Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The Mini-Man 3D

by adrian09_01 - Compo Entry

The Mini-Man 3D is a small loveletter to collect-a-thon games like Mario 64 and speedrun games like SEUM: Speedrunners from Hell. Oh, and it's also extra hard. That's a fact. And another fact. It was made for Ludum Dare 37 - theme "One Room".

Mini-Girl has been kidnapped. She's probably behind the door. No one knows. Collect coins like crazy, jump on some furniture and get all five blue coins, and you will get to know what's behind the door.

Controls: WASD and Space.

(C) 2016 Adrian Makes Games. Made for Ludum Dare 37 with love.

Ludum Dare Post Scriptum:
Used boilerplate AI code: http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/429623/enemy-movement-from-waypoint-to-waypoint.html that I use in every Unity game.
Rest of stuff is totally mine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#198Graphics3.48
#269Theme3.67
#316Fun3.16
#375Audio2.53
#421Overall3.09
#494Innovation2.61

Comments

ralfz says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Cool game. Nice texures. Annoying music. I really enjoyed it

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Super fun and great visuals and I liked the music.

Hovester says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Good Job,The movement feel good a important feature to a plataformer, The enermys are anoying they could be smaller so the player could jump over them and one time i got stuck between the book under the TV so i had to restart the game.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:13pm

I got a positive charge!
Music it is only one weak site of the game

Zee says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Music made me want to rip my ears out :P Also, the coin's collision detection could use some work, I feel like I run through them, and don't pick them up half the time. I'd also advise against using the default unity controller code, as it doesn't fit this type of game (doesn't allow fine movement). I'd also make the door light up or open, to signify that's where to go once you collect all the blue coins.

Overall, a cool little platformer. Nice work on the environment! I had a lot fun while it lasted. Getting that last blue coin took me a bit!

mediocrity says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:14pm

I loved it. It was fun to jump around and collect all the coins. :D

Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Good game, my only compliant is that the grid based movement felt a little clunky to me for a platformer.

kebb says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Nice game, the enemies were a little annoying sometimes, but good job!

Wevel says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Very annoying to not be able to see you feet, would make jumping easier. But still a good game

Meles says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:51pm

an interesting concept, controls felt a bit janky but other than that I enjoyed the game.
couldn't find the final coin but also couldn't collect the last coin on the shelf.

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Nice models, somewhat clunky movement. The ending is a bit disappointing, I don't know what I was expecting though :D

KappaIX says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:49pm

A different take on the theme! Clean graphics, clear goals.

Found the characters 'single step' (if you just tap a movement key) to be quite big? Could just be me - made me fall off quite a bit, but i'm willing to admit I could just suck.

Found the music loop a little bit grating, but on the whole, great effort!

Well done, thanks for sharing!

Fidrik says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Overall it was enjoyable, I liked the level design. There was an issue when jumping that would cause you to do a small jump when you land. Music got very annoying after a couple of minutes. But good overall! Nice work

patrickgh3 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:06pm

You succeeded in making a level that's fun to jump around and explore with fun scenery. Nice job! My main complaint is running off the table after getting hit. I also knocked books in the way of collecting the last 2 coins >_<

MementoGames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:24am

Nice job!
Collecting coins is always fun, but the collision box for grabbing coins was kinda small. Controls are a bit "windy", but solid. Awesome models, but the music, sorry, it was very annoying.

Shivur says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Good concept!

Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Neat game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/8ZKn12Y_qVg

ato says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:30pm

I liked the level design, colors choice made it nice to look at. Enemies could be a little smaller, but I don't mind difficult games. About the music: at the beginning I really liked it. I respect that you made it yourself. But after playing for a while it was a bit annoying (it didn't make me stop playing :), so it's a just a tiny little opinion). Overall: good game, I had fun platforming, and that's what you probably aimed for.

thedashdude says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Some books fell and made it impossible to collect the last 3 gold coins, but beyond that it was a pretty fun game.

Megalink says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:46am

Sweet game! I love the idea of being really small, something not done before in the jam.

Just want to tell you that with our game that you rated, there is a lot of content but you may not have known where to go (which is our fault). On the room with the 2 soldiers, you can walk up either sides of the room and that will take you to the next area. I'm sorry that I had to adress this here but I feel like it is the only place you would see it.

But again, great game!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:43am

This is my first time seeing a grid based movement in a 3D game... nice game for having a sequel of a 2D game :))
enjoyed playing... I adore compo entries with 3D game entries as it's not easy to do! Good job

Somnium says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:56pm

Very nice graphics (the owner needs a greater variety of DVDs :) )

The "coin platformer" gameplay worked well, it was pretty hard to avoid some of the enemies though. It was fun "exploring" the room.

A fun entry.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]