Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Frank Shatner in The Helmet of Destiny

by ThatGuyMiniB - Jam Entry

Stranded on an unknown space station you are faced with an endless wave of alien enemies. Armed with only the suit of armor on your back and a prototype helmet on your head you are face to face with the horde. Stranded, alone, and with communications jammed your only task is to take out as many of these SOB’s before they rip you to shreds. I’m Frank Shatter and I approve this message.

There is an online Leaderboard to compare total kills with other players.

W,A,S,D to move

Left mouse to shoot

Yellow power up is shield

Blue power up is rapid fire

We hope you all enjoy the game as much as we have enjoyed creating it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#160Theme(Jam)4.04
#195Mood(Jam)3.70
#238Fun(Jam)3.50
#246Humor(Jam)3.14
#348Graphics(Jam)3.70
#353Audio(Jam)3.15
#353Overall(Jam)3.48
#693Innovation(Jam)2.60

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:36am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

brettkercher says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:51am

Hey, I'll review your game for free...I wasn't a fan of the voice over, I thought they were a bit too muffled, so some were hard to understand, and they got super repetitive after awhile. There also wasn't much progression or difficulty curve, it felt a little too easy. The controls felt smooth, and the shooting felt really satisfying - The screen shake when you shoot walls felt super good, and was a really nice touch. The dark levels were cool too. Overall I thought it was a pretty fun experience, nice work!

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:53am

@brettkercher Thanks for the free review! :D Glad you enjoyed the game as well! Were you able to unlock the other game modes?

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:03am

Nice vibe! That was slick when the lights went out as the shit hit the fan. I was cracking up with the voice work, and appreciated the variety of stuff you threw at me.

Dem lasers though...!

dobnarr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:14am

Got to 131 kills. Fun game, some really neat visual effects (the particles on bullet impact, and when the lights went off and you fight by flashlight). Very much a Smash-TV feel. Music and sound effects were neat. Not a lot to the game - only one enemy with simple AI, and only two powerups, but still fun and neat looking. Props for the global high score list. What are the "Locked" features? Some of the voice clips were fun, too.

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:21am

Thanks for the feedback @dobnarr and glad you enjoyed it! The locked features are supposed to be blackout and an FPS mode which should be fixed in the updated version on another itch.io page. I could give you the link if you like?

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:30am

Nice game!Good job!http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=3035 This is mine :)

jerwil says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:39am

The good:
-The lighting is great, especially the light cast by the projectiles.
-Controls are fluid, and it's easy to aim well after some practice.
-Camera shake effect is satisfying

The bad:
-OMG, as others have mentioned the voice overs are just terrible. The self-deprecating ones were the only slightly amusing bits, otherwise it's a large detractor.
-Game gets very repetitive. I guess I didn't get enough kills to unlock further modes or levels, but it was too boring to hang on at that point. Ramping difficulty would help!

Overall a fun game with some good looks (and some bad sounds)!

Avon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:29am

The game looks really good in flashlight mode, the lighting is a bit flat in normal mode. Cool particle effects.

The controls are easy and feel good. Your instructions say RMB to shoot, it was LMB for me. Also, the "Quit Game" button didnt seem to work.

The gameplay does feel too easy, you dont have much reason to move around(and when you do, only briefly), so you can pretty much just stand still and shoot. That does get a bit repetitive. I think if you were forced to keep moving more it would have helped increase the difficulty.

You had some funny voice comments, though as others mentioned they did get a bit repetitive.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Very good idea and art of the game is really very cool

kamranwali says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:48pm

The game was fun to play. Funny narrator is funny :D . The visual of the game looks really nice. The audio went well as well. Overall really nice game. Keep it up!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Tight controls and fun gameplay, the voice over was a laugh too. Have a cookie.

Palarus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Controls are responsive, gameplay is fun and varied and the futuristic atmosphere is really really cool. The mix between a 3D environment and 2D characters has a nice appeal.

Good job!

automatonvx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Some nice visuals, solid gameplay but a bit repetive, I kind of liked the voice over but less often would have been better

tartlegames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:10am

It is kind of addicting -- and that must mean it's done right. The particle systems look really good. My favorite thing about it is the lights out effect. It wouldn't be the same without that :D

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 9:49am

Very cool, I liked. It have all what need this genre.

P.S. Quit button didn't work =)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]