Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

20 Seconds to Die

by Squid - Jam Entry

A short point and click adventure with a list of commands carried out by AI. Set the right tasks for your character and maybe he will make it out alive.

Controls:
Right Click to focus objects
Left Click to unfocus objects

Features:
*Minimum of 20 seconds of game-play
*A large file size
*One sound effect
*Undying love and admiration

Made With:
*Unreal Engine v4.14.1
*Blender
*MakeHuman

BUG FIX:
*There was a bug where the camera black screened after you died for some players.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#88Theme(Jam)4.20
#154Innovation(Jam)3.70
#300Fun(Jam)3.40
#301Overall(Jam)3.55
#304Humor(Jam)2.96
#368Graphics(Jam)3.65
#564Mood(Jam)3.10

Comments

Tribbs says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:19am

Can't download the game :(
Get a connection is not private error from dropbox.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:40am

Me too!Can't download

jerwil says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:53am

I really love this one! It's a cool concept that takes a few rounds to understand, but it's very nail-biting and satisfying when you finally figure it out and beat it! Graphics are great, and it fits the theme perfectly. One suggestion: it would be nice if your "program" from the last round persisted so you could just tweak what you did last time. Also, ability to add steps between steps when "programming." But I do think it's great overall.

Xwilarg says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:57am

Well, I didn't really understand, and the fact that I need to restart the game everytimes to avoid that black screen is annoying... but if we forget that, it was fun.

Squid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:05am

*Added a google drive mirror for people having issues downloading

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:06am

Really good. Hard to understand at first, but fun to play.
I'd love to see more!

Slowtyper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:15am

The game was different. I liked the movement and design. It did take me a while to learn how to play tho.

Splendidus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Very entertaining.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:47pm

When you first understand what is happening, then the game is really fun. Some music and a better introduction to game, and you will have a super great game. Well done.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:59pm

look nice,good work master

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Great game and concept :D, I would love to see more of this.

Mayhem Makers says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Very interesting concept. But the Reset button not working is a bit of a hassle.

Squid says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:45am

*Uploaded a version with at least 20% less black screening

Falak says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 1:32pm

It doesn't work meh..
.

Coauctor says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Had fun finding out the right sequence of actions! Also, showing funny comments after failing can add some more flavor. :)

Louspirit says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:15pm

It is possible to win without killing the bad guys. Maybe it is not what you wanted.

Zgragselus says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 9:07am

Shame this doens't have some kind of audio.

I enjoyed this one. :)

Minato4th says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 9:33am

Cool I win, or I think so =)
This is very good Idea and interesting realization of it. I think you can release it if will include more levels and insert more things.

P.S. please dont fogot to rate my game - http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=125051

automatonvx says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Pretty cool, a bit of audio would have gone a long way to add to the cinematic style atmosphere, highlighting which objects were interactable would also have been helpful, but not having that is sort of a feature to make the user look around more and try clicking on things. The camera panning could get annoying after the first couple of attempts. Also some feedback about how long the different actions are going to take and how much time will be left might be nice. Overall liked it, would have played more

jramell says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Fun! The graphics and the way you handled the camera were great. Even though, it was confusing at first as the game does little to teach you how to play it. Also, I'd suggest adding some sound, it can really do a lot for the mood of the game :) Great entry.

Maffew says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 2:43am

Cool game, would do better with a tutorial or something to explain the game.

blackoptics8 says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 9:16am

pretty fun ;D could use some music.
It seemed a bit too easy though.. took around 4 minutes at the most.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Very interesting concept! The game is very fun in it's current state and it looks very good for a LD game, it would be nice if you could pause the action and reconsider your decisions on the fly like in SuperHot! Also the fact that you have to restart the game every time makes it a bit frustrating in the beginning, other than that it's a great game and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Jan 1, 2017 @ 1:57am

Fun game, would be nice if there was a little more though. The graphics and animations are pretty good for being made is such short time

dunin says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:08pm

Really intersting idea, more puzzle and levels and you have a really cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]