Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Critters

by Farelle - Compo Entry

Version 1_1 available now, squished the win condition bugs, Windows, mac OS and linux version of the game is on itch.io :)

Watch the small ones, they need food and warmth, so stay close to them, cuddle together in your den and go regularly "hunt" for food if you want them to survive and grow up :) Also, they will try following you wherever you go!

movement with WASD, Escape key to unlock cursor, space to jump. Hopefully rest will be self explanatory :)

Also, no time to do sounds XD but a little song fit in.

I'm not familiar with anything except windows, so if you can't open files or have problems playing the game, please tell me and I will try to find a solution for it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Mood3.53
#147Graphics3.65
#270Audio2.94
#382Innovation2.94
#538Fun2.47
#554Overall2.76
#623Theme1.69
#1199Coolness36%

Comments

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Works find on Mac, and the win/lose conditions worked for me. Pretty simplistic game but the critters faces are adorable.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:58pm

I liked the challenge of trying to feed the pups in the back of the group - with the front ones growing bigger and happier, it's easy to see how litters have a runt! Would have loved more indicators of how close I was to winning or losing.

zoopei says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:16pm

"you know you want to play it ;D cause it’s so cute :3". Yes it does look cute... but the categories innovation, fun, theme, graphics, audio, humor, and mood all get 0 stars. This means that overall gets 5 stars. Just kidding, I haven't even played or reviewed it yet XD

zoopei says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:19pm

"you know you want to play it ;D cause it’s so cute :3". Yes it does look cute... but the categories innovation, fun, theme, graphics, audio, humor, and mood all get 0 stars. This means that overall gets 5 stars. No, but seriously, it's nice. But the theme doesn't fit very well.

Farelle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:38pm

The cave was supposed to have an alot more important role as "the room" but I ended up running way out of time with that, because I stumbled over so many problems :O (But the whole game is within a Snowglobe though :P)

rburema says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:20pm

I'm probably doing it wrong? I just kept running over apple trees and ignoring the shelter/den, and the game told me my pups where all grown-up. Lots of food but no love... I'm a bad cute animal parent!

KadaDev says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:35am

Very cute critters

raybarg says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Such a calm game, ofcourse at first I thought its gonna be difficult to keep all pups fed and warm and worried so much about them showing different faces. Sooner than expected the game said all puppies have grown up! :)

qristofer says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:38am

Aw! I feel so responsible for my little cubs. <3 Great touch with the facial expressions. Very cozy game, even if nothing seem to happen after a while, but that's ld for you. Not sure how it fits the theme either, but a nice little experience none the less. <3

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:00am

Aww! Eat dem tomatoes!

JK5000 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:10pm

The game is both very fun and cute, but is also super short. But overall well done.

pmarincak says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Very different idea, nice job. :)

I found it too short. I just fed the babies and suddenly they were ready to go out into the world, but it's an interesting concept. Would be interesting if you could expand it in the future.

Ouro17 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Nice work, I loved the face of the puppies. With more work this can be a nice game for relax. Good job and keep working on it.

MementoGames says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:05am

Oh this is cute!
I loved the graphics and music.
Well done overall!

amras0000 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:15am

The models are all very nicely done, as a slightly surrealist but very cute and painterly little environment. I got flung around the map a fair bit because of weird geometry, but I recognize that building separate collider/visible maps is a bit more work than a LD may allow for.

The game ended a bit too quickly for me. The den seemed to occupy an important space in the world but no gameplay happened around it. Maybe some form of "winter is upon you, hide in the shelter" mechanic would have helped here.

ijzm says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:38pm

The graphics are so cute! Was kinda hard to feed some of the critters.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:34am

I like the concept, and i'm a sucker for cute so also found the critters adorable even without animations (which would really help for feel), it felt like the controls needed some work and was sometimes difficult to get them to actually eat the food. The house looked like a Christmas pudding to me, bonus points if that was intentional. I think the music really helped the atmosphere. With more work it could be a pretty fun little game.

Jan 14, 2017 @ 3:02pm

Cute animals! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/ZixdysfW5fU

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]