Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Roomba Rampage

by PeachTreeOath - Jam Entry

​A fight has broken out in Roomba's living room again!

-Vacuum the dirt patches while avoiding the socks and animals
-Spend dirt money at the store for upgrades
-Clean up 70% of the room to win

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Fun(Jam)4.02
#53Theme(Jam)4.31
#77Humor(Jam)3.80
#78Overall(Jam)3.96
#100Innovation(Jam)3.86
#233Mood(Jam)3.63
#237Audio(Jam)3.47
#404Graphics(Jam)3.58

Comments

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:50am

One of the most interesting concepts I've seen so far- I enjoy how fast you can get going once you build up enough speed! The amount of time it takes to fully upgrade feels just right. And the music combined with the great pixel-art aesthetic makes this game a very enjoyable experience. Great work, and I'd love to play this game again if it was expanded upon with more levels!

Mik3 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:15am

Wasn't expecting to have this much fun playing as a roomba, but I did. Good job!

Mattmatt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:18am

Congrats for making such a good game! I haven't stumbled upon such a creative entry for a while...

Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:15am

Very good use of the theme and fun game to play! Great job!

moomoomang says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:15am

This is a really original idea. Really good feedback, too; sounds, graphics etc.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:26am

Very well done play progression. it was fun to keep playing

psilon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:27pm

It's fun. Good upgrade system, I cleaned the room!

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:08pm

One room, one roomba. Brilliant! I LOVE the background track, it's super catchy and inviting. I think the level design fits the mechanics well, it doesn't stay too long and is satisfying to finish without any grinding appearing at all. Well done!

Levin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:35am

This.
Best concept ever.
way too much fun here. well done!

fdr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:43am

Best music of the whole Jam. I liked all the various things floating around; they provided a challenging course as well as a fair bit of humor as I rolled around vacuuming a virtual carpet.

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:44am

Nice game! Took a while but i made it :) Kangaroo and Pig fighting? :D

DireGoose says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:04am

Really like this one! Great use of theme, has music. solid gameplay. Dogs wiping their buts on carpets, it has it all!

laylow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:08am

Now I want a roomba society where I have to earn enough money or my roomba family will starve...

Great game, music, graphics and humor!

Lucas Knutson says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:11am

Super fun game! I enjoyed it a lot more than vacuuming in real life.

tinykidtoo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:31am

This was extremely fun. Great graphics and audio. Oddly enough this not the only roomba game in this jam. Poopy roomba is the other game.

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:44am

Omg! lol I did not know it would be so satisfying to be a vacuum! The controls were very smooth. The art fits the game along with the sound and the music. Well done indeed!

onixowl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:31am

What a interesting approach to the idea! Really loving it. Kept me playing

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:53am

Ha I made a Roomba game as well. I really like the approach you took on yours. Great character designs on your enemies!

Tezra says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:54am

Had fun going around the pretty big room. Good game!

Kerr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:56am

Really fun, I was disappointment there was not a cat riding the Roomba ... but I loved everything else. Great execution of a clever concept. The game design felt very cohesive and the the upgrade system kept me coming back for more.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:28am

Very fun game with great graphics, gameplay and theme. Recharge feature is brilliant.

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:40am

Really fun and addictive game. I especially loved the music.

Cosmic-Hawke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:43am

That was cool. Really good music. Upgrading might have been a little too easy, it only took me 3 or 4 runs to finish it.

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:21am

Very well done, fun and interesting, good job ^^

Albert Viader says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:28am

Very good idea! That was fun to play :)

Shigor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:27am

Roomba's motto: Suck all the world!
(I had fun vacuuming the room which is kinda surprising...)

Mieeh says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:39am

Love these types of games! Excellent, good work!

Tkachov says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:07pm

I AM A W/A/S/D CONTROLLED ANTI-ALIAS ERASER TOOL AND I'M HERE TO ERASE ALL YOUR DIRT LAYER :DDDDD

erikiene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Very interesting and polished! One of the better roomba games in this LD (for which apparently the theme is "roomba")

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Lovely artwork, cool sound nice idea.
Feels like a session von C64.
I cleaned so much, now my "real life" apartment is a total mess :-D

KadaDev says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Nice use of theme here played it all the way. Nice graphics!

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:35pm

I did it! That room was filthy as hell haha...I wish I had that pro roomba with me always. Good job! I had fun. That kangaroo wasn't expeted at all...lol

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:40pm

This game is fun. I like the dogs, lol. Great gameplay and the sound is very good. Good job.

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Nice game, it's fun, i like the music ^_^

Bejk says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Really liked the concept, good work!

Moritz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:03pm

That was fun. Especially when I saw the guy sparring with a kangaroo in his flat, haha!

The upgrades get really powerful really quick, which makes the game nice and frantic and gives the player a good feeling of power.

I loved the silly dogs in the referee shirts. And rhumba music, from the sounds of it!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:17pm

i'm glad that isn't my living room, nice take on the theme!

Aun says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Love the game, definitively funnier than cleaning my own room :) Graphics are very nice, I liked the kangaroo in the middle of the room. Controls are very nice. Here are some things you could improve: increase the robot capabilities more smoothly: on one step I had almost nothing but I had so much money I was able to buy a lot of things and finish the game. Also, you could make the robot invincible after being hit, it case you get stuck in a corner or between two enemies.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Controls are great, upgrade system is neat. Lots of variety in the obstacles/ areas to clean. Great work all around!

bradur says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:54pm

A really well executed idea! The graphics and sounds all fit together nicely. I didn't encounter any glaring bugs. Good job!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Spent quite a lot of time getting upgrades and cleaning up this room actually. :) I would have liked more time to indicate that my battery was low. Seemed like once I got the color shift and beeping sound I had no hope of getting home. ...unless that too is an upgrade I missed, in which case, disregard. Great game!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:03pm

really addicting, nice job!

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:41pm

nice! is that the kangaroo that is being punch by a guy in youtube reference?

leondryaso says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Nice, simple and fun game. Awesome take on the theme :D

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:40pm

Whoa! Awesome game.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Hey, original idea :) I love it.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Balance feels just right, the overall concept is as unique as it could be)

negativice says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Very fun, kept me playing until i won. Got 70% with 0% battery left :D

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:25pm

great game, the enemies are crazy!?! good imaginations!

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:03am

Neat game! Perspective of the sprites feels a bit off though. Kinda feels like this could have been a game on the Super Nintendo with the sound and looks. :)

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:36am

I think I played this game longer than any other LDJAM game I've ever played. I legitimately love it. I want more levels/rooms SO BAD! There is something almost hypnotic about it. The music was simple, but fit the mood very well. Every once in a while it would randomly speed up for a couple seconds, which I think was a glitch. I never thought I'd say this, but I think it is too easy to earn points and upgrade. All in all very solid and pretty great. I'll be waiting for the sequel...

Mars Roomba Rampage: A Cosmic Cleaning.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:53am

Nice job. I love the cartoonish and detailed graphics, the music is well chosen / coherent with the game.
Upgradable stats is a cool feature.
It's a good move to let players mute the music, it's always a good thing to not force your users when they want to play while watching / listening to something else.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:28am

Neat game. I found myself really enjoying it. The game has a lot of potential on mobile to kill time.

You do need to fix the anchor on that Replay button though, it was way off to the side.

lusternite says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:10am

Its a good game, upgrade system is cool

quiv says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:40am

283% battery, I think I got this

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:45am

Yeeeeeeehaw this is a great game!!!!!!!!!!!

Pokatashan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:49am

Great idea. That was a fun ride :)

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:12pm

I had great time playing this. Well done! :)

Bellatrion says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Great game ! It's very fun and addictive

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Awesome ! I completed it, and only in the end I realized it was a telly :D

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:55pm

100% accurate roomba simulator

Aster0id2000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Awesome game. I really liked the art style and the soundtrack, can't stop playing!!!

markusfisch says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:16pm

That's fun! Great graphics and good humor! Why is there a boxing kangaroo? ;) Anyway, I like it!

Ganon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:03am

As soon as I saw this I knew I had to play it. Funny title and it looks and sounds awesome. One of the most fun I had playing a LD37 game! Tip of the beanie to ya & enjoy a sodipop!

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:46am

This game is really awesome!

Fantastic work!

I can't say something negative ;D

badabooom63 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Great work!
I've seen your posts about it, and finally it came. Funny idea and great realization =)
A liitle thing - it's quite lags on my computer.

Tooichi says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:27am

Amazing music :P

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:51pm

The concept of this game may look simple at first glance, but the truth is that it's a really interesting game that offers cool visuals, tight controls, humor and a great learning curve. The upgrade system is spot on (my strategy was to start with battery upgrades) and provides depth to the experience. Driving the roomba around at max speed was a pleasure : Would love to see this expanded with new rooms, crazy upgrades and objectives, you have a very enjoyable concept here. The only thing I would and would maybe be a map of the room, so it would indicate the places which have yet to be cleaned. A very solid experience, congratulations for this and long live the roomba! :D

Lightyear says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Great idea! I loved slingshotting around really fast. The upgrades really made a difference. I liked the way it was instanced, the same room but with better power/etc. Pretty addicting!

Sean says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:28pm

A surprisingly fun entry, though I wasn't a fan of all of the silly environment sprites; I think I would have preferred if the game had been played straight and you were simply a roomba cleaning up a normal room.

Having the zoom magnification be an upgrade was an interesting idea!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:12am

Great concept with good execution. The mechanics are really fun to play, artstyle is pretty good. The idea is really interesting. Might be one of my favorites so far.

frittatenbank says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:36am

Best idea so far and the execution is very well done. Gameplay is smooth, the graphics are cute and I actually run the game now in the background for the music.

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Haha, had a lot of fun playing! I love the upgrade system and the game plays very well. Good job!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:45am

Oddly satisfying

Karai17 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:48am

11/10, terrific entry! <3

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:15pm

This was so much fun! Especially because of the upgrade system. Great job!

Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:29am

Wow. So this is I think the third Roomba game that I've played in this jam, but by far my favorite!

It's got a Katamari vibe, where there's just this boxing match happening, and it has nothing to do with your goals in the game. It's just something that happens to be going on.

I love it.

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 4:14pm

yey, I won :D
I have so much respect for this entry,
the innovation here is over the top,
audio is great,
I'm sure you could do some more work on the graphics but they're good too
congrats, have my stars

Ithildin says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:52am

This was super fun!

The roomba controls were solid, the upgrades progression enhanced replayability and I got hooked to the music track. Graphics also felt really polished, and the boxing fight was an absurd, hilarious touch.

Congrats! :)

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 10:54am

This truly the interesting concept,it is very cool have its one economy and you cant stop before you win!
I even don't know what to include on it. Good job and keep going!

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Although it never becames an actual challenge, very fun to keep playing till the end.
You can push to 85% or 90%, I never saw the kitchen very well.

Some inconsistent art but it gave a weird interesting distinct feel. Music was very pleasing.

Overall a very nice entry!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:49am

The game I had the more fun with.
Just impressive, the game design is perfect, really cool grinding/upgrades mechanics, really gives the player a good feeling of progression.
Superb entry, 5 stars!

Jan 14, 2017 @ 3:03pm

Funny game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/ZixdysfW5fU

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]