Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Gun Shop Loadout

by Green Soda - Jam Entry

You are a weapon shop owner and you're in a zombie apocalypse.
Zombie apocalypse caused by over-stressed people, they became zombies ..
Everything's a mess and zombies are coming from everywhere...
- Protect yourself and the shop as you sell/give weapons to survivors coming to your shop
- survive for 7 days
- avoid killing survivors, only kill zombies
- Sanity drops when u see survivors die (killed by you or killed by zombies)
Sanity gain when interact with survivors with 'i' icon
- GAMEOVER on death or zero sanity...

CONTROLS:
WASD - movement
Mouse - Aiming and shooting
Spacebar - Interact/Give guns to customers/survivors when they have the 'i' icon

KNOWN ISSUE: Animation jitter when crosshair hovers on player... pls avoid

Creators:
Maekell Ivan Mina (Programmer) - http://maekeruu.tumblr.com/
Jeff Cristobal (Character Artist) - https://www.behance.net/jcristobal
Lex Consolacion (Environment Artist) - https://www.behance.net/lexconsolacion
John Kevin Pineda (Animator) - https://www.artstation.com/artist/jkap38
Joshua Flores (UI Artist)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#76Overall(Jam)3.97
#87Fun(Jam)3.85
#95Graphics(Jam)4.35
#149Mood(Jam)3.81
#183Humor(Jam)3.33
#257Theme(Jam)3.88
#293Innovation(Jam)3.38

Comments

trenchgames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:38am

Good job. I like the survivor and sanity mechanic. Really good art as well. The movement controls took a bit to get use to, but overall a very solid entry.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:01am

Wow, really cool game.
How many people created the game?

Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:04am

Really great concept. It was a bit sluggish for me so I had some difficulty with it, but I like the idea behind it an awful lot.

also dude should probably give up on his business, there seems to be a problem with the walls. And zombies.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:05am

Pretty fun! I liked when customers helped me shoot down the zombies!
But seeing no progression change after each day made it a bit boring after a while.
Adding big wave of zombies at one point or increasing the zombie spawn rate would have been nice! Great work!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:07am

We were 5 people! I updated the description, the members are written there... Check out their profile! :)

Green Soda says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:11am

Well, it has increasing difficulty but I made it subtle as first playthrough, my friends couldnt pass day 4... There soooo much zombies

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:22am

Great top-down shooter! I loved the fact that survivors were able shoot zombies on the way out.

bigpan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:01am

Very nice game. I can picture this with a brilliant multiplayer mode in the future. I seem to have encountered a bug, the zombies just didn't come anymore after a while. And the first day seems eternal.

The controls were a little weird at the start, a little buggy, but it worked out well. The graphics are amazing! Overall I give it a 4/5 :)

Green Soda says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:09am

Ah yes! That's a bug, thanks for reporting... Thank you man!

Saiodin says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:04am

I'd say a great package overall. Art, animation and sound are outstanding. The movement does sometimes feel a bit clunky, but that may be because of the design choice for a slow walking speed. Difficulty-wise I had no problems at all and let survivors get hit on purpose on day 3 to see what it does. I do prefer this sanity system over something like health.

siryakko says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:55am

The experience was such a blast, love the graphic style and would love to have a final version of that game. Keep up the good work

jerwil says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:56am

This is a great, fun game! The art was great, and I thought it was funny how the other survivors ran around. The music fit the mood well, and it was well made. The game even has a pause menu! There were a few bugs away, such as survivors piling up near their "interaction spots" and the zombie groaning just loops during the pause menu. But overall, a very solid game that was fun to beat!

Saiodin says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:00am

Hello again :) An unconventional comment, apologies. I just wanted to thank you for your nice comment on my game. And if you liked it that much, there is an updated version here: https://saiodin.itch.io/bye I didn't wanna put it on ludumdare.com, so it wouldn't interfere with ratings. And if you like to know, I gave you a 5/5 before as well, when I was rating. Have a nice day :)!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:59am

Very polish game, I love the chara design style!
A little bit too repetitive and need a better difficulty curve.

Very good entry overall.

dvdking says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Pretty good.
didn't read description, so I was confused at first, and tried to kill everyone, thought those guys were going to rob me :D

FellowPlayer says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:54am

That was an interesting experience but very exciting to play, I will add this to my Ludum Dar 37 collection. gameplay link is here:

YouTube: Fellowplayer
https://youtu.be/g5Vq9XtUe24

Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:05am

That was pretty cool, lots of features for a jam game. Overall, the game feels good and I really enjoyed it. The artstyle is really eye-candy.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:00am

The game overall is pretty fun, the designs were very clearer (the sanity mechanics and that the zombies will kill the customers if you don't control them fast enough). Love the overall design. The graphics is fantastic. However, the control feels pretty clumsy and it hinders my enjoyment of the game and I kept getting stuck and couldn't kill the zombies faster enough.

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:29am

a great twist on an overdone genre- adding a nice touch making in fresh again. Managing gun sales AND surviving hordes of zombies- pretty clever idea that works well for you. The artwork looks great, game runs smoothly. Very well done and impressive given the time you had to accomplish it- nice work!

JK5000 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:26am

Great humor. Well done.

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:47am

Animations of the main character were little glitchy (possibly because of some bug connected to mouse raycast)
But animations of the zombies and NPCs were really well made! I also like your simplistic graphics style! Good job, I enjoyed playing it! :)

cicanci says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Nice game, well done! It is cool that the customers help after they buy a gun.

AViTT says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Fun game, nice artwork and really good concept well executed. found the pace was quite slow though and other weapons would be a good addition.

Dec 26, 2016 @ 1:29pm

Very nicely polished game though the movement was a bit too slow in my opinion... Still well done :)

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Oh snap! I normally don't expect to see a game that polished when the graphics are in 3d and well done. Honestly the art and animation is great not only for a LD but for a style itself. Its a nice touch that after you give a weapon to a survivor they use it too!

The game itself feels great, If I had to point out something bad would be the controls which they don't always feel as responsive as you'd expect (specially when avoiding obstacles). But hey! The shooting is fun!

Downtown says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 4:00am

looked really good and seems like the seed of a pretty good game. controls were a little wonky sometimes.

jramell says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 4:45am

It looks great. I'd suggest adding a more fitting background music. Although controls felt pretty weird for me, I had fun playing.

Japes says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:45am

No audio category? I thought the audio was pretty good.
Great game, great graphics, sound does just enough to set the mood without interfering. Maybe a bit too easy?

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:42am

Not bad a game. The only issue I encountered is that the movement is sometimes glitchy when you run next to obstacles. You get stuck or slowed down.

With a few different weapons and maybe upgrades, it could be a game worth of publishing.

Well done!

Jan 14, 2017 @ 1:45pm

Nice graphics! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/-i4m-nVpQ4M

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]