Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Horde Room

by Tutti Ankka - Compo Entry

Horde room is a one room wave game where you kill enemies and buy new weapons from the shop. It has 9 waves + bosswave.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#59Fun3.87
#65Audio3.69
#222Overall3.47
#387Theme3.40
#461Graphics2.67
#485Innovation2.63

Comments

yoel1234 says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 8:30pm

like my game only better. i realy loved the concept and art.
didnt finish it ,the difficulty and overall can be refined.

Noxim says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Quite basic, but that might not be a bad thing.
I loved the hitting effect, it had "power" in it.
The sword graphics and the slight screen shake
felt awesome. Movement was bit strange at start,
but I got used to it quickly.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:45pm

I like it, but in my opinian shop is not needed, beter to drop items.

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Thank you for fast-paced action and upgrades. Also, I need MOAR upgrades!

Aun says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Simple but good game. I liked the music. Here are some stuff you could improve:
- Put an end screen because at the end you cannot generate new waves but the counter still increases (or create and infinite number of waves by augmenting the speed of enemies)
- Write the message of the new wave once all enemies are dead
- Give some feedback when you are hit (sound/graphical) because it is hard too say when it is now.
- Make the hero invincible after being hit because if a single enemy touch you too long or if you are touched by multiple enemies, you loose too much health.
- Add noise/improve pathfinding. This is hard to do a good one but now, if you just turn around enemies, they stack in a single point and you can kill all of them at once. They also seem a bit fast when they are getting too close.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:11pm

@Aun Thank you for these tips! I will continue working on the game and will do things better as I don't have the time limit anymore.

Tommy says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Great game, simple and smooth. It's just a bit too fast to die when they get you.

Xinelu says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:58pm

I like the gameplay and the audio! make a full version of it is a very solid ideia (:

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:31pm

I really like the sword animation. :)

HadikCZ says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Fun and cool :) Music fit into the game.

I like it :) Blood effect is so cool :)

Greemax says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:18pm

I liked the feedback a lot. :D It's a pretty basic game but quite fun.

ISG says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:20pm

I love this style of game! Nice done!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:21pm

You had me sold with the sweet soundtrack. This game is fun, fast-paced, and dynamic. I got a lot more mileage out of my $500 bow than any of the expensive melee weapons. Having a final boss is always cool, but I think the one here should have at least tried to aim at the player. Still, good work!

Doomdad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:14pm

First of all, AWESOME MUSIC! :D Had fun slaughtering zombies while listening to this heavy metal sound! Attacks to the zombies were really responsive, but when zombies attacked you sometimes I wondered "Did I really get hit?", but that was really just a minor issue. Overall great and fun game to play, if you want to feel bad ass killing machine :D

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Simple and fun game, i like the sword animation a lot. The robot explosions make the game a little laggy but they are cool. The game lacks an End Game screen or something at the end and when you die and it's difficult to know when you are hit.

HawkSandwich says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:15pm

It's a nice entry :D
It's fun to play, the graphics are nice. The main thing I don't like is that when you open the shop the zombies keep coming after you, which makes it a little difficult. Other than that, the controls were responsive and it was a pretty polished game. Nice!

Edeter says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:23pm

I really enjoyed it. sword swinging animation looks pretty nice.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Swinging the blade and the blood effect were really satisfying :D Berserk mode on !!!

I didn't find how to get to the shop though...

n00basaurus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Spawn positions need a little work. Kept dying due to enemies spawning directly on top of me.

Shop button is unresponsive.

movement felt good and the speed was alright. Enemy AI could use some variation. Enemies that take more than one hit would be good to have a visual marker and maybe an indication that you hit but not killed them.

Really liked the particle effects used.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Nice that you included a shop with such varying weapons! I kinda wish I had had more to spend money on such as upgrades, and there could've been more enemy variety, but overall very neat!

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:42am

@n00basaurus @Yami no tenshi Yeah I found out today that I forgot to resize the hud with resolutions. That's why the shop button is in wrong place for bigger resolutions.

Bensonance says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:31am

Really fun, and feels great!

Killing stuff feels really good, but one hit kills for those basic enemies would probably be better.

The balance is really off though! Way too hard and takes too much to get a new weapon.

The sound effect for hitting people doesn't feel meaty or impactful enough - it feels too tingy.

Need some feedback passes on when you get damaged. It's hard to keep looking at the top corner :).

Tifu says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:01am

Like the music! <3
Most of what I was going to say Aun said already, particularly the "new wave" message appearing when you are still trying to deal with the current wave is a little odd/distracting, and the fast enemies can just latch onto you forever if they get too close. Invincibility frames, or making the enemy pause after attacking, would make this aspect a lot better.

SmokeNMirrors says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:15am

Great mechanic, reminds me of Amorphous+!
It was an interesting gauntlet. Felt somewhat bland, as most compo entries, due to time, often are, but the execution was amazingly perfect.
And wow! This is a compo, so you made the music, right? Great skills.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Hello! I done some update for my game you can try it by downloading Windows PostCompo on game page
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=125051

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Hey this was a lot better than I was expecting; more than one enemy type, multiple weapons. Pretty good for an LD.
I think some adjustments needed would be to make the shop auto open at the end of a round instead of having a button for it. Also a warning when you're low on health

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]