Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Bat Cave

by schizoid2k - Compo Entry

=====================
Note, I updated the Windows download and it is now working... my apologies to the first few that had problems.
=====================

Shoot and avoid the bats. Shoot the drips coming from the stalactites so they do not build up stalagmites on the ground. You can jump over smaller stalagmites, and shoot the bomb power-up to remove them. Shoot the bullet power-up for 10 seconds of extra fire power.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#397Humor2.00
#431Audio2.10
#449Fun2.85
#512Mood2.43
#563Theme2.75
#578Graphics2.06
#579Innovation1.98
#600Overall2.52

Comments

zoopei says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:36am

The unity link doesn't actually work. You have to provide the assets, etc next to the exe. Unless there is just a bug with my browser download and it did not download correctly, I highly recommend you submit your game to the jam, because I saw some of your posts, and the game looked really fun.

TrashLord says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:43am

Exe file is asking for data file which should be placed in zip-archive. Can't execute the source code because of Unity absense.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:44am

Sorry everyone... I just updated the download. Could you please try again?

Serious Table says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:07am

The scrolling parallax in the background honestly made me dizzy and kept me from moving. The drips also appeared fairly suddenly without any indication that they were coming, which made them difficult to respond to. Same with the bomb; an indication that it was coming and from where would have gone a long way, I think.

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:30pm

This is a nice simple game, I like it!

eerongal says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Neat little game. Reminds me of a faster-paced galaga or something. The graphics style of the textured rock doesnt really fit with the simplistic characters, though.

timgarbos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Very basic and simple.

Kazik_210 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:47pm

Your game reminds me old times when i played space invaders :)

Meles says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:56pm

A nice basic game, i liked the concept very much but felt death was too easy, a single touch by anything seems a bit harsh, a health or a life system would have been a nice touch.
nice job.

CandyCreep says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Very nice and simple game. And it was very frustrating in a good way; After swearing when I died, I was quick to start over again trying to beat my score :p

Good job! :)

ambi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:45am

I feel like the bats are a little too fast in order for me to aim and shoot at them. It seems very random if I hit or not. The firing sound is quite loud.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:41am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

quiv says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:22am

Simple game, but very fun! Had a blast playing it :)

A couple quirks I noticed: the powerups didn't seem to run out for me, so I collected multiples which made me a gatling gun of carnage! Also, the CTRL/ALT button scheme occasionally caused my screen to rotate when I hit an arrow key with them.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:24am

Pretty Good. You really need to work on those sounds though, they kind of hurt. I do like the stalagmite concept that makes this game unique.

hermetic says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:40am

Pretty basic game, but conceptually complete. Needs a high score indicator to finish out the arcade feel.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Continued thanks for all the reviews and comments!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Choice of keys was a bit strange, at least on Windows (luckily I read the notes first, so I started ), and I have had some problems with the inputs getting stuck once I switched the OS context.

Other than that, the game concept was simple but well executed. Nice job!

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:46am

It was a nice short game, but that kill sound was horrible on the ears.

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:34pm

The audio is pretty scratchy. I like the addition of the jump, changes up that classic Space Invaders/Galactica gameplay. Sometimes playing the web version I lose control of the game due to the controls.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Pretty cool game, it's simple and fun to play. Maybe some bats should drop some bonuses, like new weapons? Oh yeah and could you tone down the sound of the effects a little as well, this would help.

psilon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Simple, old school gameplay. It works well, but the controls are funny sometimes. (Web version)

Casevse says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Simple, but well implemented. I think the scenario graphics doesn't match with the other entities graphics. Good work!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Simple little game, but it's a good start. First off, I think the shooing sound effect is too loud. Playing this game at work with sound on is NOT RECOMMENDED to everyone else playing, haha.

Anyway, I like that drops from the ceiling makes more stalagmites. That's pretty neat. I would also like the player to be able to withstand more than one hit. Good work!

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:18am

Nice rethinking of Space invaders :)
SFX was okay-ish, and I actually liked your graphics.
Great job!

nassi says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Most of what needs to be said has already been said: a neat reimagining of a great, if simple, concept.

My main gripes with the game were:
- Death SFX for the bats was quite sharp
- Sometimes there would be two bats on top of each other
- The stalactite drops were hard to hit
- Died a few times due to unknown reasons (I didn't see anything hitting me)
- The bombs are too powerful and made me not care for the stalactites
- Jumping was a bit awkward (linear movement)
- Bats were indeed too fast to reliably hit
- On a 1280x1024 monitor in fullscreen I spawned outside the visible area

Also noticed a bug: After picking up the bullet power-up I could just keep the control key pressed and keep rapid firing even after ten seconds (or maybe they were long seconds, I died shortly after discovering this glitch, but I think I survived for more than ten seconds with it).

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Thanks for the reviews and comments. I appreciate it and will revisit the game in the near future to fix bugs.

ijzm says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:14pm

The controls for jumping and shooting aren't ideal. Pressing the Alt key to jump causes my game to lose focus. That being said, it was an alright game. I like the contrast of the bats against the more detailed cave background. The bombs and drops look a little out of place though.

~Random-storykeeper

Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:07pm

There were kind of displaying glitches (played on the win version), was it normal ? O_O

But it didn't prevent me to play, the game was working pretty well and controls were good :)

Eggplant says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:40pm

I enjoyed it. It reminds me of Phoenix and Galaga, and other classic arcade shooter games. The only complaint I can think of is that you start off of the screen, and it's possible to run off the side. Otherwise good job.

antishow says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Nice retro arcade-style shooter! Maybe choose different key bindings next time though, Ctrl+Arrow kept changing my current Desktop on Mac.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:50pm

I did just upload a bux fix version that changes the key bindings. Thanks for playing!

Ace17 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Reminds me of space invaders ; especially the graphics :-)
The webgl works well in Firefox (no issue with the 'alt' key).
Being able to only shoot bullets one by one (and the lack of autofire mode) is frustating.

TheMightyTeam says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Simple and addictive game. I would add different enemies to increase the replayability of the game.

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:01am

Nice little game :)
Just a note, on a 2560x1080 (ultrawide) monitor, the boundaries of the level are visible, so I advise you to either restrict aspect ratios in the future to only 16:9 for example, or fill the level in. :)

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:33pm

The enemy behavior should have been tricky to implement in unity. The idea is simple, I missed seeing different types of enemies. Audio for enemy death was kinda too lound on my end.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Cool idea.
The sound effects were a bit too loud compared to the background music in my opinion.
And yeah, you should give the player an earlier heads up concerning the stalactites.
But with some polish, this could be really neat game.

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Funny little game. The sound effects of the bats dying are ear killing, but I still had fun after putting down the volume. Nice game, good job

KevinWorkman says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 3:34am

Nice, complete little game. Like you discovered though, probably not a great idea to use the alt key in web.

DOXM says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 2:20pm

It's funny and enjoyable! Great game!

Jelinib says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 4:33am

Hahaha, my bird went NUTS over the bat death sounds... They must've sounded too much like another bird screeching in pain! He must have been very concerned and wanted to do his best to answer all those calls for help... with more screeches of his own. Thanks, bird! :P

Anyway, I played the web build. Though the description says the bullet powerup should last 10 seconds, it seemed to last forever! I felt this was kind of necessary anyway though, as at some point, it becomes humanly impossible to shoot enough bullets to get rid of all the new bats coming in, haha. I found that 2-3 stacks of heroin made a nearly impenetrable wall of bullets. More than that though, and I'd be shooting a lot of blanks.

The flat vector graphics look cool, and the textured walls look cool! But together, they feel kind of mismatched. I think going for a full vector style would be my personal preference--and easier to do too! The stalactite drips were also kind of hard to see against the dark background, and I tended to miss them a lot. Maybe the drips could be brightened up so they stand out better.

At some point, jumping felt too risky due to the sheer number of bats swooping down, so I mainly ended up camping in a corner, holding the Ctrl button until I died, haha. I think I tended to hold out until about 24K points at best.

I liked something about the bat animations, and the constant background sound brought me back to those old arcade days. And mowing down all those bats sure was satisfying! Nice compo entry! :)

pkenney says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:53am

Nice job, man! Game is tight with a responsive feel, and there are a variety of challenges to deal with... good job!

Your last game I played was retro rebound and this one is definitely a tighter package, where I jump right into the action and I figure it out as I go. Nice work. Slight parallax on the bg was a nice touch btw.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]