Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

High Ball-Oon

by Dagorlad - Jam Entry

Someone has been defaming you at the Saloon! Go inside and finish this nonsense with swift justice in the form of a bullet. And in the process, break some stuff so people know you are serious about it!

Better played with sound!

Controls:
- On the Main Menu, select one of the power Ups available
- Use your mouse to aim the only shot you have
- Left Mouse button to shoot
- You can control the camera during the bullet time with your mouse. Change cameras using numbers 1 and 2 in your keyboard
- You can press "E" to use the power up you had previously selected
- Use SPACE to accelerate time so you can skip the boring rebounds!
- DESTROY as many things as you can, but make sure that you hit the evil bastard defaming you or your score will be 0!

Follow us on @High_Balloon

================================================================================================================

High Ball-Oon was developed by:
- Jordi Serrano as Technical Artist ( @jsberbel / jsberbel95@gmail.com )
- Nilo Laso as Technical Game Designer ( @Metalkarp )
- Héctor Bella as 3D artist ( hechgs@gmail.com )
- Gabriel Besen as Gameplay Programmer
- Rob Coll as Game Designer/Producer/Small things programmer ( @RobOfAstora / robert.coll.gd@gmail.com)


Also thanks to:

- Galdino Otten for the game font ( http://www.dafont.com/es/galdino-otten.d1859 )

- Some sounds were recorded by us and some taken from https://www.freesound.org/

================================================================================================================

Developed using:

- Unreal Engine
- 3DS Max
- Substance Painter
- Photoshop
- Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#55Humor(Jam)3.88
#88Theme(Jam)4.20
#105Fun(Jam)3.78
#108Graphics(Jam)4.32
#111Overall(Jam)3.88
#132Mood(Jam)3.85
#149Innovation(Jam)3.71

Comments

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:58am

This is impressive, the core gameplay reminds me of a scene of Korn's Freak on a Leash videoclip.

Graphics and the game concept are perfect, and I really dig the sound effects (I'm a fan of the Wilhelm sound and the player piano).

To point a couple of issues, it seemed to have some performance issues (understandable given Unreal, the amount of assets and the 72h of development), sometimes the target locations are hard to reach (Once I had it spawn behind the stairs, WTF!), and I couldn't find a "cancel" button on the power ups menu if you didn't want to select anything.

I've loved this entry, you've nailed it!

Cosmic-Hawke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:22am

Can you post a video of your game? I'd really like to see it in action but my computer isn't powerful enough to run it. It looks amazing in the screenshots, really impressive graphics

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:18am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

hildegain says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:13am

Runs fine for me but i'm far from a low end user. The concept is so simple that it pretty much belongs in a game jam. Good use of time in my opinion.

Not a bad job for a small group of people. Decent artwork and i liked that i could change the camera angle to see the destruction from above.

A little bummed that the speed up isn't faster. Oh well, good work.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:51am

Rated 5 in all categories. This is incredible.
I'll follow closely your progress, I really, REALLY liked it

Palarus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:06am

Outstanding graphics, excellent gamefeel and both concept and execution work perfectly. Congratulations!

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:26am

@hildegain Hey! We forgot to add in the instructions that you can press SPACE to speed up!

Thanks for playing!

Dvorgaz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:24am

This is hilarious, like some kind of violent pachinko :D
There really should be an option to invert the vertical camera axis though.

siryakko says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:37am

Wow that was impressive, nice concept and graphics, some bugs and need optimization. Great entry

d3uced says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:55am

Wow this is great, what a great concept and execution. That rewarding feeling when you get the tiny man behind the stairs and it somehow makes it to that "Defaming bastard" :D

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:26pm

This is a seriously impressive entry. Level Design needs expanding on, i found my score was more effected by who the target was and less about anything i had control over. That said its in total keeping with the theme, I love the idea and played it for a while, my max score only being 5240 with no powerups though. I found i actually scored less using the powerups.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:16pm

Good graphics and very funny game. Nice to see upgrades options.

Albert Viader says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:44pm

Great graphics and gameplay!

morrilet says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:45pm

The concept is really novel and fits the theme extremely well. There are some issues with the level geometry that get the bullet to end up stuck bouncing around a doorway forever sometimes but when the game works it's loads of fun.

sfje-team says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Best Game I have seen so far !
Super Awesome !!!
Love It !!!
5/5

Valandre says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:17pm

very impressive entry! concept fits perfect!

Splendidus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Funny physics. Actually, I thought it would be more action. Nice picture, saloon assembled solidly.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:59pm

My computer is dying but.. So are the guys in this saloon ! Nice one !

piller.yann says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Great graphics and fun but the bullet is to slow and we must waiting too long the end of the round.
Great job !

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:01pm

@piller.yann we forgot to put in the game instructions that you can speed up the time pressing SPACE!

Thanks for playing guys!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Very good idea and art of the game is really very cool

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Impressive aesthetic and clever gameplay. Well done. I had fun playing it ++

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Wow dude,cool game on ld37

Michalidis says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:27pm

My highest score was 2,960 when the bullet has gone through my crotch :D :D
Amazing game guys - Beautiful graphics! (so good that my laptop runs it with something under 20 FPS but I still loved the gameplay, and I mostly can't stand low FPS to play games so GOOD JOB ! :))
The game was fun - who doesn't like shooting people in western styled game anyway :D
the people that tried defaming me had nice lines
and the theme was captured well too!
Innovation - it wasn't really something new BUT what is not new nowadays ? there were so many games released that even a game where you are a ghost chasing a red riding hood is probably a game already so I rate your game very highly!
Good job guys and I hope you manage to start some great gaming studio if you haven't yet :)

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Well executed game, nicely done. First it felt a bit slow but it goes faster once you get into it. Good entry!

Dejvo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Laggy McLaggyson : the game
no, but really good idea nicely made, but every UE4 game has motion blur on. it's horrible and lags to shit.

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:41pm

@Devjo Thanks for playing, we sure made some optimization mistakes, we are planning on parching it in the next week. I am glad you liked it tho, thank you very much!

dietzribi says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:03am

This was really original and funny

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Cool entry.
Its impressive what you managed to build in the limited time available.
A bit laggy on my not so high end pc, but that's perfectly fine on a game jam in my opnion.
Keep up the good work.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Very nice! Amazing job on characters and environment in such a short time. Slow motion was cool and interesting.

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:25am

Really impressive graphics for a game jam. I also like the physics of bullet. Really nice job!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:52am

runs fairly sluggish on my system, was impressed by the cutscene at the start, but it drags on to watch it after every attempt. Nice idea :D

Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Lovely game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/Wd_0kXhgUR8

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]