you have counter space, the sink and more counter space. On the right is the stove, counter space and the refrigerator. The Pantry you are protecting is behind you. I think if I'd have been able to have drawn the kitchen in a more 3D-ish view that would have stood out more.

For the ants I actually googled ant walk cycle and I was honestly surprised how many websites I found on this subject! HA!

So with the exception of the Kitchen graphics I'm pretty pleased with how the ants and the tank turned out.

Again thank you all for your feedback and thank you for playing my entry!

phoenix1987 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:24am

Great game and use of the theme. Really enjoyed the take on a classic style. In the future an aiming mechanism or different kinds of bugs I think would really bring this game together. Overall well done

HawkSandwich says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:01pm

This is pretty good entry xD
The controls were nice, the game was fairly polished. The sound wasn't great. The gameplay was straightforward. Overall nice entry

antishow says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:05pm

Couldn't run this on Mac OS X (10.12.1). Got this super-helpful message:

The application “KitchenDefender” can’t be opened.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:05pm

The basic gameplay is pretty simplistic, but the powerups and such add some nice extra strategy and polish to the experience! Got to wave 9; I kinda wish there had been a visible crosshair and a bit more enemy variety. Still, good work!

Splendidus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Not bad in my opinion the theme. In order to do this interesting need to enter the levels, bosses and the like. If refined, it will be not a bad project.

KappaIX says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:30pm

My favourite part was the Megadrive-esqe music which changed with each wave, very authentic. Gameplay was solid, everything worked - personally I would have like a cross-hair to line up my shots, but I understand if that was a specific design decision.

Screw those ants!

Well done, thanks for sharing!

Squid says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Fun simple game. Mouse wasn't locked into the window so that caused me to lose a few intense waves. Very much enjoyed, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]